We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem in Amsterdam”
Review of Monte Pelmo

Monte Pelmo
Ranked #28 of 101 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Jordaan
england
Level Contributor
210 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Gem in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

On a warm March day feeling hot we stumbled across this wonderful ice cream shop. Very good. Next door there is a lovely little children's and woman's dress shop to visit after you have eaten your ice cream!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loulou089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    20
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best gelato in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This small family-owned gelato shop should not be missed if you are in Amsterdam. Gelato is made fresh daily and served with a smile. Flavors are rotated to take advantage of seasonal ingredients at their peak of flavor. It is well-known to the locals who gather on the sidewalk to eat and chat. Although it is closed to the public in winter, they provide this gourmet treat to many restaurants in Amsterdam throughout the year. We stopped by every day to try out new flavors and old favorites and were never disappointed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PT_in_PD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Italian ice cream in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Find a good ice cream in Amsterdam is not so easy... That is the reason this ice cream is so special.
They have the Italian "spirit".
Normally is a place that open 6 months per year... so if you are walking around the Jordaan area it is good to try some of the nice flavors they have.
They are in a street which have many restaurants and some people like to have a dessert there as we had once.
You can choose different sizes and flavors and the price is quite good for the quality you get.
They are open since 10.00 to 22.00 in Summer...
The service is normal. They are really trying to make the queue smaller.
Recommendation: if you want an ice go for this. Wait 10 or 15 minutes to queue up, but get something good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andykdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fabulous little after dinner treasure!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

On both occasions we visited Monte Pelmo, there was a huge queue so we decided to queue up too and find out why. This seems to be a popular post dinner stop in the Jordaan and we were not surprised that the ice cream is fabulous! We sampled the cheesecake, stroopwaffel and the heavenly yoghurt ice cream, all of which were completely moreish. We couldn't help returning the next day and noted that lots of new flavours were available. Thankfully the aforementioned yoghurt ice cream was still available. The ice cream is very reasonably priced and the scores of people we saw walking around with little tubs and smiles on their faces spoke volumes about the quality of the product. Don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reachforthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Loved the ice-cream and the round biscuit on top - it really is needed. Always tried the creamy/coffee/caramel flavors. Havent tried any of the fruity ones because everyday there was a new flavor that I drooled over the name of and went straight ahead to. Their ice-cream is homemade so they juggle around the flavors on the menu everyday but Im sure you will always find something good. Highly recommended flavor: Stroopwaffel cheescake!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monte Pelmo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Monte Pelmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing