We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Hotel Agora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Agora
Ranked #333 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Near Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The Agora is conveniently located near Tram stops and on a canal near the Dam and within walking distance of many tourist attractions. We only had about 16 hours to spend in Amsterdam and we were able to walk around and get the flavor of the central city, while feeling safe. The room was a bit funky (not a glitzy Hilton) on the order of older European hotels. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was courteous, polite and fluent in English. The breakfast was adequate: it was the usual "petit dejeuner" of older European establishments; not recommended for hearty eaters. Our room on the Canal was not terribly noisy; we could hear the Tram going by, but foot traffic was not raucous, nor did it keep us awake. (Perhaps in high summer, it might be noisier?) As two 60+ American women, we felt safe in the establishment and also in the neighborhood. Considering the cost of other hotels in the central city, the Agora was a good value. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone not wishing to stay in a chrome and glass modern hostelry.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    68
    95
    52
    63
See reviews for
30
130
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

exellent location and breakfast was enough to get you going in the morn.staff were ok,rooms need to be updated,bed was fine as was the shower but the walls are thin.window in the room was held open with a piece of timber.stairs and hallway have a bad smell and very dark.check out was 11am and they rang at 5 past to tell us time was up.toilet in reception was in need of some attention,no paper towel and the bin was over flowing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The hotel was very central and the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included; simple but it allowed us to get a quick start on the day and manage our expenses.
The linins were clean and the bathroom was generally clean. The rooms and the common areas were very tired. Internet is free and there is a computer in the breakfast area that is available for your use, which is great for ON LINE Check In.

Room Tip: room 28 was quiet. the bar on the right side as you face the hotel creates noise on the weekend but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Staff, furnishings and decor badly need to be brightened, freshened and updated. Very dated appearance and dull. Loose electrical wires in bedroom. Old and rickety furnishings. Good location. Average breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I've now stayed at this hotel 3 times. It is in a great location and easy to get to via tram from Central Station. The rooms / hotel just needs a new paint job and freshen up. In the room I was in had some wires which were sticking out the bathroom wall. They had been tapped up but this is not good for paying guests. Breakfast acceptable and will def stay again. Many thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed here for one night during a 20-hour layover in Amsterdam. For the limited time we had in the city, Hotel Agora offered a good location, but the price was high for midwinter lodging. We also think the receptionist intentionally placed us in a room on the top floor when she saw us arrive with two huge suitcases (the hotel has no elevator, but carrying your belongings up the steep, narrow staircase is part of the Dutch experience).

Pros: Location (ten minute walk from the Rijksmuseum and Museumplein), decent breakfast buffet and coffee included in room rate, free wireless internet, rooftop view and bathroom with window kind of nice.

Cons: Rooms felt a bit drab and dirty, staff not particularly friendly (and I speak Dutch), street noise and music from nearby nightlife woke me up in the middle of the night. If I hadn't been exhausted from my previous travels, this might have kept me from sleeping as soundly as I did.

Bottom line: If you get a decent room rate and are pressed for time, don't shy away from Hotel Agora. It definitely offers a good location, but if you have high expectations consider staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterJustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#237 of 368 in Amsterdam
352 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#156 of 368 in Amsterdam
275 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#290 of 368 in Amsterdam
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
#258 of 368 in Amsterdam
169 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#276 of 368 in Amsterdam
281 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#171 of 368 in Amsterdam
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agora

Property: Hotel Agora
Address: Singel 462, 1017 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Agora 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a renovated 18th-century canal house, Hotel Agora is next to Amsterdam’s Flower Market and a 10-minute walk from Leidseplein square. A 24-hour front desk and daily buffet breakfast are available. Agora Hotel’s rooms include cable TV and a private bathroom. Some rooms overlook the Singel Canal, others overlook the Agora’s courtyard or garden. Wi-Fi access is free throughout Hotel Agora. Guests can relax on the hotel's outdoor terrace or have a drink in the bar across the garden. The Agora is near many boutiques and restaurants, and is just a 10-minute walk from Amsterdam’s famous Dam Square. Guests can reach the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum with a 10-minute tram ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Agora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing