We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't go again.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Agora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Agora
Ranked #328 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    67
    92
    50
    59
See reviews for
29
125
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

There is nothing wrong with the hotel - an adequate city centre position at a reasonable cost. Clean and comfortable. BUT there is a club next door that they having been trying to shut down and on Saturday night the noise was ridiculous and went on until 5 a.m. Our friends had a room that was on the adjoining wall and they had to move to another hotel because it was unbearable. Shame because it is well placed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I- in our 70's, stayed on the top floor for 2 nights in October, and the staff were obliging enough to help with our suitcases, on the windy staircase, which is a fixture in all the old houses. Breakfast was decent, and the room was clean, although a trifle shabby. Because Amsterdam is so expensive, we felt lucky to have found suitable accommodation, which was so close to everything and enabled us to either walk anywhere, or use the trams nearby. They also allowed us to leave our luggage on the last day, as we were touring outside of the city, and did not charge a fee. The second night was very noisy, as apparently there is some kind of musical venue next door, so if this is a problem, be aware. All in all, I would stay there again, especially if I can close the windows.

Room Tip: If stairs is a problem, make sure to let them know, and if you want quiet, you can get a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyceGlenview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent three nights at the hotel having room 28 which is a double and the loft room 36. Room 28 was a decent size with an en-suit that was a good size also. The loft room was ok. It had twin beds at one end and a double at the other with a small bathroom in the middle. Rooms were clean with linen changed every day. The furniture in the rooms was very shabby but serviceable, although in the loft room the sockets were broken, there were several bulbs not working and there was no shower curtain so water went everywhere in the bathroom. We did complain about this and it was put onto the computer but nothing was done!!
The stairs to the rooms are very steep and there are a lot of them, so no good if you have trouble with stairs!!
Breakfast was from 7.30am until 10am, although one morning the lady on duty stopped the teenagers I was with from coming into the dining room at 9.40 because she said breakfast was finished. She did however change her mind when I challenged this and then went on to let other residence in later, but these were families! Breakfast was VERY basic and food was always running out.
The location of the hotel is good, a 5 minute walk from Dam Square, just over the road from the flower market, and 5 minutes from Anne Frank’s house.
Most of the staff were friendly and helpful, when the TV broke in room 28 on the day before we left, the man on duty did all he could to get it going, changing the TV and cables but when he failed to make it worked, he left an apology note which was nice!
All in all not too bad for a few days stay but I would want to stay here any longer!

Room Tip: Room 28 was a great room, no noise from the street!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojoflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were there for our honeymoon. The staff were friendly, accommodating and helpful with directions.
The room size in general was not overly big, but you don't spend all day in your room when on holiday anyway. The bathroom was very neat and tidy, the bed was comfortable and the window let in a very decent amount of light during the day. We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_tuckerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadsund, Denmark
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Hotel has a wonderful location and the prices were good. We had a triple toom which was spacious enough but lacked storage space and the TV was old. The bathroom was refurbished but there were bare wires exposed and there was no plug for the hairdryer provided.
It is hard to improve on the space in such an historic location but the carpets need to be changed. They smell old. The bedsheets fluffed on everything so my black pants became gray
Other than that the staff were nice enough and I really enjoyed Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happiness1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The pros of this hotel is its location. It is in the center of the center of town. The cons are that it's old, the carpets are dirty, the sheets are torn, the walls have holes and the bathroom reeks. No elevator. Although we were assured that there is always a staff person at the "desk", 50% of the time we entered or left the hotel there was no one there. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jekPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#163 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#219 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#290 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#288 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#295 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#181 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agora

Property: Hotel Agora
Address: Singel 462, 1017 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Agora 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a renovated 18th-century canal house, Hotel Agora is next to Amsterdam’s Flower Market and a 10-minute walk from Leidseplein square. A 24-hour front desk and daily buffet breakfast are available. Agora Hotel’s rooms include cable TV and a private bathroom. Some rooms overlook the Singel Canal, others overlook the Agora’s courtyard or garden. Wi-Fi access is free throughout Hotel Agora. Guests can relax on the hotel's outdoor terrace or have a drink in the bar across the garden. The Agora is near many boutiques and restaurants, and is just a 10-minute walk from Amsterdam’s famous Dam Square. Guests can reach the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum with a 10-minute tram ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Agora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing