We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable beds!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Agora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Agora
Ranked #322 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very comfortable beds!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2004

We stayed at the end of November 2004.Centrally situated, quiet at night, trams stop right near it. This hotel was excellent. The only slight complaint was that we are ex-smokers, and the room had obviously had a cigar smoker in it before us. Having said that, the room overlooking the canal on the first floor was warm, comfortable, quiet and had a great view.
The stairs take a bit of negotiating, but are soon got used to. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Would highly recommend, and hope to return next year. Amsterdan and the canals are wonderful!
It was so easy to get a train from Schipol, the station is below the airport. We had planned to get a taxi, but everything is so simple, we caught the train to Central Amsterdam, then got a tram outside the railway station (No. 1.2 or 5) to Konigsplien, to the hotel.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    67
    90
    50
    56
See reviews for
28
123
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2004

I stayed at this hotel November 25-28, 2004. My room was #35. The room was a bit small and the covers a bit threadbare. The room was slightly drafty, but o.k. (how much time are you going to spend in your hotel room?). The bathroom across the hall was EXCELLENT. Looks like it was just refinished. The room and bathroom were always clean. Breakfast was o.k. The staff were very nice and helped with any questions I had. There are many bars and restaurants in the area. Tram stop for trams 1, 2, and 5 are just around the corner. The hotel is very easy to get to from Central Station, and you can get to the the museum area, or any other destination very easily as well. The location of the hotel was very good. I felt safe at this hotel. FYI there is no elevator, so if you do not like stairs, you want want to find another hotel. This was my 3rd time to the city and I had a pleasant time. I would stay here again.

kilmistr@hotmail.com

Helpful?
1 Thank kilmistr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2004

We chose the Agora having read other reviews on this site and were happily not disappointed. We stayed for a 3-night stay, and, having arrived early were able to check into our room at 1030 am. Check in was friendly, speedy and efficient and secure, the room we had booked was a double with ensuite facilities we did not pay extra for canal view and as it was had a view of nearby offices, allowing plenty of people watching , the huge windows were screened by full length voile and long lined curtains. the room was of average size with a huge comfortable double bed, wardrobe with safe deposit box - at no additional cost - and bureau and chairs. The bathroom was modern and clean with a massive walk in shower dispensing hot water every time we used it. There was a hairdryer & shaver point and large soft white towels which were changed daily. We were situated on the 2nd floor and the stairs were quite steep but we soon became acclimitised to them. We found the hotel to be quiet at night times even allowing for its central location . The room was warmly heated and we were able to open the windows to allow additional ventilation. Buffet breakfast was available from 730-10 and there was a wide varied selection to choose from. The Singel is a very pretty canal and the location of the Agora is very handy for Spui , and the Flowermarket about 5mins. away ; the Leidesplein, Vondel Park and Dam square are about 10 mns. away and Red Light area and Station about 15-20 mins walk. There are lots of bars , cafes and a wide choice of varying eteries all close by. Just watch out on the walkways for the bikes !

Helpful?
6 Thank kalimera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2004

The rooms at the Hotel Agora are uncomfortable, there are no screens on the windows, no air conditioning and mosquitos are rampant at night. We were bitten from head to toe. If that wasn't enough, the doors on the rooms are made out of particle board, the locks are flimsy, front desk security is non-existent, and we were robbed! The Hotel did nothing to help us. Don't stay here; its' unsafe!

Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieMillvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2004

First time I've stayed at the Agora but would definately stay there again. Staff helpful and welcoming, great location, very clean. Has the charm often lacking in chain hotels but retains the high standards.

We stayed in the attic room - a long haul up the stairs but definately worth it!

Helpful?
1 Thank tazandhooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2004

July 2004: We arrived very early on our first day in Amsterdam from an all night transit from London. We were tired and the owner offered us some breakfast-even though we were not entitled to it on that morning. We thought that was nice, however, the owner and her assistant proceeded to talk about us in Dutch as we were only a few feet away eating (about how we were poor backpackers and had booked the cheapest room, what was she to do but give us breakfast etc-She offered the breakfast!) Not realising my husband is Dutch and he could understand everything, it was an embarrasing situation.
We went to see the city and came back when our room was ready, the owner asked us where we were from etc and my husband spoke to her in Dutch, her face went red and that said it all.
As for the room and location, that was all great, but our first experience tainted our stay and made us wonder if this happens with other guests who can't understand what's being said. We thought it was very unprofessional, rude and altogether uncalled for. Next time, we will stay somewhere else that will hopefully appreciate our choosing to stay at their establishment, not put us down.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2004

I recently stayed at the Agora with my partner and found it very pleasant. The location, as other reviewers have said, is excellent with most attractions in walking distance, if not a tram stop is a stones throw away. The staff were friendly and helpful and we were made to feel welcome.

Our room was of adequate size, nothing fancy, clean with a nice bathroom. A variety of food is provided for the self-service breakfast, including cereal, breads, cheese and ham. I personally found the same selection for breakfast a bit tedious after a few days but I'm sure it is adequate for most.

All in all this is a very nice Hotel, I cannot think of anything bad about it!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#161 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#281 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#221 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#285 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#291 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Centrum
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
#257 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agora

Property: Hotel Agora
Address: Singel 462, 1017 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Agora 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a renovated 18th-century canal house, Hotel Agora is next to Amsterdam’s Flower Market and a 10-minute walk from Leidseplein square. A 24-hour front desk and daily buffet breakfast are available. Agora Hotel’s rooms include cable TV and a private bathroom. Some rooms overlook the Singel Canal, others overlook the Agora’s courtyard or garden. Wi-Fi access is free throughout Hotel Agora. Guests can relax on the hotel's outdoor terrace or have a drink in the bar across the garden. The Agora is near many boutiques and restaurants, and is just a 10-minute walk from Amsterdam’s famous Dam Square. Guests can reach the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum with a 10-minute tram ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Agora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing