We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good short break location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #164 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good short break location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Flew from Manston Airport for a short break in Amsterdam. The Botel was basic but clean and good buffet breakfast included at a reasonable price. Free ferry crossing from the station which was a pleasant experience in itself with some stunning views.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinktoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    711
    500
    154
    102
See reviews for
183
839
60
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Botel offers basic yet affordable accommodation. Room is clean but bathroom is tiny. Breakfast was nice too with basic cooked food and rolls. Location is great with free parking and 10 min boat shuttle to Central station just next door. Great way to save on parking if you travel by car.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gagpub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulaymaniyah, Iraq
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

the Botel locate in great area its near from city center and Amsterdam central station and its quite area.
the ferry is very useful and Enjoyable, the room was clean and staff was ok
ask for room with sea view its great

Room Tip: room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Araz-ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Amstel Botel is rather basic, however exciting if you wish to stay on a cruise ship. Cleanliness is average and the interior needs modernising. I would recommend anybody considering staying here should only stay for one night. Kettles and hairdryers must be purchased for a 10€ deposit, as this is not stated on the website. Sun deck is only open during the Summer, breakfast was OK, despite black yolks in the boiled eggs. We came as a group - meaning we were split between 3 rooms. The other room apparently had a hard mattress however in our room we had a perfectly good night's sleep. Free WiFi is available, however it may not work on most devices. No soap in the bathrooms, only a pump in the shower cubical which appeared to contain a combination of body wash, shampoo and soap, but too thin to be able to be used on hair and hands. Signal is limited on some channels on the television - however most are British channels or explicit. Room should be ready by 2PM and check out must be by 11AM on your departure day, however it can be extended if needed but you may be charged. Easy, unlimited frequent boat transfers to Amsterdam's Central Station and beyond; only a few minutes walk from the entrance.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floor may be quieter, facing the water (Rear to the entrance).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Spent 3 days on the boat and had a wonderful time. Our second time there.Staff so friendly and polite.Nice food,clean cabins,great break.Handy ferry ten mins. walk away that gets you to Central station and other places too.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine.1st floor obviously handy for restaurant and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missdaisybanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I'm a seasoned traveller to Amsterdam. I always knew of the Botel, though it was the first time I stayed there. There were 3 of us lads in one room, or should I say, cabin. A bit tight and the bathroom is very small, though it was clean and more than adequate. The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful. The buffet breakfast is a must, well worth it. Mind you, if you get in late like we did (5.15 am), be mindful that they only serve up until 10.30 am. Easy connection to Centraal Station by free ferry. If you get back late in the evening, (past midnight) take A ferry straight across from the station. There is a restaurant there and a Mercedes mini bus parks alongside. It's free and takes you straight to the Botel in 5 minutes or so. It's about an hour or so by foot, I know, I've done it! Parking is free and conveniently alongside. Be mindful that they hold a boot fair in one of the wharf buildings nearby (congestion if you are leaving). Yellow bikes are chained up alongside the Botel and can be hired for only 15 euro for 24 hours. Well worth it. It's surprising how much of Amsterdam you can see by bike. Overall, I'd certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad9426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend in Amsterdam, staying on the Botel, which was great, staff friendly and helpful, special mention for Michael, and Hank-The Boss, who were superb! Rooms great, breakfast all you can eat, the Bar well stocked, and efficient friendly staff.
Well done Botel Motel, we had an excellent time on board..............................will be back for sure

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#168 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#228 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#162 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Property: Amstel Botel
Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing