We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #164 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

just returned here from a 2 night stay, was a bit worried when reading some reviews, but have to stay I don't know what they were complaining about, the rooms were basic but had everything you need and was very clean, the staff were very friendly, the breakfast was really good, the free 10 minutes ferry ride was good and had no problems, the Botel was clean all round, the boat did sway a bit, we were on the top floor over looking the submarine, We would recommend the Botel to anyone, it was very quiet and we heard no noise, we had a late flight back so for 5 euros left our cases in the Central Stations luggage holders, so we could enjoy our last night without having to carry our cases, but one warning you have to pay by either credit or debit card for the lockers No cash excepted

Room Tip: we stayed on the top floor over looking the submarine, good views also
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    716
    501
    154
    102
See reviews for
185
840
60
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

The Botel is in a lovely quiet location with a free ferry service connecting it directly to central station. The rooms are small but clean and the breakfast was good. The staff all seemed friendly enough. We did not go to Amsterdam for the nightlife so had some long days sightseeing followed by an evening meal then headed back to our room to chill out - this is where the hotel let us down somewhat. Our room (323) was situated directly above the jukebox so getting to sleep before midnight was never going to happen! We also had some incredibly noisy and inconsiderate neighbours - the walls must be pretty thin! There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and the shelf above the bed meant that there was nowhere you could sit comfortably to read or watch tv. Minor niggles but would have made all the difference to our stay. Despite this being a non-smoking hotel we noticed a lot of guests smoking out of open bedroom windows and the smell is noticeable in hallways or if you want to leave your own window open - a real pet hate of ours!

Room Tip: Make sure you are not above the bar area if you want any sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkHamiltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We've have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Botel, first trip to Amsterdam, and because it was reasonably priced, we didn't expect much. We were pleasantly surprised!! It's in a beautiful, quiet location, with just a couple of restaurants on the doorstep! There's a free ferry service every half an hour, to take you into the town centre, and a free bus throughout the night! Fab!!!
The place itself is immaculate. Yes, rooms are fairly basic, small, but the amazing views from your window, more than makes up for that!!! The staff are so, so friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast isn't amazing, but hey, it's foreign, so naturally, the sausages/bacon etc have a slightly different taste! There are lots of things to choose from, so you will find something you like!
We recommend hiring a bike from the hotel (15 Euro for 24 hours) It's a fab way to get around - the only way it seems, in Amsterdam!! You can ride on the free ferry and explore the whole town...brilliant!!
So, would we return to the Botel?? You bet we would...without a doubt!!!!! The incredible views across the water, as opposed to the town, are just unbeatable!!!
See you next year!!! ;-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMartin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the botel, booked through jet2 holidays.
A bargain at under £200 for flights from Leeds, accommodation and breakfast.
The botel is fine for a short stay, clean ,comfortable, and very quiet.
We had a top floor room and had great views, there was just a slight movement on the boat,every now and again, due to other passing boats etc.
The breakfast was fine, breads cheese meats , and bacon and eggs if you wanted it. There is also a small bar on board as well, which is handy for a drink in the evening.
The only way to reach the city is on the free ferry near the botel, which goes to central station, if you walk through the station it's then a short walk to take you into the city.
The ferries run till midnight and start around 7 in the morning. In central station are lockers for luggage, handy if you have an early or later flight home. Think they were about 8 Euros for 24 hours.
If you can try the Mata Hari bar and restaurant, it has a website, it was a great place to enjoy an evening drink and the food was excellent.
I would recommend the botel for a reasonably priced short stay, clean, comfortable, and perfectly acceptable .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guccigirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Flew from Manston Airport for a short break in Amsterdam. The Botel was basic but clean and good buffet breakfast included at a reasonable price. Free ferry crossing from the station which was a pleasant experience in itself with some stunning views.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinktoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Botel offers basic yet affordable accommodation. Room is clean but bathroom is tiny. Breakfast was nice too with basic cooked food and rolls. Location is great with free parking and 10 min boat shuttle to Central station just next door. Great way to save on parking if you travel by car.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gagpub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#230 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#158 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#66 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Property: Amstel Botel
Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing