We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amstel Botel Experience 26 May 2014”
Review of Amstel Botel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amstel Botel
Ranked #165 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just returned home from a lovely long weekend to Amsterdam. My daughter and I stayed on the Amstel Botel. I would definitely stay again and so would my daughter. We both enjoyed our stay. The bathroom was small but we managed. People seem to forget it is a boat you are staying on not in a five star luxury hotel you pay for what you get. Our room was clean, beds were comfortable and the breakfast was adequate. I found the staff polite and helpful. The ferry connections over to Central Station was really good. Sunday they don't run until after 9:30am. If you need to get over early ask Reception to arrange for the shuttle bus which takes you to the Station. I personally found it better to stay the other side of the pier you were away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre. We were peckish in the evening at the Botel Bar you can purchase Toasties / Chips. The Amstel Botel was very easy to find. From Schiphol Airport get the train direct to Amsterdam Central only a few stops. Signs for the ferry are easy to follow basically come out the back of central station (walk through the turnstiles) turn left and you go to the last Pier 4th on left the ferry you need to catch is "NDSM" which signposted on the front of the ferry. It takes 10/15 mins ride over to the other side of the Pier and the Botel is a five minute walk you can see it as you get off the ferry its on your left. Saturday was a bank holiday in Amsterdam "Kings Day" if you do not like masses don't go. I think the whole of Holland descended into Amsterdam it was manic. Shops and Tourist things to do were shut, so we missed a day. If you like to Party go for the experience. Everyone was dressed in the National Colour Orange it was all day / night of parties. I have to say the Dutch were lovely and very friendly.

Room Tip: Floor 3 Room 360 was the very last room no one above us. To be honest was never in the room that lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Posh423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 1,917 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

The room stinks when first came in. The toilet and bathroom area was really tiny. Don't think it could fit one more person in the bathroom. The holder of the shower was not working so the water would just direct to the wall but not you. The towel looks clean but saints as well. The bed lining was broken. I'm in a room next to the road people walking to the botel. It is very noisy not just hearing people the carrying luggage sound and talking on that road but also from water dripping from somewhere, people showering in the next room, people walking on top of your room and people walk past your room, basically hear everything.

Since it is a botel so it is surronded by the sea. But stop the romantic cruise imagination, it is a way to experience rubbish smelly sea. The sea water outside the room has loads of rubbish which brings flies into my room! Now the flies are flying next to my ear which makes even nosier then everything mentioned above!

So if you do not mind having a lower class botel experience, i guess it is the cheapest accommodation in amsterdam you could have.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

It's unusual to say the least , we had a good view of the submarine and incoming ferries too
Breakfast was very good , English or continental.
The rooms are small and basic , no hair dryer and tiny wardrobe . Bathroom is tiny , you can sit on the loo , wash your hands in the basin and have a shower all at the same time !
Bit of a pain having to get the ferry to the city centre each time and the last ferry back is before midnight , taxi fare is €25min .
Having said that we had a fab time !

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I like to sit up and read in bed. Alas, the moron who designed these bedrooms thought it would be a nice addition to put a sharp-edged shelf just at head height making it impossible to sit up in bed without the top of your skull pressing against the shelf's edge.
The bathroom is a death-trap. The floor is very slippery when wet and the area is tiny and cramped. I slipped once but fortunately caught the towel rail - amazed it didn't come from the wall. An elderly person may not be as lucky.

Room Tip: I imagine all have the same dreadful design so, it's pot luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iStuart_BTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Great view, marvellous buffet breakfast, perfect location and good service.

Our room was on the top deck giving us a beautiful sunset view every day.

The breakfast is an all you can eat continental buffet with cereal, boiled eggs, toast, rolls, beans, beverages etc.

A free ferry takes you to and from the city centre. The service is available from early in the morning to midnight. It's a 10 minute ride and runs every half hour. After midnight, a hotel bus shuttle runs throughout the night.

Everyone is helpful and speaks English.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
6  Thank Resh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Lovely stay in the botel! Staff were fab, especially the receptionist Jose...! It was definately an experience... If anything a bit out dated! We will stay again without a doubt. The cheese toasters were good too

Room Tip: Go bottom floor! Ducks come to say hi in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Megmog88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Nice stay, friendly and helpful staff, cheap drinks, good breakfast! It was good at night and a weird but cool experience sleeping on a boat. Rubbish soap in the bathroom and stains on sheets, but apart from that a decent place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#77 of 373 in Amsterdam
914 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#268 of 373 in Amsterdam
780 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#259 of 373 in Amsterdam
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New West Inn Amsterdam
#169 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,109 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#149 of 373 in Amsterdam
234 reviews
Campanile Amsterdam
#201 of 373 in Amsterdam
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Botel

Address: 3 MT Ondinaweg | NDSM-Pier 3, 1033 RG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £33 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Botel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amstel Botel is Amsterdam's floating hotel. Stay in our hotel with unique design in appearance. We are located in the center of Amsterdam just 3 minutes walk from the Central Railway Station and 18 minutes ride from Amsterdam Airport, which offers a splendid opportunity to discover Amsterdam's history, culture and beauty. The Amstel Botel has 175 rooms, smoking and non-smoking rooms available, all with toilet/shower, hot/cold water, safe, AM/FM clock radio, writing desk, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amstel Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel Botel Hotel Amsterdam
Amstel Botel Alkmaar
Amstel Botel Hotel Alkmaar
Botel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing