We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient and fairly priced in the heart of Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aspen
Ranked #255 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This small hotel offered clean, quiet rooms, conveniently located to most of Amsterdam's attractions. I never had trouble sleeping. The stairs are memorable but only a minor inconvenience. Staff was always friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cooterp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aspen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

Firstly, to all those reviews moaning that this is a no frills hotel - what do you expect for the money you're paying? This hotel is advertised EVERYWHERE as a budget, basic hotel and it delivers exactly what it promises.

I have stayed here twice now with a group of friends - both times for the Amsterdam Marathon. The hotel is brilliantly located with a supermarket a block away and 5 minute walk from Dam Sq. It's true - the stairs are not suitable for elderly or frail travellers or if you travel with substantial luggage. However, this is clearly mentioned on all blogs and hotel reviews.

The owner/landlord is great - always friendly and smiling and welcomes you to his home and city. This is a family run business and it does feel like it.

I will be back as Hotel Aspen is real value for money in an expensive city.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Johnas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This 1 star hotel is conveniently located very near DAM square, the canals, Anne Frank house, tram stations and an Albert Heijn supermarket.
Hoped when booking the hotel that it was more the just the basics... but I was wrong.
Advantages:
Got room an hour early since it was already ready and we had arrived.
No problem leaving luggage after checkout until leaving the city at the hotel.
Free wifi
Clean.
Smoke free - at least that's what the owner said , other review here state otherwise.
Location is great.

Disadvantages:
Entrance to the hotel is a very very steep staircase, getting to rooms on top floor is 71 stairs. Read about this before but I didn't believe it would be so crazy but - it is the steepest staircase I have seen in my life and getting a suitcase up the stairs to the top floor is a total body workout.
1 light bulb for the whole room - not very helpful - had to keep bathroom door open so light would come in. there was a tiny reading light above a sort of shelf.
Double beds are small and seperated (twin) so don't plan on rolling to your partners bed in the middle of the night ......
No desk or anything of the sort.
NO air\con or safe.
No breakfast option.

The men at the front counter are nice (Esam and an older man were there at the time) and helpful with travel tips around the city.


With all the positive reviews I though maybe it would still hold a certain standard but would recommend this hotel for people on a very tight\nonexistent budget or students or someone who simply has no other choice . The place is at a level with low rated hostels. It isn't terrible, it just isn't somewhere I would like to be on vacation. Throw in a couple of more Euros and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Amit Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I stayed at Hotel Aspen with friends in June 2011. We chose it because it is not too far from the city center and it was very inexpensive.

Upsides: The room was clean and reasonably large. The staff was friendly. Very inexpensive. Central location, but not too close to the red light district.

Downsides: The room strongly smelled of marijuana smoke when we got it. We left the window open on our first day, and the smell was mostly gone after that. Also, the staircases are very steep, and we had to carry our bags up three flights of stairs. Be careful when climbing the last flight! I hit my head quite hard on the ceiling above the staircase at one point.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrissman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Loved our stay here. Centrally located we were able to easily walk everywhere, Anne Frank house, red light district and train station. Great helpful hosts. Smaller room with large window was very clean. Shared shower was tiny but it did the job. Great value. A lot of great restaurant and coffee shops nearby. Free fast Wifi. Stairs were somewhat frightening :). Great place we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank angelat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The hotel is centrally located, quite close to a tram stop, with a very friendly owner. The stairs are steep but not impossible to climb, however not recommended for older or frail people. The room was located away from the street, so there was no noise from outside. The bathroom was clean and quite large compared to some others in Europe. There is a supermarket about two blocks away.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeVictorMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Overall, the hotel was what I had expected after reading about It on many review sites. The rooms were small and very basic with mushy tiny beds but everything was clean and our host was very friendly and informative. One thing I must say is that the owners should invest in fans!! Our room was SO stifling hot at night and it was not even a hot day. Opening the window only slightly helped. Please, Hotel Aspen...have a few room fans on hand just in case!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Getthatrunin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel de Westertoren
Hotel de Westertoren
#236 of 371 in Amsterdam
187 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#106 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,993 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Di-Ann
Hotel Di-Ann
#318 of 371 in Amsterdam
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#203 of 371 in Amsterdam
952 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#145 of 371 in Amsterdam
233 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#25 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Address: Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £31 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aspen 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing