We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just fine!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aspen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aspen
Ranked #250 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just fine!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Location is great, as is the rate! The owner was also very welcoming and hard-working. I read the reviews here but still couldn't believe how steep those stairs were until I saw them with my own eyes -- don't bring too much luggage! Shower as indeed in a small room/cabinet, but thanks to the reviews here I as prepared for that. Good rate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleophus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    102
    50
    15
    6
See reviews for
18
85
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

This is strictly a shoestring budget hotel (not by price though!) and very close to dam square and other famous attractions like Anne frank's house etc.

The reception is a window where the host takes in your details and gives you the keys. The rooms are bare and they don't serve breakfast.
The stairs to the room are narrow and steep which is alright if you are careful and too drunk.

Since we were staying only for a night, it was alright but wouldn’t stay here for longer than that.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bombay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

When we arrived we were shocked at the amount at stairs. After speaking with the owner it didn't bother us as he was so friendly and helpful. By far the best host I have had at any hotel. When we were there they had a problem with wifi and that was a problem as we were relying on it to help with communicating to family and helping us to see the sights.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at the Aspen Hotel for three nights. We rented a room for two, facing the back of the building which was wise to prevent the street noise. The bathrooms were shared, but we never ran into anyone when attempting to use them. The place was clean, simple, and quite adequate. A very steep and narrow highway leads from the entrance door to the host's welcome window on the second floor. The same stairways continue up to the third floor where we stayed and higher for more rooms. The place is probably not suitable for folks having trouble climbing steep and narrow stairs. The bathroom and shower were clean and very adequate. The bed was an IKEA type and a bit tiny and each side had its own blanket. The host was very nice and helpful. There was a sink in the room that took care of some essentials. The place is located central and within walking distance of all action in town. On arrival we walked from the main train station to the hotel, but on the way back we took the more convenient tram.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the back to stay away from the noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jollymanvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed in a single room (room nr. 8) on a Saturday night, I'm a solo female traveler.
In short:
The steeps are extremely narrow and steep - I'm young and fit, and had a small suitcase, and it wasn't difficult, but one has to be very careful going up and down.
The room was clean, light and big enough just for a night. Tip: Take earplugs and a sleeping mask with, my neighbors came in at 4am, and I could hear them.
WLAN was free for hotel guests, but otherwise, no TV, no breakfast - it's slightly boring!
The shared bathroom consists of a toilet, clean but smells a little bad, and a shower, clean but horribly poor water pressure. It's really just there to rinse off quickly.
The area is great. Very central to everything.
Would I stay there again? Probably if I needed a cheap room just for a night in a central location.

Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank bv29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel de Westertoren
Hotel de Westertoren
#237 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Di-Ann
Hotel Di-Ann
#321 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#184 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#122 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,887 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#141 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Property: Hotel Aspen
Address: Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aspen 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing