We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but friendly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aspen

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Aspen
Ranked #255 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Small but friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

OK so the stairs at steep but this is Amsterdam.....no problem. My room was the budget single room on the top floor and yes, it was very small. The bed was big enough for me (I'm 5'9") and the wifi works throughout the hotel. The worst thing was the shower room, external to the bedroom. It is very awkward to actually undress in the room so it's far easier to walk to the shower covering with a towel. Obviously this isn't convenient for many people. The pressure from the shower is also non existent and no toiletries are provided either.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    102
    50
    15
    6
See reviews for
18
85
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

What a wonderful small hotel! We enjoyed our stay very much. This hotel was perfect for my husband and I. Very clean, great hostpitality, and a hot shower. We only stayed for two nights, but I wish we had booked more! This little B&B was centrally located and very easy to find. We had very large luggage due to the fact that we were going to be in Europe for a month and the stairs were super steep. If you plan on staying at this little hotel large luggage is not advised! It is do able, but very difficult.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Dmytro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

3 girlfriends and I stayed here for 4 nights in the beginning of may for a great price. The room was cozy and had all the basics- hangers, towels, soap. We brought our own towels and used the hotel's as bath mats. We stayed in a lot most night just because it was so cozy and quiet. Esam was a great receptionist and helped us a lot. The location is great. I would definitely recommend staying and would definitely come back. The stairs are definitely a workout so don't come with big luggage!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xmuahz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

The location was excellent and close to Dam Square. The tramway was easily accessible as well as the train station. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very basic and quite disappointing considering the price we paid. I guess we paid for the location. Amsterdam is a very interesting city to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank JohanneLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We booked a room for 3 people. We were located way up on the third floor, so the climb up the narrow stairs was a challenge, but it also made for some jokes and laughs. It was really all just part of the adventure! We had clean, white bedding, three small beds for three people, and our own private bath which was small and without counter space. I have seen smaller bathrooms, so it wasn't terrible, but overall, it was suitable and clean.

The proprietor Rudy was a very pleasant man whose jovial demeanor made us very relaxed. I liked that we could pay with our Visa card directly to him when we arrived. It was a little odd to pay for the hotel before our stay, but I did not mind. Rudy helped us carry luggage up the stairs when we arrived, and down the stairs when we checked out. Very nice! Everything was clean, not luxurious, but for what we paid (220 euros), I think it was a good value. Anne Frank's house was just a five minute walk. There also was a hop-on-hop-off office five minute walk away with the stop right there. In the other direction we could easily walk to Dam Square, the Rembrandt Exhibit, the Red Light district, and even Central Station. The outside of the hotel is among shops and has a great Amsterdam look to it, as you can see in the photograph. Overall we were very happy. I would not hesitate to stay here again. I highly recommend Hotel Aspen.

Room Tip: The stairs are steep and narrow, so ask for a lower room if they have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bestware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

The host is simply lovely. Made our stay pleasant, helping us with the basic info about the city and keeping the hotel perfectly clean. I wasn't looking for luxury but yes for value for my money. Ended in a lovely place, (it is worth to repeat) clean and we'll located. Here's your spot my fellow tourist!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed in the Aspen over Easter. Very centrally located just down the road to Anne Frank house and close to lots of attractions. Room was very basic and even though we booked a double room, it was 2 single beds pushed together and really small singles at that - 2' 6"!!! However the room, bed and bathroom were all very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank kaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel de Westertoren
Hotel de Westertoren
#240 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#188 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Di-Ann
Hotel Di-Ann
#318 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#118 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,857 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#140 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Property: Hotel Aspen
Address: Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aspen 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing