We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location good, hotel bad” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aspen

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Aspen
Ranked #255 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“location good, hotel bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

spartan and cramped. purely third or fourth rate place to stay. Manager Esam is nice, his wife is rude and mean. I'd look elsewhere.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kennesaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    102
    50
    15
    6
See reviews for
18
85
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

booked in at the aspen and was greeted by the highest and steepest staircase i have ever seen in my life if you have a fear of heights do not stay here you might get in you wont get out the owner seemed okay but the rooms are really of low budget quality and the stairs are ridiculous especially if you are on the top floor which means 3 flights of 2 inch wide mountainous stairs to climb

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank egiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
185 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

Pro's: Hotel is a great value in a good location. Most things to do in Amsterdam were a 10 minute walk. 2 blocks from tram. Room was clean and quiet. Esam, the owner was very friendly and helpful. Had room ready for us at 10:00 AM because we arrived on an early flight.
Con's: Very steep staircase, no elevator. We had only backpacks, so no problem, but this would have been difficult with suitcases. Lobby is 2 flights up. No TV. We had a quiet room facing a courtyard, but the front rooms face a moderately busy street, so they would be noisier. No breakfast included- most other hotels have breakfast.

This is not a luxury hotel, but is a great value. The owner is awesome- he gave us a map and marked all of the things we wanted to do to make navigating easier. One night he stopped us on the way out the door to let us know that a rainstorm was coming, and not to forget our umbrellas- and it poured later that night!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrh28
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

This hotel was excellent. The owner was super nice. Very sweet guy. He told us where to eat, how to get there- circled all the great things to do on a map for us. We were leaving one night to go out and he stopped us to let us know it would be raining later.... we would of been drenched without our umbrellas! You can tell that he truly cares about his guests.

The rooms were clean, simple. We stayed in a room facing the backyard. Very pretty view of trees and homes. He even gave us the option if we wanted a room facing the street or the backyard. The room facing the street had a super cool view, but we wanted quiet at night. He was great to give us the option, though.
There are a lot of stairs at this hotel. You walk in the front door and it is stairs up to the second floor where the office is located. There are 3 floors of rooms.
If we ever go back- this is where we will stay. I would reccomend this hotel to our family and friends! You can't find a better location: It's 2 blocks from Anne Franks home. Pick this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

The hotel is centrally located so it is within walking distance of everything! Sara's pancakes house was AMAZING, you must stop by if you are staying here. The owner was so friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay. He recommended places to eat, things to do and bars to drink at. He knew where everything was and also converted US dollars to Euros at no charge! Every morning and night we would see him cleaning the public bathrooms and vacuuming the halls every morning. Our room was a very nice size (compared to other European hotels) and the private bathroom was very nice too. We had a nice view of the main street. The stairs were very steep, but that was something that you got used to after awhile..

When I go back to Amsterdam I will DEFINITELY stay here again and recommend this place to friends!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dks61885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

I knew what to expect from the photos and reviews on here, and they give a very accurate account. The steep stairs weren't a problem really as we only had hand luggage, but I wouldn't want to carry a holiday suitcase up them. After a few beers they do seem to go on forever!!!!!

The location is great and you can walk to pretty much anywhere in Amsterdam.

The bedroom was basic and quite small with a sink. We shared a toilet and shower with 3 other rooms. The overall feel was one of University halls of residence, which for us was fine to use as a base. I didn't see anyone else in the other rooms other than when they arrived or left so there was no worry about using the facilities as and when you wanted (the hotel was full).

Generally a good, cheap base for seeing the sites of Amsterdam

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Aspen Hotel in a room with private bathroom for 3 nights in March 09. There is no lift and there is a very steep long staircase up to the Reception area (more like the manager's living quarters!) and then even more to the rooms, so this may be a problem for some with heavy luggage. The room was clean but very basic, and we got two single beds despite booking a double room. The bathroom was also clean but very small. The staff (we encountered two during our stay) were both very friendly and helpful in recommending and booking tours to the countryside (recommended!). The location was great - 5 min walk to dam square. So if you want a very basic room in a good location and don't need any extras, this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debzii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel de Westertoren
Hotel de Westertoren
#241 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#187 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Di-Ann
Hotel Di-Ann
#317 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#119 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,857 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#136 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Property: Hotel Aspen
Address: Raadhuisstraat 31, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aspen 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing