We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place gets the job done and has a good scene”
Review of Flying Pig Uptown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flying Pig Uptown
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This place gets the job done and has a good scene”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

As far as accommodation is concerned, it's basic and you get what you pay for, but I had no problems sleeping and everything was relatively clean. The best part about the place is its common area/bar/smoking room. When most every other bar in Amsterdam is well past closed, this place keeps going, and when it does close, you only have to walk literally 100 feet and you're in your bed. The smoking room is really chill as well. Finally, the staff is on top of their game and does a really good job.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lammer987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    300
    119
    31
    21
See reviews for
10
125
158
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent two nights at the Flying Pig while we were staying in Amsterdam for the marathon. We had an ensuite bedroom - we slept pretty well: not too noisy and comfy bed. The place is fairly clean and well organised. They have a small but handy kitchen. Staff are nice and helpful. Nice breakfast. The hostel is located next to the vondelpark - close to all the museums - only 10 minutes from the train station by bus or tram. There is a smoking room next to the bar but it is not a problem for non-smokers. The price was fair, considering that Amsterdam is usually very expensive.
It was a good choice overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumpet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

This is a pretty decent hostel. Great atmosphere. Depending on what you want out of Amsterdam. There is a bar and smoking room.. Free breakfast.

Wifi was an absolute joke they really need to splurge a little more on it because many times I was unable to connect (when you need to book flights/accom etc it is extremely annoying not to have wifi) and that can put me off returning to certain hostels.

Stairs were a major pain if travelling with a suitcase but cannot blame that on the hostel it is just traditional Dutch architecture..
Worst is that you have to go down a huge flight to get to reception and then up another flight to get to level 1. I was lucky enough to be on level 1 and the receptionist was nice enough to open the emergency exit so I didn't have to lug my bag down and then up stairs again.

Security is alright. Front door always shut only accessible with key card.
Kitchen is ok, only really used the microwave as the rest was always so jam packed with people.
Considering the summer season is over I was surprised how packed and pumping this place was.

14 bed dorm was a decent size. Big lockers under beds which was great.
I had a light and PowerPoint next to my bed but neither of them worked.
Comfy beds, huge doonas. Heating was good but sometimes TOO hot in the rooms..

2 showers per level and 1 toilet definitley not enough.. Every morning it was basically a line up to use the shower.

Location (for me personally) was not great. There is some decent nightlife uptown but we spent all our nights downtown near rembrandtplein square and the red light district, coffee shops etc was about a 45min walk. In the freezing cold at 5am that reeeeally sucked. I will go back to flying pig but I will stay downtown next time:)

Oh and the hostel cat is super cute. Was nice having a pet around, made it feel very homey!

Oh and one last thing.. What the hell was with the DOUBLE BED COUPLE bunks in dorms? Never seen that in a hostel before.. Good for couples i guess but need to be more specific for bookers because we had 3 seperate lots of guys check in to our room only to find they had booked a double bed and not 2 singles haha

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eliseaashour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

i went to this hostel in September and first of all the staff was really amazing, they were extremely nice and they did what they could to make your stay more comfortable. The rooms were really nice and the bathrooms fairly clean. The best part of the hostel is the bar/living room. Most of the people were having a joint in the private smoking area or just having a beer at the bar. Also the bartender at the bar was always happy and trying to help people have a good time. So if you are young and want to have a good time in Amsterdam this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcemraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Me and a friend stayed here and it was great fun.. amazing staff, comfortable beds, warm rooms and really reasonable prices. Would highly recommend if you're in Amsterdam to at least call in for a beer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezzyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our room was large and spacious, looking into the nearby park. It pretty close to public transport, a bit further to walk into the city centre but manageable.

There are no lifts so there is a bit of walking especially if you're on the top floor!

There are plenty of snacks for sale at the bar, even two minute noodles. The pub crawl was great fun and highly recommended.

The hostel cat is pretty grumpy and can scratch so watch out if you want to pat him.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magicpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Flying pig is one of those places you go to and never want to leave. I literally wanted to move there (and still do). I've stayed at this hostel twice, and regardless of whatever aesthetic downsides people have mentioned, if you're looking for good people and good vibes, this is the place. The staffs really good with cleaning bathrooms and bedrooms, and staying in the 8-10 people dorms is a blast. Its in a beautiful location as well.

Room Tip: If traveling with a boyfriend/girlfriend they offer a double bunk bed in the larger dorms which is d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowernomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,254 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#144 of 368 in Amsterdam
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#41 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,265 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#11 of 229 in Amsterdam
1,238 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#9 of 229 in Amsterdam
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Uptown

Property: Flying Pig Uptown
Address: Vossiusstraat 46/47, 1071 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flying Pig Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing