We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flying Pig Uptown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Piet Hein(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Hestia(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Parkzicht(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Bellington(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel JL No76(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Owl Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Fita(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sipermann Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hotel Roemer(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveller rating
365
319
128
37
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
319
128
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmoking roomfree breakfastbed dormbathrooms and showersfantastic hostelbar downstairsperson roomamsterdam signamsterdam experiencevan gogh museumflights of stairsno elevatorfirst floortop flooryour luggagebeds were comfortableenjoyed my stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
391 - 396 of 874 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

After my bad experience with the Flying Pig Downtown, I insisted on going to the Flying Pig Uptown, since the reservations were made and paid for.

It’s a different environment. The place is a bit more spacious and located in a calm place near the Vondelpark. Staff was better but they have a deep apathy for the guests, who are treated like cattle. You don’t feel welcome and sometimes it can make all the difference.

The room was more spacious but it was located on the fourth floor and the place does not have an elevator. Hallways are narrow. There are vending machines with snacks and soft drinks.

This place is a bit more calm than the downtown branch but people still get to know eachother and socialize.

Beds were comfortable but maybe a bit too small. The room had carpet on the floor which I found really nice.

There was a tram stop near the place so the location wasn’t an issue. I noticed this is a better location to be if you are planning to visit museums. Getting out of downtown on a tram all the time will cost you a lot of money and you can walk from there to many museums instead.

I would recommend this place, but I grew to dislike Hostels, so I recommend this with reserves regarding the staff and service quality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felipe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed a couple of nights here and had a great time. Rooms were really well priced, comfortable and clean. Stayed in the bunk queen sized beds which was different but good for couples or friends. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Kitchen facilities were great and nice bar area. Breakfast was good, particularly as it was included in the already cheap room price. There was fruit, bread to make toast, juices, tea and coffee. Lockers which you can use for €2/ day after you check out. There is a smoking room by the bar. Further from the central area than the other flying pig which is what we wanted as it was nice and quiet at night, but still easily within walking distance of the central attractions. Hope to return again in the near future!

Room Tip: Our room was changed from a room on the third floor to one on the first, which was helpful as we had heavy luggage- perhaps you could ask for this when making the booking. Rooms are very social and great for meeting other people. Perhaps if you are in a big group it could be a good idea to book out a room in advance.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciaramcd93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Pros
- Room and bathrooms were clean, and there were even signs up saying to tell the front desk if they were dirty
- Bathroom and shower in the room
- Plug and light at every bed
- GREAT Breakfast (hard boiled eggs, cereal, toast, fruit, coffee, orange/apple juice, and tea)
- Bar had good prices, decent set up, and was very relaxed
- Very nice staff (I had an odd request and they didn't care)
- Location - the area it's in is beautiful! There's an incredible park and it's relatively quiet
- The beds are really comfortable and really quiet. Creeky bunk beds are a nightmare.

Cons
- The location can be a bit far from centraal for some people
- the seating is really terrible during breakfast, and some people don't understand that and use it as a hangout... which screws everyone else over. This would be my only actual complaint.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eli_Ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

These guys are great. Clean rooms, bathrooms smell lovely and clean, staff were really helpful, they let me come and go after check out until 9.30pm (late bus). The bar room was a bit hot and stinky - just heating up a bit high and with smoking room right beside it....but I think a bit of fresh air in there would do the trick.
Also kitchen closed one evening for 1.5hrs for staff meal - would be good to have that pointed out when you arrive because it's apparently on the door but when the door is open you don't read the sign. it's no big deal but I would have been pretty sad to be one of the ones wanting to cook in that time & then having to wait 1.5hrs - we chose this one over bulldog which i stayed in last time because of the kitchen.
Cheap drinks at the bar, lockers available for your stuff, duvet & pillow & beds were sooo nice and comfy, clean heavy sheets, so good. Towels for free use. breakfast was great, brown bread and boiled eggs especially :) .
We had a great stay, thanks guys! Will be back there next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waitakerekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Although expensive, so is everywhere else in Amsterdam worth staying at. For such a big hostel, the staff make it feel very homely and kept the atmosphere buzzing. You could always see the staff working and it was evident they kept on top of the cleaning and other duties. The free breakfast is great and the receptionists are very informative. Guaranteed a great time in Amsterdam while staying at the pig.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becdegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews