Not a good experience. Our room had windows which were bolted down. Directly across from the bathrooms which contributed to the horrible smell. Not a bad hostel overall, but make sure you specify which type of room you want.More
- Free Wifi
Not a good experience. Our room had windows which were bolted down. Directly across from the bathrooms which contributed to the horrible smell. Not a bad hostel overall, but make sure you specify which type of room you want.MoreShow less
Thank you for writing a review! Your experience will help us improve our hostel! We are very sorry to hear about the smell in your room! Unfortunately we can't open the windows that are at the back of our building due to several noise complaints in the past. We clean our hostel completely everyday, and check that everything is up to standard several times a day. Again we are sorry the smell in your room was not up to standard. Thanks again for your feedback! - The Flying Pig Uptown
On my fourth visit to the Dam this was the most fun accommodation I have had yet. Nice part of town near the Liedseplein and Hard Rock Café. Cool smoking room for after hours chilling and naughtiness and the staff were relaxed as..... Highly recommend this place.....!!! xxx
Thank you very much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much that you recommend it to other people! We hope to welcome you to our hostel again some day! - The Flying Pig Uptown
this hostel was good, close to main attractions and bars etc. staff was helpful. rooms and toilets were very clean! and a very good breakfast every morning:) the only thing i did not quite like was that the showers are super small and located in corridors..
Thank you very much for your review! We are glad that overall you had a good experience at our hostel! We hope you come and stay with us again some day! - The Flying Pig Uptown
The visit to this hostel was marred in confusion as there was both an uptown and downtown one. Regardless of this blip, we finally arrived. The uptown one was definitely in a quieter and at a more relaxed location. The staff were very friendly throughout. They accommodated us with two rooms between 8 people. Each room had 10 or so bunkbeds. Prepare. Not only for this part of the stifling review, but for the beds themselves. There were the worst beds i've ever slept on. Pillows felt like they were made for a baby, duvets that were made for a sponge, and similar results with the mattress. The icing on the cake? A cold draft on my body near the window, as well as shower towels that were meant for people of a small stature.
Ok bad stuff aside, the staff were very friendly, as everyone is in Amsterdam. The showers were great, the locker facilities were brilliant, and you could hire a European charger converter and a laptop, plus there was free wifi! I feel bad for giving such a negative first half of the review. But i'd say aside from this, as the title goes, i had a good experience overall.
Hi there, thank you for your comments. We are very sorry that the beds were not up to your standards. We are soon replacing all the pillows and will review all our duvets, thanks for mentioning this though. Good to hear you still had a good stay with us and we hope to welcome you again some day! Cheers, the Flying Pig Uptown
I did liked this hotel!)
good location and super friendly atmosphere !!
it only takes 5 minutes to get to the centre ))))
If one day I go to Amsterdam again I'll definitely book a room in this hostel with its fantastic breakfast and a good view from your window ))
Hi there, thank you very much for the great review! We hope to welcome you to our hostel again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown
After my bad experience with the Flying Pig Downtown, I insisted on going to the Flying Pig Uptown, since the reservations were made and paid for.
It’s a different environment. The place is a bit more spacious and located in a calm place near the Vondelpark. Staff was better but they have a deep apathy for the guests, who are treated like cattle. You don’t feel welcome and sometimes it can make all the difference.
The room was more spacious but it was located on the fourth floor and the place does not have an elevator. Hallways are narrow. There are vending machines with snacks and soft drinks.
This place is a bit more calm than the downtown branch but people still get to know eachother and socialize.
Beds were comfortable but maybe a bit too small. The room had carpet on the floor which I found really nice.
There was a tram stop near the place so the location wasn’t an issue. I noticed this is a better location to be if you are planning to visit museums. Getting out of downtown on a tram all the time will cost you a lot of money and you can walk from there to many museums instead.
I would recommend this place, but I grew to dislike Hostels, so I recommend this with reserves regarding the staff and service quality.