We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good first impression”
Review of Flying Pig Uptown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flying Pig Uptown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was my first time in Europe and 1st time in a hostel. The staff was friendly, the location was easy to get to and in a nice area. The bathrooms weren't the cleanest and there were LOTS of stairs. But overall I really like the hostel, nice bar area to mix and mingle and great crowd. The rooms were a decent size and the beds comfy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelz812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad your first impression of a hostel was a good one! We clean our bathrooms everyday, and check this several times a day. We are sorry the cleanliness wasn't as clean as it should have been, and glad it hasn't affected your overall experience too much! We hope you decide to stay with us again some day! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
There are newer reviews for Flying Pig Uptown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Not a good experience. Our room had windows which were bolted down. Directly across from the bathrooms which contributed to the horrible smell. Not a bad hostel overall, but make sure you specify which type of room you want.

Room Tip: Specifically request a room with windows that can OPEN.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank withseidelinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for writing a review! Your experience will help us improve our hostel! We are very sorry to hear about the smell in your room! Unfortunately we can't open the windows that are at the back of our building due to several noise complaints in the past. We clean our hostel completely everyday, and check that everything is up to standard several times a day. Again we are sorry the smell in your room was not up to standard. Thanks again for your feedback! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

On my fourth visit to the Dam this was the most fun accommodation I have had yet. Nice part of town near the Liedseplein and Hard Rock Café. Cool smoking room for after hours chilling and naughtiness and the staff were relaxed as..... Highly recommend this place.....!!! xxx

Room Tip: Book early to get all your mates in the same room as you.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much that you recommend it to other people! We hope to welcome you to our hostel again some day! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

this hostel was good, close to main attractions and bars etc. staff was helpful. rooms and toilets were very clean! and a very good breakfast every morning:) the only thing i did not quite like was that the showers are super small and located in corridors..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad that overall you had a good experience at our hostel! We hope you come and stay with us again some day! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The visit to this hostel was marred in confusion as there was both an uptown and downtown one. Regardless of this blip, we finally arrived. The uptown one was definitely in a quieter and at a more relaxed location. The staff were very friendly throughout. They accommodated us with two rooms between 8 people. Each room had 10 or so bunkbeds. Prepare. Not only for this part of the stifling review, but for the beds themselves. There were the worst beds i've ever slept on. Pillows felt like they were made for a baby, duvets that were made for a sponge, and similar results with the mattress. The icing on the cake? A cold draft on my body near the window, as well as shower towels that were meant for people of a small stature.

Ok bad stuff aside, the staff were very friendly, as everyone is in Amsterdam. The showers were great, the locker facilities were brilliant, and you could hire a European charger converter and a laptop, plus there was free wifi! I feel bad for giving such a negative first half of the review. But i'd say aside from this, as the title goes, i had a good experience overall.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fahim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, General Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hi there, thank you for your comments. We are very sorry that the beds were not up to your standards. We are soon replacing all the pillows and will review all our duvets, thanks for mentioning this though. Good to hear you still had a good stay with us and we hope to welcome you again some day! Cheers, the Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I did liked this hotel!)
good location and super friendly atmosphere !!
it only takes 5 minutes to get to the centre ))))
If one day I go to Amsterdam again I'll definitely book a room in this hostel with its fantastic breakfast and a good view from your window ))

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, General Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hi there, thank you very much for the great review! We hope to welcome you to our hostel again! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

After my bad experience with the Flying Pig Downtown, I insisted on going to the Flying Pig Uptown, since the reservations were made and paid for.

It’s a different environment. The place is a bit more spacious and located in a calm place near the Vondelpark. Staff was better but they have a deep apathy for the guests, who are treated like cattle. You don’t feel welcome and sometimes it can make all the difference.

The room was more spacious but it was located on the fourth floor and the place does not have an elevator. Hallways are narrow. There are vending machines with snacks and soft drinks.

This place is a bit more calm than the downtown branch but people still get to know eachother and socialize.

Beds were comfortable but maybe a bit too small. The room had carpet on the floor which I found really nice.

There was a tram stop near the place so the location wasn’t an issue. I noticed this is a better location to be if you are planning to visit museums. Getting out of downtown on a tram all the time will cost you a lot of money and you can walk from there to many museums instead.

I would recommend this place, but I grew to dislike Hostels, so I recommend this with reserves regarding the staff and service quality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felipe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,347 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#18 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,312 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#10 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 238 in Amsterdam
1,263 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#8 of 238 in Amsterdam
577 reviews
CityHub
#2 of 238 in Amsterdam
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Uptown

Address: Vossiusstraat 46/47, 1071 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 238 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £29 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flying Pig Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing