We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flying Pig Uptown
Nearby Hotels
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$311
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$378
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (880)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
366
322
130
37
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
322
130
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmoking roomfree breakfastbed dormbathrooms and showersfantastic hostelbar downstairsperson roomamsterdam signamsterdam experiencevan gogh museumflights of stairsno elevatorfirst floortop flooryour luggagebeds were comfortableenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 880 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights mid-week with a friend. Her first hostel experience whereas I've been to lots (both in our mid twenties). This is an excellent hostel - good service, clean rooms, large lockers under bed for all your valuables. Bar open 12 noon til 3am then you can still buy drinks from "reception" (it's the same place) after that. There's an indoor smoking room for "all that's legal in Amsterdam" if that's what you're into. Showers clean, never had to queue. Bar was sociable and breakfast was included in the price (good selection, pretty healthy). Overall an excellent hostel located in a nice, safe-feeling area (we're two females and walked home from town each night).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank hvl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you very much for your very detailed review! It's awesome for us to hear you guys had a good time and that everything was up to standard! We hope you decide to stay with us next time you are in Amsterdam! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It was the first time I went to a hostel and I did not really know what to expect, but this one was recommended to me by one of my friends. The staff is incredibly friendly, the rooms are really clean. The best part I would say was the ambiance that the hostel gave. It was mostly young people and we were all doing the same thing, partying hard at night and waking up early to visit. They have a lot of facilities such as a lockers to put your luggages after you check out, lots of bathrooms/showers, a smoking room and a bar really chill. Also the breakfast included was quit good! This hostel is perfect as it is also well located in a nice area and near a tram stop that goes to the center.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, choose one of the first floor as there are a lot of small and narrow stairs.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you very much for your great review! We are glad your first time in a hostel was a good one! We hope you decide to stay with us again in the future! Thanks again! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed for 4 days at the Flying Pig Uptown Hostel in Amsterdam.
It was a greate feel to be there. The hostel was very clean and the stuff was very professionall and nice. The Bar was very cool above all the music.
Breakefast was awsome. I felt like on the first holiday camp and I enjoyed it so much.
I can only recommend this hostel. It was a really nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you very much for your amazing review! We hope you decide to stay with us again some day! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed in this hostel for my first trip to Amsterdam and I was not disappointed. The bar is incredibly cheap offering really great happy hour prices. The rooms and bathroom were clean and the beds were super comfortable. The best part was, of course, the smoking room. Nice, chill space with good music. I think the people who work there take turns with the playlists. Also, the guests were all really nice which was good for me since I was traveling alone. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I was lucky enough to only be one floor up from the bar but I know some other people had lots of stairs to climb!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katjriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you very much for your great review! We are very happy you enjoyed yourself! Our bartender is normally the person who picks the music for that night. Therefore it can indeed be a different style every night. Thanks again for your feedback! We hope to welcome you to our hostel again in the future! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed at The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel in Amsterdam and to be honest is the best hostel in the city. Is well located, close to the supermarket, next to the bus stop, 15min by walking to the center and red light zone. The personal is very kind, it have a complete kitchen where you can cook, a really good bar where you can drink or order for food and of course it have their own smoking room. The price include breakfast (excellent and varied). The atmosphere is very good, young people from all over the world. The rooms are big, each bed with an own locker. The only problem is that they don´t have an elevator. You'll have an excllent time here.

Room Tip: Check with time!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ximena7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you very much for your amazing review! We are glad you enjoyed yourself! We hope to welcome you to our hostel again some day! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews