We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare Your Lungs and Liver for This Place”
Review of Flying Pig Uptown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flying Pig Uptown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This place is the quintessential party hostel. Located on a street beside the gorgeous Vondelpark, it's relaxing environment complements how chill the hostel is. There's a nice mix of people, from the club goers in the bar to the smokers who spend sunrise to sunset in the smoking room (including Lola the cat). It's close to the Van Gogh Museum but a bit of a trek from the city centre. The staff are travellers themselves and usually have a few stories to share. The place is clean and starts selling its rooms first thing in the morning to the guests, making an extended stay easy (which can/ will happen if it's your first time in Dam). I recommend this place to everyone. Thanks again Flying Pig!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to read how much you enjoyed yourself! We hope you decide to stay with us again in the future! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

The title says it all. Even if the staff and all the people involved with the flying pig are handsome, there seem to be a little confusion in the organisation of the rooms. Two of my friends had to change beds during the night of our stay at 2.00. However the good vibes you can breath in that hostel just perfect, specially at breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay, and are very sorry that there has been some confusion with the bed allocation. In order to avoid certain things in the future, we sent you a private message in order to find out what exactly happened. We hope you will reply to this message. Thanks again for your feedback! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at 7 different hostels across Europe while travelling solo. The stay at flying pig uptown was the best! Good location, Great vibe and Brilliant staff.

Will make sure to stay at flying pig every time i visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tariq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you very much for the positive review! We are happy to read we stand out compared to other hostels in Europe! We hope you decide to stay with us again in the future! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed there 5 nights while traveling solo. The hostel is great and really clean. Staff are always cleaning common places and dorms. Staff is relaxed and really helpul.

Bar area is nice with good music.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review! Our cleanliness is very important to us, we are glad it's being noticed! We hope you decide to stay with us again next time you're in Amsterdam! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Great hostel with the most amazing staff! I'd read on here before I stayed that the staff were great however I didn't realise just how friendly and chilled out they were.

The hostel itself is really nice, and I noticed that the staff were constantly cleaning so the place was always spotless. There's always music playing and it's a generally chilled out atmosphere. We didn't get wifi in the rooms but was fine downstairs in the bar area.

There's also a pub crawl every night and we went to it twice and had such a great time both nights, so I highly recommend it!

Only thing that I have to say is that because it's mixed gender rooms it's often difficult to change in the room and there are no changing rooms or anything, and the toilets and showers are absolutely tiny with not much room to move around.

Other than that, it's absolutely amazing. The location is also brilliant! And I'm genuinely gonna miss this place and the staff a lot, so thank you for making my first experience in Amsterdam a truly amazing one :)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LaurenBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your humbling review! It's amazing to read how the staff come across to our guests! Probably a good thing we all love our jobs! Our showers and toilets vary in size, so in some it's easier to get changed than in others. Ask our staff which ones are more spacious if you stay with us again in the future! Thanks again for your feedback! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Good location, centered in the museum quarter adjacent to Vondelpark so many of the attractions are a stone throws away. Only a 20-25 min walk into the main center. Comfortable beds, free breakfast - nothing special just tea coffee, juice, toast and cereal but very appreciated in a city with expensive food, smoking room available as well. Generally very good value for money

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ElliotKeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review! You may have missed out on our boiled eggs and fresh oranges and apples which are for breakfast as well. Thanks again for your feedback, we hope you will stay with us again in the future! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

i really nice hostel, the people who work there are very friendly. The most important for me it was that the toilets were very clean. The bar down has good music and somedays they have live. The place is next to vondelpark and around 12 minutes from the center.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying_Pig_Uptown, Front Office Manager at Flying Pig Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review! We hope you come and stay with us again next time you are in Amsterdam! - The Flying Pig Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#9 of 254 in Amsterdam
1,307 reviews
ClinkNOORD
#7 of 254 in Amsterdam
1,153 reviews
CityHub
#2 of 254 in Amsterdam
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostelle
#34 of 254 in Amsterdam
276 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#12 of 254 in Amsterdam
677 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Uptown

Address: Vossiusstraat 46/47, 1071 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 254 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £27 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flying Pig Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing