We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Flying Pig Uptown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flying Pig Uptown
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Highlights:
- great location
- air conditioning!
- very clean showers and bathrooms
- lockers in the room
- pretty decent breakfast included
- comfortable common area with a bar and smoking room
-wifi everywhere



  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jb3086306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    294
    118
    29
    21
See reviews for
9
123
152
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Me and a few friends stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our European trip. The hostel is in a great location right next to Vondelpark and an approx 20 minute walk from the centre from where you can go to red light and museums etc.

Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, all spoke perfect english (the norm in Amsterdam) and recommenced plenty of good places for us to go. You can join walking tours and pub crawls from reception which is cool. The price also includes free breakfast (cereal, toast, fruit etc) which was great to fill up on the morning as Amsterdam is not the cheapest of places!

There is a bar with a happy hour which was cool, attached to this is a smoking room where you can smoke anything (when in Dam!) and this was a great way to meet people. Music was loud so if you want an early night they do provide earplugs.

Our room was comfy and clean (with AC as well, heaven!) albeit up about 4 flights of steep stairs! Showers are good but due to the way the building is laid out they are arranged in cubicles coming off the main corridor of your floor so there isnt anywhere to get changed etc but this isnt a major problem. Room couldve done with a few more plug sockets but this wasnt too much of an issue.

Price was probably about average for a hostel with good reviews in Amsterdam. Either way would thoroughly recommend Flying Pig and would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Liam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed three nights in a double room on the 1st floor. Overall, the Flying Pig is a clean, friendly spot which is close to the park, and only a short walk to the nearby restaurants, casino and canals. The bar has cheap beer and a continental breakfast, and features a smoking room for punching those durries or ripping into a cone.

Our room was decorated in an retro gaming theme, which was awesome. The wall was a big tetris game, and the walls featured Mario-esque mushrooms and space invaders. The ensuite was clean and functional. There was also a portable fan in the closet, which was great.

If you're travelling heavy, be aware that this hostel features the worst staris in the universe, so try for the lower floors when making a booking. From the front door, there's an entrance directly to the 1st floor, but it's locked meaning guests must travel downstairs to the basement (reception and bar) before climbing up the main stairwell.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schm0sby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hostel was super fun! Everyone there was so outgoing and there was always something to do. The bottom floor never stops smelling like weed but I guess that's what you'd expect from Amsterdam. It was right next to Vondel Park which was fun to ride bikes through. The wifi only was on the bottom floor and the first floor of dorms which was kind of annoying but not a huge concern. If you're a young backpacker heading towards Amsterdam I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a friend or partner I would recommend sharing a double bed to save mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The room we stayed in was a 10 bed dorm which was nice, bright and spacious. The hostel is very clean, nice bar and good drink deals. The breakfast is really good with cereals, toast, eggs, fruit, coffee etc. If I was coming back again I would stay downtown, uptown is opposite vondellpark but the clubs/ bars/ tourist attractions/ train stations are all downtown. Quite expensive, our most expensive night was €49!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rj1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Recently stayed at the Flying Pig Uptown and had a blast- the staff were friendly, the atmosphere in the bar was great and the rooms were relatively clean. TOO MANY STAIRS THOUGH- don't bring a heavy suitcase..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loumacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The flying pig uptown has a good location, right next to Vondelpark and walkable to all the main attractions. Our room was clean but small, and very hot, we couldn't leave the window open due to Mosquitos. The bar has cheap drinks but is small and dark, not an overly inviting place to hang out and often you can't get a table. The smoking room is right by the bar so often the entire hostel including our rooms smelled like weed. The staff were friendly but another complaint is I cut my foot and when I asked for a first aid kit I was told they don't have one? Breakfast was good compared to most hostels.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#13 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#9 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Pig Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Pig Uptown

Property: Flying Pig Uptown
Address: Vossiusstraat 46-47, 1071 AJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Pig Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flying Pig Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Pig Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing