We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quirky place to stay for those on a budget”
Review of Bed and Net

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bed and Net
Ranked #204 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in July whilst visiting for a music festival.
Let me start by saying if you are the kind of person who likes to stay in top of the range hotels then this is probably not the place for you. However, at 45 euros a night for a twin room, we feel that it represents real value for money. We found Amsterdam to be quite expensive and to find such reasonably priced accommodation in such a central location was fantastic. The house sits right on one of the canals and is right around the corner from Rembrantplein, where there is a huge grassy area surrounded by bars and restaurants. There was regularly people busking and different street entertainers in the centre, who were fun to watch and pass time in the sunshine. We felt like we were staying at a friends house rather than at a guesthouse. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the staff are super friendly and always ready for a chat. We stayed in the back room on the ground floor which has a fold out sofa-come-matress on the floor with a computer and literally hundreds of movies available to watch on it. There was also free internet access. The beds are on a mezzenine level which I thought was great, although if you have any mobility problems a big no- no as it is a little climb to get up there. The room also had air conditioning which was great as it was so hot when we visited. We also had a private door from our room leading into the shared bathroom, so you didnt have to go out into the hall. Although the room itself didnt have cooking facilities we were made feel more than welcome to use the facilities in the kitchen. However we ate out for all meals so cant really comment on this. Lastly, on a 19 day long holiday, these were the most comfortable beds we slept in.
Over all, I would highly recommend this place to backpackers, people travelling on a budget or people used to staying in hostels as it exceeds the standards of most hostels I have stayed in. If you are a smoker, you can smoke in the rooms too. I would absolutely return here on my next visit to Amsterdam, however the only thing is i would opt for one of the rooms with a private bathroom as they offer a little more privacy than the shared bathrooms.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Bed and Net
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

I *love* this place. It's friendly, informal, comfortable, and they go out of their way to make you feel at home. DON'T expect the most modern, sleek, or corporate-hotel-style bathroom or furniture, but DO expect a fantastic location, great view, great internet, library of films on the computer in your room, shisha if you want one, a coffee-shop atmosphere downstairs, and lots of places to visit right on your doorstep. The rooms don't all have en-suite, and there's no breakfast provided, but some of the apartments let you cook your own or there are plenty of places nearby. But none of that really matters -- it's just the feel of the place. It's more like staying with friends than a hotel, and you'll really feel like an Amsterdam local.

Room Tip: You get what you pay (and ask) for. The smallest is very compact, while the apartments are very gene...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WheredMyScreenNameGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Pros:
On arrival the first thing we realised was how nice the owners were, due to having an early flight we were unable to get into our room immediately, that was fine because we were able to leave our bags until check in. Once we were able to get into the room, the first thing we noticed was the huge windows which ran the length of the wall, not only did they provide a lot of natural light they were complimented by lovely views of the canals. We were very impressed to find that on the computer there were a choice of hundreds downloaded films, which was connected up to a very large TV overlooking the bed. This provided us with a substantial time killer on the only rainy day we had! The layout and décor was very nice including the love heart shaped ceiling lights (which were a personal favourite), it made staying there very comfortable, it did feel like being at home. Last but not least... smoking whatever you want inside... everyone knows why people go to Amsterdam.

Cons:
What I found to be the worst part of the room was the standard of cleanliness, it was clear that the room only had a once over with a cloth and a broom, but nothing more. The shower was clearly not cleaned and I made sure to wash the cutlery thoroughly before using it. But the most annoying thing of all was the toilet, it seemed that the flush had broken and was replaced by a bit of plastic string to pull the flush; it was a nightmare to use to say the least.

Other than that we had a great time, and enjoyed Amsterdam very much, can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Went with my SO, we got in before check in time soaking wet (it was raining and I got us lost) but despite this we were welcomed warmly. Great location and staff. Only drawback of note is the room we were in (the double) shares with the basement and one other, it was always clean but not always accessible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Awesome guest house is as comfortable as a home away from home. I rented the upper level .... a very trippy room with a loft for the bed. Would I go back? YES YES YES. The staff were like characters out of a sitcom. Right next door to a little deli with all sorts of yummy food. Great location.

Room Tip: Upper floor is super.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndyAnney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

If you smoke cigarettes ya' know it's hard to find comfortable accommodations where it's expectable to smoke in your room. Here you can smoke in your room & the establishment is entirely 420 friendly. Allan, the owner says he knows why most folks come to Amsterdam, give 'em what they want! So this place is for you if you came to Amsterdam for the full AMDAM Experience. It has a casual eclectic atmosphere, it's more like you're staying in someone's home (because you are) & less like a traditional B&B or hotel w/more privacy than a hostel. I came on short notice for a 3 week stay so I had opportunity stay in 3 rooms as they accommodated me around their bookings. The Staff, Marcin rocks, he keeps it all rollin'! My favorite room was the Studio Apt #2. Great windows w/refrigerator & small cooking station so coffee was easy in the mornings. My next fav was the basement Apt. w/kitchenette. Then the Penthouse w/kitchenette, it has a small deck out side where I listen to concert from Rembrandt Square one Friday night. Free wifi & lots of movies on their network. Its location is absolutely perfect for traipsing around the city. It's on the East side of the city on the canal Keizergracht. The tram is at the corner just feet away from the front door. There's a great food market "Frank Vorks" right next door w/fresh & prepared food. Everything you want or need is within a few blocks. Thanks Allan, Marcin & Bed and Net for a great stay in AMS!

Room Tip: Studio Apt #2 has great windows!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cyndi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Forget what you see in the photos - they obviously were taken just after the place had a major clean. There are however postives:

Pros:
Good Location
Nice owner and support staff
Free net and PC access

Cons:
Very untidy and also unclean
I know for a fact that when I was there rooms were only surface cleaned between guests leaving and arriving. I never ever heard a vacuum being used. Under beds indicate loads and loads of dust and rubbish. Very, very unclean rooms.
Rooms VERY small - the photos are taken to maximise space - believe me the rooms are a lot smaller in real life and beware those doors in the photos - they don't lead anywhere...

Stay if you want, but bring bug spray...

Room Tip: Don't stay in "The Library" Remember the rooms are small. Some rooms show doors - th...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happenstance186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,747 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,608 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#275 of 371 in Amsterdam
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Net? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Net

Address: Keizersgracht 705, 1017 DW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Get Lucky Guesthouse)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Canal House is located in the heart of Amsterdam on the Keizersgracht canal, just blocks away from Rembrandtplein. As travellers ourselves, we have decided to open our house to like-minded people looking for an alternative to the traditional Hotel and B&B. We try to provide a more personal and local experience by creating a home away from home. Our canal house is divided into self contained private apartments, along with some double and single rooms, both with and without en-suites. Free Secure WiFi is available throughout the building and there is a computer in each apartment/room for you to use. See you in our Home Suite Home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed And Net Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing