We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want to stay at the center but on a tight budget, this is a good bet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you want to stay at the center but on a tight budget, this is a good bet!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My friend and I planned our 4-day trip to Amsterdam on short notice. We were on the bus to Amsterdam when we were booking a room, desperately trying to find a place to stay in a location not far from the center. The fact that it was right before Easter meant the prices had gone up and the rooms were booked. And then we found this hostel.
The beds are a good price as the hostel is in an excellent location (at the center where all most important places are a walking distance away), provides clean sheets and breakfast is included (though the breakfast isn't special, you need to get downstairs asap before it all runs out!). The rooms are small, but there is 4 people per room so they are not overcrowded. Every person get their own locker and a key, which is quite handy. The bunkbeds are missing a ladder, so it is a bit of a challenge to scramble onto the top bunk without hitting the person beneath you with your foot.
Overall the hostel is minimalistic, but has a nice sassy charm with all the posters containing self-depreciating humour at the reception. It's literally just a place to sleep for the night while you spend the day out enjoying the charms of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AleksandraP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your review! Indeed we are basic, but clean and everything you need for a stay in Amsterdam! We hope to welcome you again soon when visiting Amsterdam again!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    422
    346
    132
    132
See reviews for
29
137
129
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Fresh sheets and towels everyday, breakfast is good, bar is reasonable, meal portions are big & great location! Only downside was someone was sick outside our dorm one night & it wasn't cleaned properly the next morning. Besides that, great stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Gemma,

Thanks for your review! We hope we can welcome you next time you're visiting Amsterdam!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Pros:

Friendly receptionist, standard buffet breakfast included, very central location, simple rooms, clean and a decent sleep!

Cons:

Horrific service at the bar (three times I waited, barman/maid served several people who arrived after me (on one occasion I had two lads waiting with me for a pint, and they called it out as well). On one of them I waited as a barmaid was stacking bottles, which surely can be left for 30 seconds while serving a pint?

Not bad overall for the money, but a bit of basic bar training would NOT go amiss!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikejones1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your review! Sorry to read our bar staff didn't serve you right away as it should be! Normally our bar staff works really hard to get everyone their drinks as soon as possible!

Greetings

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed for 2 nights and gotta say that from the moment I came in the hotel people where extremely helpful and friendly, getting on the bunk bed could be a bit problematic, cause they have no stairs, however the hotel will get ur forgivenes with the awesome breakfast buffet, and they also have a cellphone charger cabine, that can be used at no cost just by borrowing the swipe key from the reception. Surely will go back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melsje10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your review!

We are aware of the problems regarding our bunk beds, currently we are looking for a solution!

Hope to welcome you again soon!

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Good atmosphere, nice and helpful staff, great location and a pretty affordable price!
You cannot expect a lot of fancy things because its a hostel, but its perfect for young people. I went with my boyfriend for one night and we did are happy with the place. The bathroom in the room is only separate by a glass wall, so you dont have plenty of privacity.. if you gonna share the room with someone that u are not comfortable with, u must thing about it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeatrizB113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi!!

Thanks for sharing your thoughts! About our bathrooms: only a couple twin rooms have glass bathrooms. All our other rooms and dorms have closed / walled bathrooms!

We hope to welcome you and your friends again soon at our hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The worst hotel?? In someone's opinion, definitely not mine. May have looked like a youth hostel and when entering the communal eating area I pretty much expected someone to start clapping and dancing on the tables. I must say I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Cheap enough to sleep in and was in enough company to fill a dorm so no awkwardness between friends. Absolutely loved it and would thoroughly enjoyed it. The worst prepares you but came out the best stay in Amsterdam I've had. Will definitely stay again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
WOOHOOO EMMAA!!!!

Great to read you've enjoyed your stay at our hotel! Please recommend us to all your friends!

Looking forward to your visit again! Got new plans already?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

me and two friends stayed here from the 22nd may till the 25th of may for my friends 18th birthday, the hostel is no way near as bad as they make it out to be.

we had a very very clean room, the cleaners were lovely, changed our tales and bed linen for us everyday we was there, The staff was so friendly and made you feel really safe within the hostel. The club downstairs was so cheap and they made you feel very welcome.

The only downside was the breakfast that was included but to be honest all three of us are quite funny about eating things that were not sure what it is.

i would recommend staying here as it's cheap and a nice place to be.

Room Tip: Try not to book a room on the first floor as the music from the club downstairs is pretty loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaigeNesbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your great review! Great to read you've had a fantastic stay at our hotel!
About our breakfast: we serve freshly made pancakes, breads & several spreads, fruit, yoghurt, coffee & tea and boiled eggs. Next time you're staying at our hotel you could order extras at breakfast if you like!

See you!

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#8 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#47 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam

Property: Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
Address: Kerkstraat 136 /138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam 2.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing