We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hans Brinker Budget 'Hotel', I will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hans Brinker Budget 'Hotel', I will be back!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Well, we arrived then checked in and headed along the corridor with the many amusing posters slating the Hostel covering the walls. Braced and anticipating the worst, the door was opened to reveal a basic, clean and lovely room with a couple of bunk-beds and a locker each.

The next step, would the shower work? Would the toilet flush? Would the taps produce any water?
Yes, yes, yes! A good shower at that too!

The rooms were cleaned every morning and fresh towels provided. The bed was comfortable enough. Despite being opposite the bar, I found sleeping absolutely fine. Pretty quiet!

Continental breakfast was fine, the usual! Drinks and food were reasonably priced; Strongbow Gold tastes so good after only drinking beer for so long!

Free Wi-Fi in the bar was great too. They have a room to store your luggage on your final day after checking out which is great as it means you don't have to trail your luggage around ruining your final day. On that note, location is pretty good too. Main attractions are all relatively nearby.

I have to say, I was very impressed. Good marketing, tongue in cheek is always good!
Hans Brinker Budget 'Hotel', I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeH95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Lee, you will be back!!

We hope to see you again soon at our bar, drinking a cider at Happy Hour!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    446
    359
    134
    142
See reviews for
29
145
137
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I expected the worst when arriving at the Hans Brinker and first impressions met exactly that. There were cigarette butts all over the entrance floor and vomit inside the entrance and out. The eating and bar area was quite nice. Prices for drinks were reasonable in the bar and the food wasn't bad. The rooms were surprisingly clean and the beds were comfortable. The location was very good but some of the staff were very rude.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Benjamin,

Thanks for your review. Great to read you've liked your stay. Could you please send a detailed email about the staff who were rude (send it to thomas@hans-brinker.com)!

Thanks in advance!

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The location of this hostel is excellent. Situated within walking distance of main attractions and good access to tram. There is also a direct bus to and from the airport.

The hostel has a very youthful and party vibe. The bar and mini club downstairs are always busy. Happy hour is relatively good with 2 for 1 drinks.

The rooms aren't great but they're fine if you are spending most of the day out. They're quite small and the lack of ladder to the top bunk can sometimes prove troublesome. The bathroom isn't great as the pressure of the shower is weak. The rooms can get quite muggy and sleeping can be quite uncomfortable.

Food in the bar is well below average and personally think it is overpriced. Breakfast is included with the room and is pretty good considering it's 'free'. There is free Wifi available in the common area however it can be a hit and miss sometimes. I worked this out the hard way when I needed to print out my boarding pass and even they were having issues accessing the Wifi.

The staff are also very friendly.

Overall, a pleasant experience

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet night, make sure you get a room on higher floors. Beds near the window are als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Nathalie!

Thanks for writing a review about our hotel! Indeed we are a 'party vibe' hostel as we have our own bar and club!

We are aware of the difficulties of our wifi and looking for a solution!

Thanks!

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The only downside is the lack of security. They offer small lockers you can pay for daily downstairs... However, lockers in rooms are mostly dodgy and I wouldn't leave valuables in them. The bar and food was good, no kitchen though which wasn't so great. It is central and if you want to see Amsterdam it really is a great location. Wifi is very temperamental, but you can use it usually in bar.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Laura J. L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your review! We do provide safety deposit boxes at reception for your passport and more.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Very good location, the rooms were kinda small but they are very clean, nice breakfast with yogurt, hot coffe, milk, bread, cheese and cereal. It has a nice bar and party every day on the undergroud. I will come back again :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stefano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your review! Would be great seeing you again at our bar during Happy Hour!

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is the 3rd time I've stayed at this hostel and wouldn't pick anywhere else to stay when visiting Amsterdam!

The location is perfect and in walking distance of all the touristy places and bars/ clubs in the evening! Also very easy to get to from the airport via train/ tram!

The rooms are adequate - you get the basics but given the price you can't really ask for more! The only downside is the lack of ladder on the bunk beds and the pressure in the shower isn't amazing but again given it's budget accommodation I can't really complain!

The staff in the bar/ underground club are friendly and drinks are well priced! The cleaners were also very pleasant and provide clean towels/ make your beds daily! They also have free wifi on the ground floor which is useful!

To conclude, I'd recommend to everyone and have already booked Hans Brinker for my next trip to Amsterdam! :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdkmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi!

Great summary or our hotel and services!

Looking forward seeing you the 4th time at our hotel! :)

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is the ideal location to stay if you were to explore Amsterdam at its best. The rooms were very standard, there's no need to be in there other than to sleep.
I found the bar area and reception had some interesting marketing promotions that was rather funny and pointing out the worst of the place.
Many in my tour group said this was the least liked hotel they stay in. It didn't phase my stay.
The staff were engaging, notably one of the cleaning staff who went beyond their way to enjoy the best of my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your review! Great to read you've enjoyed staying at our hotel!

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#11 of 234 in Amsterdam
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ClinkNOORD
#8 of 234 in Amsterdam
887 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#44 of 234 in Amsterdam
480 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#10 of 234 in Amsterdam
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam

Property: Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
Address: Kerkstraat 136 /138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 234 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam 2.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing