We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hortus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hortus
Ranked #236 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

the hotel was clean, and just what we were looking for.
however on getting to the hotel we noticed we had two single beds, instead of the double we asked for. when my boyfriend asked one of the hotel employees, totally deadpan, he answered 'you just push them together and get a single bed'.

other than this slight hiccup everything was lovely. breakfast was simple bread, cereal, coffee etc. they had plenty of information in the reception, and most of the staff were lovely and welcoming.
would come back again, provided we get a double bed!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betasatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    169
    89
    58
    35
See reviews for
27
175
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Myself and 8 other friends went to Amsterdam for our Stag do and stayed at the Hortus Hotel. We stayed in the room of 12 (6 bunk beds) and we ALL agreed that it was perfect. The owners were extremely friendly and accomodating. It suited our needs perfectly. It is a 10 minute walk to the heart of Amsterdam also ideal for what we wanted. Everything was a described so we were not disappointed. We must apologise if we made too much noise between the hours of 6pm-9pm and appreciate the staffs tolerance! I must say this made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callummw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordengland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

ended up here after hotel i originally booked had double booked our room. And what a bonus for us that was . hotel hortus was brill we stayed for 3 day and enjoyed ever minute staff was so friendly room small but clean and cosy , bath rooms although shared and on landing was also very clean. a great breakfast. every morning and free tea and coffee all day witch saves us loads of money as they varie from 2.5 euro to 4 euro in most coffee shops . would definitly recommened to other travelers and will be back july 2011 myself already booked

Room Tip: 10 mins from central station nice quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionabennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

The staff were very nice!
They provide good breakfast; breads, cereals.
Coffee is available until 11 pm.
Stairs were a bit scary and the room was very small, but that's good enough for the price in Amsterdam.
Shared bathroom was clean.
There are computers with good internet connection nearby the receptionist desk.

Unfortunately, my sleep quality on that day wasn't so good because the people staying in the next room were very noisy, screaming and knocking doors around 3AM. I know this is not the hotel's fault, but just be aware that you can easily hear noises from outside your room.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muuuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

i went with 9 other people on a 4 day trip i only have one bad point about this hotel and that was the stairs which i fell down twice although your in amsterdam so you get used it. the staff were very helpful and really nice also. its only a 10 min walk to dam square. we got what we paid for and was happy :o) oh and take a pillow with you as you only get one and its really soft so your head just sinks into it

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank changinglocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

Very clean and handy with the tram just a couple of mins away, breakfast good with a help your self style.
Room was very basic but clean so for the price can't grumble.
However both nights where very noisy and especially when the the place was filled up with noisy teenagers on a school trip the second night!! adding to this all the doors need a good oil as they squeak like mad and a bit of sanding here and there to stop them needing to be banged so loudly, if the warden was about to tell people to shut up this would have made it so much nicer! on the sunday night when it was quiet it was like a different place!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowan5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

This hotel is by no means luxurious, but it is a great budget hotel. If you're only staying for a night or two (like me), then you will be fine. The hotel (which is really like a hostel) is located in a quiet neighborhood, but you're only 10-15 minutes from every major "touristy" place/site. For the most part the hostel was very clean and well-kept, although I did notice a few water stains in the ceiling of our room. The restroom and shower area were very clean (it is community style, but there are only 3-4 rooms on each floor). Breakfast is included, which was pretty good...boiled eggs, meat, cheese, cereal, bread, coffee, and tea. Also, free access to their internet and computers. The staff is very friendly, they were so willing to help and tell us how to get anywhere we asked. Also, everyone is Amsterdam speaks English, so no worries if you don't speak Dutch! One last thing, it can get very hot, so beware if you're traveling during the summer.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXLonghorn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#208 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#218 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#249 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#293 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#270 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#201 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hortus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hortus

Property: Hotel Hortus
Address: Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hortus 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hortus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hortus Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing