We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hortus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hortus
Ranked #237 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here on a trip around Europe between 16th and 18th June 2014. It had a very hostel-like feel about it and we had a great time. The bathroom and bedroom were both clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was filling. We were able to come and go as we pleased and we felt as though we were in a very safe area. Hotel Hortus is in a fantastic location and for the good price you are able to walk into the centre of Amsterdam (and in fact all parts of Amsterdam) very quickly, you won't even need to use trams if you don't mind walking. The staff were really helpful and spoke great English. When we arrived we had to leave our bags in the corridor which we didn't feel 100% comfortable with as anyone could have taken something from them and they weren't in a locked room. The breakfast consisted of coffee or tea, bread, jams, spreads and croissants. An important thing to consider is what kind of trip you are undertaking. I would certainly recommend Hotel Hortus to travellers wanting a quiet, safe and comfortable stay, people coming to Amsterdam for the obvious reasons with friends, and anyone wanting a cheap place to stay. Nonetheless, if you're travelling for a more waited upon holiday, spend a bit more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    165
    88
    57
    34
See reviews for
27
172
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel Hortus is the ideal place for a stay in Amsterdam, all the staff here are very welcoming and informative and cannot do enough to help you. Breakfast is a bonus which not many other places include in the price, and is really good. We rented bikes from the hotel and the price was much cheaper than all of the other prices we saw (10 euros compared to average of around 15 elsewhere) and the bikes were really high quality and faultless. The staff guided us on how to get here we wanted to go and made suggestions on nice places to go.

Rooms are very spacious, beds very comfy. Would happily recommend anyone to stay here of all ages.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed there from 13th to 16th June 2014. Can't fault the place. Cheap clean and excellent location. On arrival the guy from Oakland on the front desk was very helpful and drew on a map for us the best places to go. The other american guy ordered a pizza for us and brought it to the room. Rooms were very clean and the shower was great. The location is excellent, 5 minute walk from the red light district and if you go here you should try food at Rembrandts Corner. Really really nice. We went round Central station area of Amsterdam and we really didn't like it. Hortus is located in a quiet street near some good shops and as I say quite close to the red light. Were going back to Dam in June next year and I won't even look for anywhere else I will be booking Hortus.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

A friend and I recently returned from a 2 night stay at Hotel Hortus, we stayed in a private twin room on the ground floor and it was a lot more than I expected. The place was extremely clean and the beds were so comfy. Our room had a sink, tv, wardrobe and an electronic safe.

Communal toilet and shower were very clean. Staff really friendly and helpful. If I were to stay in Amsterdam I would definitely stay again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lottiedavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent a night in Amsterdam and stayed at the hotel. Had a tough them finding the place, not very accurate information by google map. But its really easy to locate if you take the Tram No 9 from Amsterdam Central and stop at Artis. The hotel is abt 3 mins walk from there.

Very friendly staff. Our room came with breakfast but since we were leaving early the next day, they allowed us to have breakfast when we arrived. Before we checked in.

They gave us tips on the moving around Amsterdam. The environment is cosy and informal.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank csoosai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

the hortus is a basic hostel style accomodation, perfect for a few nights.
we had a room for 4, which had 3 bunk beds shower and sink. the rooms where a good size and clean.
location is good and near the tram or a short walk to the attractions.
breakfast was good, but basic, toast, hams, cereals, hot drinks etc.
the staff at hortus made us welcome and felt very comfortable comming and going, with no cerfew!
great place to stay on a budget.

Room Tip: stairs to top floor are very steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Most of the time cheap hotels can be unclean, uninviting,dark and dingy, but Hotel Hortus, wasn't like that at all. Comfy beds, good showers, good breakfast, nice helpful staff & close to dam central..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank davethebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#210 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#265 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#245 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#206 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hortus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hortus

Property: Hotel Hortus
Address: Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hortus 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Hortus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hortus Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing