We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OPEN UR EYES TRIP TO THE DAM”
Review of Hotel Hortus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hortus
Ranked #226 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Myself my partner and another couple went to the dam, the hotel was'nt a 5 star but it was certinaly excatly everything we neeeded the place to be, clean and tidy, smoker friendly that means weed too ( we came n went as we wished there was always some 1 there to help us if we needed, Brent was quite funny and friendly too gave us a map n some good tips. I didnt have a remote for the (tv im picking now)but brent sorted it np free tea n coffee all day no cleaning ur own cups lol if ur going to dam you should stay here for its the best value . THE REMOTE GUY !!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauragaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hortus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2010

Stayed in the hotel (room 5) and the stairs looked grim at first but there wasnt a lot, missed breakfast every day so cant comment there, the owner was laid back and wasnt pushy for payment. Hardly heard any noise from other guests, room was basic with double bunks although they were comfortable.
The hotel was clean enough and the area it is in is quite nice, dont go if you are looking for luxury or creature comforts because there aren't any, all in all a good place to stay if going on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartDC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

went there after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and nothing disappointed me.

noisy? some times.
clean? shared facilities were always clean
location? tram no 9 is one street away and 15 minutes to Nieuwmarkt if you are willing to go "en foot"
best breakfast
and you'll get private room for a cheaper price than any other hostel's dorm price pp.

if you want to wake up with the songs of birds from hortus botanicus and dont expect too much, it will be a great place for you...

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank brannant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

This place is excellent for what it does. The rooms are as bare as you could imagine, the service is practically none-existent, and it epitomises the term 'no-frills'. It has a communal area which functions as breakfast room, kitchen, reception, and lounge area but absolutely does the job as you're not going to spend much time here. It's basically a hostel but with private rooms and shared bathroom facilities. Don't stay here if you're with family, on a romantic break etc. Do stay here if you're a traveller, backpacker, young(ish) etc. I've been to Amsterdam quite a few times and it's the best place I've stayed in terms of value for money.

Good stuff:
Cheapest in Amsterdam, pretty much
Has all facilities you need (i.e.bed, toilet, shower)
Has safe in room, if you're bothered about stuff like this
Breakfast included (bread and a toaster on each table, coffee machine, get on with it yourself)
Vending machine which sells cans of beer
Ridiculously lax 'smoking' policy
Laconic staff (doubtless due to the above)
No curfew
Decent area of town, nice neighbourhood near the zoo
2 PCs in communal area offering free internet

The not-quite-so good
Possibly 5 minutes' walk too far from the main areas of town but I'm being a bit churlish here and it's definitely worth it
Stairs are dangerously steep, but then they are in every place like this in Amsterdam

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AH81Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I went to the hotel in the first week of August and didnt like the place,

Negatives
1. Its a little far from the main city (DAM Square, Rembrant Sqaure etc). You wll have to take a tram for every plance.
2. I was on the 3rd floor, there are NO LIFTS. the stairs are so small and so steep. U need to be very Careful.
3.Rooms are very very small, 2 beds cannot fit in. We had a bunker bed.
4. There are about 6 rooms on each floor and each room in very very small. You can actually hear people speaking in the other room, and considering its amstredam people usually do not sleap at all.

Positives
1. Cost is not very high . For 2 people i has to shell about 65 EURO for a night for 1 room with shared bathroom.
2. The only sight to see closeby is the ARTIS zoo which is like 2 minutes walk.
3. It has 2 PCs which has free internet in the common area.

we had an early train so didnt try the breakfast which was included in the 65 Euro for 2 people package.

AVOID if not on a Tight budget. Recommeded if going in a big group and tight budget.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeingReal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

There was just two of us. It was great value for money and was exactly what we wanted as was really close to where everything was happening. The staff were really friendly. I sat one night and spoke for hours to Brent he's really really nice :)
The room was clean and we had a little t.v as well which we didn't expect. Coffee was amazing and they had to turn the machine off at night but it was there from like 7 in the morning.
It was really good and we actually spend quite a lot of the time in the room. The beds where really comfortable :) and although rooms where available for smoking in they did not smell like smoke at all.
Windows worked perfectly fine. We were in room number 2 :) and we thought it was great

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxemilysxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We stayed here after staying at numerous places in the past and compared to all of them it was a hundred times better and less than a fraction of the price. The rooms were very well looked after and very clean and tidy, the staff were amazingly helpful and the whole experience was brilliant. Loved every second and I will stay here every single time I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkeyglands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#228 of 371 in Amsterdam
289 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#195 of 371 in Amsterdam
476 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#270 of 371 in Amsterdam
292 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#225 of 371 in Amsterdam
116 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#183 of 371 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hortus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hortus

Address: Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £54 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hortus 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hortus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hortus Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing