We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a very nice hotel if your looking for an average price”
Review of Hotel Abba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Abba
Ranked #200 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall a very nice hotel if your looking for an average price”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed staying here ,very happy with the three beded room,beds where comfy, enjoyed the breakfast very much even better that it was a self service.
Would defo recommand and would come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hollie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    203
    130
    35
    23
See reviews for
33
153
66
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Regular hotels were so expensive this time around so I decided to go for B&B. Hotel Abba's rate is only fraction of cost of full service hotel. Took bus 197 right outside of AMS, paid 4 Euros and get into Leidseplein, which is the centre of town. Walked three blocks and arrived at the hotel. Too early to check in so the receptionist offered to store my luggage and offered me coffee before I venture out into the city. When I returned to check in, room was ready. Has to pay in full for the duration of my stay in cash. Has a back room with balcony looking into the courtyard. Room has a heater but is not air-conditioned, but windows could be opened. The room is more like a dormitory room than a hotel room, furnished with a twin bed, a desk and chair, and TV. I have booked a room with private bath and shower, which is well worth the 5 Euros difference than sharing a bath with others. Hotel is only 5 blocks from Museumplein where all the major museums are located. There is also a tram stop right outside of hotel to take you closer towards the train station and other tourist attractions like Dam Square or the Flowers Market. Vondel Park is only two blocks away and it is a wonderful oasis in the middle of the city. There is also a grocery store right under the hotel for a quick snack, drinks, or fresh fruits. The hotel also serves a wonderful complimentary breakfast in a clean and spacious breakfast room with warm boiled eggs, cold cuts with cheese, sliced tomatoes and cucumbers, an assortment of bread and cereals, juices, milk, coffee, and a variety of fresh fruits. Free WiFi is provided in the guest rooms, although connection is a bit of hit and miss, sometimes there is no problem while other times it may disconnect every five minutes.
Staff is overall very friendly and try to be helpful when approached.
Overall this is a wonderful hotel for someone who does not want to break the bank and get to stay in a safe and reasonably well rounded accommodation.

Room Tip: Back room looking into courtyard is quiet. Stairs is steep and narrow, so if you have difficulties n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coolandyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Very good location near the centre of Amsterdam , near to the most important museums, very good tram connections to the centre and to the railway station.
Very clean , big bright room , basically furnished but with all necessary.Be sure to ask for a backside room which is very quiet and has a nice wiew to an inner court )
I had two power outlets for my rechargeable batteries and for my phone.
The breakfast is basic but fresh and good quality.
The staff of the hotel is very friendly and ready to help .
Would definitely stay there again and recomend it to every traveler in search of a good hotel for a reasonable price ( for Amsterdam which is relatively expensive !)

Room Tip: ask for a backside room ( I explained why )
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexandrinatatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location, not far walk from attractions and just outside the tram stop. Rooms were basic but worth the money. Receptionist was lovely and put up with a lot from us! Smoking in the rooms is a plus and a must for people on a smokers holiday!! Stairs are a challenge but it made the hotel more fun and different! We had two rooms so had the floor to ourselves but i know otherwise you might have to share a bathroom, which i wouldnt fancy. Cant complain about anything else, great value!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themaskofzoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytilene, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Hotel Abba is a decent, low price place, a bit far from the center of the city which means a lot of walking or tram. It offers a nice breakfast and very warm rooms. We were given a room at the top floor so we had to climb many stairs which is common in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Lower floors. Less steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Hotel is nice, clean and comfortable. What gets your attention is the location that is excellent, near the main streets where you gonna find all the pubs and parks, museums and tran (tre local train). Not very var from the train station as well.

Room Tip: I got a double room on the street side. I was actually june 2010.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgustec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Amsterdam is very expensive and this was one of the few places we could find within our budget that had a bathroom included. I believe some rooms had shared bathrooms down the hall.

It's not luxury but you get a pretty decent place for the price. There's a supermarket right below the hotel, which makes it very convenient. Also a tram #1 stop right across the street. The room and bathroom were clean.

There's no elevator, only a very windy, narrow, steep staircase. The girl at the front desk was very sweet and helpful. There was another guy there who wasn't as friendly.

The hotel is very close to all the museums, about 20-30 minute walk to red light district/dam square. Also a few minutes walk to a bus stop that goes directly to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sauciehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#233 of 368 in Amsterdam
436 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#219 of 368 in Amsterdam
277 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#179 of 368 in Amsterdam
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#212 of 368 in Amsterdam
220 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#301 of 368 in Amsterdam
636 reviews
Kooyk Hotel
#217 of 368 in Amsterdam
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abba

Property: Hotel Abba
Address: Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Abba 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abba is a one star budget hotel located smack bang in the middle of all the action. We are within walking distance of the main going out area Leidseplein, the museum district, the famous canals and Amsterdam's largest park the Vondel park. So wether you're here to party, explore Amsterdam's culture, stroll along the scenic canals or relax in the park along side the locals, you're in the right place for it! Hotel Abba has been offering proper Dutch hospitality with an international touch for over 20 years! Our selection of 38 rooms offers the perfect base to explore this wonderful city. All prices include a fabulous breakfast served from 08:00am until 10:00am. We offer FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and have kettle's, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards available in reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Abba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing