We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”
Review of Hotel Beursstraat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Beursstraat
Ranked #343 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Like first, the location is absolutelly great. The prices of the accommodation for Amsterdam are more than friendly. I have been here with group of 8 friends. Nobody of us complain about the accommodation. Furniture is old but ok, sice of rooms is small but ok, bathroom is absolutelly ok (everything works), heating works well too. We used the rooms for sleeping and the sleeping quality is good. Just to compare, two years ago we were in 4* hotel, price was minimal double and the accommodation was very similar, i can say, no difference, ok, 4* hotel had TV in room.
Hotel Beursstraat = you get, what you pay for, dont expect 5* servis for few EURs. I dont have problem to stay here again. Good location for exploring the city.
p.s. We got very late check out for free, great bonus. Big thx to helpfull stuff :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lubox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    42
    92
    62
    112
See reviews for
9
99
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The location of this hotel is fantastic, you're less than a 5 minute walk away from the red light district, Central Station, Dam square etc.
We just wanted somewhere really cheap and centrally located as we were only there for one night to have a few beers and watch Ajax v Real Madrid.
The hotel is very outdated but clean, it's fine to go with "the lads" if you're just looking for a place to crash but if you're going with your partner then pay the extra money and stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmer1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

When I got there I thought I would kill my travel agent whom I always trusted. I am not used to luxurious conditions but that was too much. It was extremely small and old, the bathroom was tiny and clean but smelled like hospital. It was frequeshly cold in the room. Of course no hairdryer though every place I went before had at least one and I didn't bother to take one. We had to move our bed from the windows and it became a bit better. Also had to ask the staff to turn on the heating which later on heated us more than well. As for the bed I was disgusted by it. The blanked was like in prison and only a small, doubtfully clean sheet separated my body from it. I spent there 3 nights and now I am so happy to be home in a clean nice bed:)
To sum up, location is great and the hotel is quite good for its ranking. For me it was not pleasant. I hope a lot of people would share my opinion. Definitely not a nice place for couples to stay. The place is a hole.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hija_de_puta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

Altogether there were 5 of us, all guys and by no means accustomed to high standards, but this place was downright terrible. We stayed for just the one night (thankfully) but that was more than enough to get a good feeling for the place.
The rooms were filthy. The person that had made the beds had obviously done so while smoking as cigarette ash was under the covers and between the sheets. I ended sleeping in my sleeping bag on top of the blankets. The location is the only positive here as it is very central and walking distance from the train station.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I booked Hotel Beursstraat through a travel agency online, i then read the reviews and thought what have i let myself in for, but could'nt change the booking. and im glad we didnt as we arrived to find the hotel in a great location , very central , we arrived in the morning and it was no problem getting in our room early and the reception man was very polite and asked if everything was ok . yes the room is very basic, bed , shower , toilet , sink , but the shower was powerful, the bathroom was clean the bed was comfortable and clean as i checked the sheets before entering. the hotel was quiet , very quiet for a central location. the towels were a bit small more like a hand towel but thats my only complaint. we were able to leave our bags for the hotel to look after for a few hours. so all in all a very nice stay . you get what you pay for and the staff are very nice.

Room Tip: i would say stay on top floor, but it will be a walk up some windy stairs. we satyed on floor 1 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HANNAH R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Me and 5 of my friends, all typical, 18 years olds (mixed boys and girls) booked a holiday to Amsterdam with a travel agent. We wanted something very central, basic and cheap. However, booking hotel Beursstraat was a huge mistake. We didn't read the reviews until after we had booked but we thought it couldn't be as bad as the reviews say. They were.
We saw one review saying they had rats but we just assumed it was an exaggeration. It wasn't. There was a MOUSE in our room on the last night!!!! After I confronted the so called 'staff' at reception, they told me they weren't prepared to do anything about it. I carried on asking him what was he going to do he just ignored me and walked away. The most miserable man you could ever meet. Does't really surprise me though, he is working at Hotel Beursstraat.
We booked a triple room and it was so small, even for three young girls.
- Nowhere to put our suitcases
- Dirty cover over our bed
- Didn't clean our sheets or room once in 5 nights
- Lumpy, dirty pillows
- one plug for the all three of us
- We were given three hand towels for 3 people for 5 nights

The stairs were an issue, but they would be more of an issue with older people or families with young children. We were only in room number 18 and we had to climb about 4 of the steep staircases.

Hotel Beursstraat is classed as a 1* hotel. I don't see how it has even managed to get 1*. I know hostels that are cleaner than this with better reception staff.
We are not a fussy group, just 6 teenagers wanting a basic clean hotel with half decent staff.
DO NOT BOOK HERE YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!!

Room Tip: You don't have a choice in what type of room you would like apart from how many people are stayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oeiras, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

For what you pay, this is a very nice hotel in Amsterdam. Nice staff, rooms cleaned with frequency, towels changed, etc.

The only problem is the stairs and a bit noise from the street at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#300 of 368 in Amsterdam
636 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#234 of 368 in Amsterdam
436 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#315 of 368 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#293 of 368 in Amsterdam
701 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#250 of 368 in Amsterdam
283 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 368 in Amsterdam
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beursstraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beursstraat

Property: Hotel Beursstraat
Address: Beursstraat 7, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Beursstraat 1*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Beursstraat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beursstraat Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing