We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not worth the money though”
Review of Tourist Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tourist Inn
Ranked #280 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, not worth the money though”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed two days on this hotel, and if it weren't because I love Amsterdam, this would have been a horrible experience.
We rented the private room with bathroom, The bathroom was really dirty, hairs, dirt, and the mirror dirty, and the walls of the bathroom it was like someone spread butter all over it, it was greasy and yellowish.
The windows were equally greasy and clearly haven't been washed in a long time, if ever.
We talked to the receptionist and manager (as he was the receptionist the next day) and even though the manager seemed to agree with our complaint, nothing got properly clean for the second night.
The WiFi signal was pretty much nonexistent in our room, impossible to check emails even.
Breakfast is not amazing, it's just ok-average.
The location of this hotel is great, but if you are looking for a clean basic room, you can do way better than this for the price. Maybe the shared rooms are worth the price, but don't pay the extra for the private.
If you are looking for a hostel it's probably not bad, if you need a private room stay away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimé A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    40
    31
    17
    32
See reviews for
5
32
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
Level 6 Contributor
510 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I loved this place. I had a single room with a very comfortable bed and funky city-scape wallpaper. The hotel staff were really kind, and the breakfast was delicious. The morning music in the breakfast nook was, um, thrilling for such an early hour, but the front desk guy had been up most of the night, so it made sense that he wanted some tunes to see him through until sunrise.

There's a laundry place right around the corner that changes almost nothing. This place is close to everything - maybe a five minute walk to dam square, and probably 10-ish to the train station.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDMG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

It's a small hotel but it has a lift, which helped with my many bags, and a reasonable breakfast. The receptionist was really helpfull and gave me a lot of information about the region and about the attractions that I wanted to vist. The room is really, really small and the bathroom is out of the room. The hotel is located in the Red Light District which I thought was pretty cool! The only problem is that many young hosted there arrived during all night drunk and doing much noise including of vomiting in their bathrooms. The apartaments are NOT soundproof.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

At first arriving, the hostel seemed pretty good. The location is central and close to the Grand Centraal Station, although the downside was that it was close to a lot of coffeeshops. The main building, where the front desk is, was in a modern building with A/C (which was nice on a hot summer day). However, when they gave us the keys to our room (4-bed with shared bath), they told us our room was in a separate building on the other side of the back street. This second building had NO A/C (even though they advertised A/C in the hostel's website) and had one window that looked over the hallway. Because of this, there was no flow of air. Even when it was cool outside in the evenings, it was hot and stagnent in the room. There was also a brothel right next to the second building where our room was at. The people staying in the rooms around us were EXTREMELY LOUD all night long. They were slamming doors, yelling, and running up and down the stairs until 4 in the morning. The walls are paper thin, so every little noise shook our entire room. Even with my ear plugs, I could not sleep due to the noise. The front desk clerk came and told them to quiet down, but unfortunately it did not help much.

I would NOT recommend to stay at this hostel, nor in this area of town. Sure, it is central, but it's too full of your typical American weed-smoking tourists that are just looking to party. If you're going to Amsterdam for its history and architectural beauty, I would recommend staying elsewhere and paying more for a nicer stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with a private bathroom. Confirm that your room has A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Rather expensive for what I thought was a youth hostel but is more like a hotel. Awesome amenities and breakfast as well as free wifi. Near the red light district and Ann frank house which is a good location

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellewoodruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Me and my husband just came back from a trip to Amsterdam and we stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. We had a double room, which in fact is a single with a large bed, but very uncomfortable. We barely could change clothes, the room is very very small. The bathroom instead was very clean and breakfast was great (good coffee, eggs, cheese, ham, sweets). Good, but make sure if you stay longer, you choose a better hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianaGorgiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Awesome Place. Rooms are clean, but a little small. Washrooms are also very small, especially the showers, but very clean.

Breakfast is also good. Location is awesome. People at the reception are very helpful and always willing to help. I walked throughout Amsterdam without any trams or cycle because of the location of this hostel, although i did land up walking a lot...

Overall a great and comfortable Stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taruneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#323 of 367 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#170 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,510 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#167 of 367 in Amsterdam
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
#15 of 229 in Amsterdam
887 reviews
Centrum
Eve's Guesthouse
Eve's Guesthouse
#225 of 335 in Amsterdam
25 reviews
Centrum
Tulipana Residence
Tulipana Residence
#289 of 335 in Amsterdam
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Inn

Property: Tourist Inn
Address: Singel 69, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 262
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Amsterdam
Brian Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Brian Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing