We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blessed Brian!”
Review of Tourist Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tourist Inn
Ranked #280 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
uk
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Blessed Brian!”
Reviewed 13 October 2005

Cheap and you get a free breakfast and free internet. Had a double room - really nice canal view. Room was small but clean. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Good value for money and excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caroline456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    40
    31
    17
    32
See reviews for
5
32
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2005

This was the best place in A'dam to stay and for 25 euros a night the best value too! If you want to stay in a clinical impersonal (and expensive!) hotel this isn't it, but there are plenty of those...(did i mention expensive 80-160 euros per night) Anyways these people know why you came to A'dam in the first place so they do try to make you feel comfortable... Just remember your key and if you are travelling with someone else make sure you travel together or you might be locked out! (the doors are locked after 11 i think...) Thanx....Brent from Canada

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spacemanspliffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 August 2005

What a pleasant surprise to find such an affordable hotel with everything we needed, without having to ride the bus to get everywhere. It had cleanliness, free internet, free coffee, friendly helpful staff, good breakfasts, and character It is situated right on the Singel Canal and is walking distance from the train station and downtown. Since this is an old canal house, the beds are tiny and the stairs are steep. They were putting new tiles in the hallway bathroom shower while we were there. Yes, we did meet potsmoking people there, and I was nervous because I am over 50, but we felt very welcome. I would certainly go back.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 June 2005

Lets get things straight, This place is great if you don’t mind some compromise.

I stayed on the Top Floor (Third Floor) Room 12, which I must say had its advantage..

On the good side :

No People traipsing past your door when you eventually get back (My Room).
It’s a Room
It’s Dry
It’s Secure
The people are friendly enough
It’s Cheep
The Sheets are clean
Clean Toilets


On the Bad Side :

Three Single beds and a Matress in the room
In need of decoration
Beds look like they come from a prison
Stairs are so steep near the top they are more like a carpeted ladder on steroids.
You can have breakfast and Drinks if you do it yourself and buy the ingredients.
The Shower just has a small shelf to put all your stuff on.

Personally I will stay elsewhere next time I am over in the dam.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 May 2005

The bedrooms were grotty. I was on the top floor and the stairs were like climbing a sheer rock face, I had climb up them on my hands and knees as they were not wide enough to take my foot. Wardrobe just an empty shell without a rail. I got two fried eggs thrown at me for breakfast. Worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Do yoursef a favour give it a miss!!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 February 2005

the owners of this hotel own another just down the street. we stayed there almost a month... it is a great place to have a home base for a long term visit. they are very sweet people, helpful, and there are lots of freebies included in the price of your room... i would stay here time and time again...

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lampeter ceredigion wales
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2005

This place is brilliant like staying with friends I will go there every time I am in Amsterdam. They are so friendly they helped us out a lot. I did wake up for breakfasts and they were great. When we left we were all friends. Lovely friendly and fun!! I love Hotel Brian :)

Helpful?
2 Thank ssax2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#323 of 367 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#170 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,510 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#165 of 367 in Amsterdam
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
#15 of 229 in Amsterdam
887 reviews
Centrum
Eve's Guesthouse
Eve's Guesthouse
#224 of 335 in Amsterdam
25 reviews
Centrum
Tulipana Residence
Tulipana Residence
#289 of 335 in Amsterdam
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Inn

Property: Tourist Inn
Address: Singel 69, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 262
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Amsterdam
Brian Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Brian Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing