We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst place ive ever stayed!”
Review of Tourist Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tourist Inn
Ranked #280 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 16 September 2009

shocking accomodation, dirty, smelly, basic, there were stains on sheets, bedbugs,rubbish in room when we arrived, i definately would never stay there again! when we arrived, we unpacked our clothes and went out, we took all our valuables with us....thank god, as wen we came back an hour later, someone had been in our room and taken our perfume, the staff were rude, especially the cleaner who i suspect was the perfume thief...i cant comment on the breakfast, as i wouldnt dare consume anything prepared on those disgusting premises!! amsterdam was a lovely place, just a shame it was spoilt by the accomodation

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fletchy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2009

I stayed here for three nights. When I arrived the receptionist was friendly and welcoming. Stairs are very narrow and hard to walk up especially with luggage. Entered the room and the door hit the bed it was so small. Room was very basic had a double bed and a sink thats about it. Walls are very thin and can hear the rooms next door. Was bitten by a bug dont know what one lol but left some nice itchy marks for me and my boyfriend. Was not too keen on the shared toilet was smelly and hardly cleaned shower was ok. Did not wake up for breakfast attempted to on the last day and all the tables were full so no breakfast. Overall I believe the hotel is ok good value for money what do you expect really. I recommend it for friends though not couples.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We reserved a room at Hotel Brian, having read most of the reviews on this site. We found the place to be utterly smoker-unfriendly. The stairs were too steep, the rooms too small, the walls too thin, the toilet too smelly, the shower too drity, the view disgusting (on a cigarette-butt riddled courtyard)... given all these inconveniences, anything more than €10 a night is a rip-off. After our first night there, we promptly checked out and moved to a hotel on Damrak, "De Korenaer". The three-star hotel provided an en-suite WC and shower, as well as a TV and a view on Damrak, for a better price than Hotel Brian.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twosheds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We were 2girls travelling together. Given that this is Amsterdam, this hostel was quite safe. Despite having a red light shop a few doors down, it wasn't as "active" at night as the other streets. Truly no frills. Bunk beds. Friendly staff. Toilet smelled a bit musty because it didn't have ventilation. Overall, really good value for money. But if I had to go Amsterdam again, I would book in advance so that I can get some place else for the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AerialUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

My husband and I had searched for a hotel to spend only 1 night for our transit flight between China and Brazil. After read all reviwes in this website, we found this hotel, that, most of people said: clean, good location and great staff. After that, we decided stay at The Brian.

Ok, let see the facts:
PROS:
1) indeed, the location of Brian is great. 10 minutes walk from central station, first canal;
2) rooms are tight, no private shower, no private WC, but clean sheets (they really use softner)
3) staff: friendly and receptive people.

CONS:
1) stairs are not luggage friendly;
2) if you dont smoke (any kind of), dont go there.
3) no private shower, no private WC

The hotel is ok, but not for couples, I think. Some porno pictures on the walls (ok, this is Amsterdam), but, if you're going as couple I would suggest you to look to other places.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank designative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Hey everyone at hotel brian its the swifts here!
loved staying at hotel brian wicked breakfasts! excellent staff really enjoyed our stay there.
we were made to feel very welcome, brent gave us a lot of advice and told us where to find the best coffee shops and cheap places to eat, we were also able to use the vapouriser whenever we wanted which was wicked!
this hotel is ideal for a cheap weekend or week.
would definitely come again fantastic location two streets or so away from the main strip (damrak)
Fantastic staff

cheers for a wicked holiday guys hope to see you guys very soon
Emily & Matt Swift

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank emnmatt1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

well, where do i shtart...
shcrambled or fried.... that is the breakfast choice.
i've climbed easier mountains, i now have calfs like house bricks because of the incline on the stairs. don't get locked out of your room because nobody will come to your help because of two twelve hour shiftsh, you'll have to hope there is another room open for you to find shelter on a floor... this is all true. don't leave razor blades out as when we were there there was a phanton eye brow trimmer. We were on a stag do and i strongly believe that hostel is kitted out for this sort of trip and this only. on a good note the location is spot on.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BigErn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
489 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#66 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
#12 of 248 in Amsterdam
966 reviews
Hostelle
#34 of 248 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Inn

Address: Singel 69, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £22 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 262
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Amsterdam
Brian Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Brian Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing