We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Brian is fab”
Review of Tourist Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tourist Inn
Ranked #281 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
“Oh Brian is fab”
Reviewed 10 February 2006

Why? Because it is clean & affordable. Luxurious? No but perfect if you plan to spend most of your time trampling around the eccentric city. Rooms were very clean, staff were extremely friendly and cooked us breakfast among other things that were offered. We had a great view and it was conveniently located to everything in the city. I loved it. I do not ever stay in ------ motels & I was satisfied. It is worth the money and has character. Small, yes but I would stay again.

Stayed July 2001
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    40
    31
    17
    32
See reviews for
5
32
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 February 2006

Just got back from a very enjoyable 3 night stay at the Brian.

Great value budget accommodation...walkable to everything you would want to walk to.

The staff are all very knowledgeable and great fun to boot.

Recommended for those looking for cheap, friendly central accomm in the dam.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 February 2006

Don't normally write reviews but I saw that this hotel had got a bit of a slating from some people so thought I'd better redress the balance.
YES the rooms ARE small, and YES the stairs ARE steep...but it's budget accomodation, in the heart of where you want to be in Amsterdam! It's walking distance from the station, two minutes from some of the best coffeeshops you're going to find and the staff are VERY welcoming and friendly. What more do you want???
If you're after luxury you pay 5 times as much and go elsewhere...there is no pretence at Hotel Brian, they offer cheap and clean accomodation for people who want an affordable trip to Amsterdam.
The guy running it when we were there kept us happily entertained by just being him - open, down to earth and with a pythonesque kind of humour...and very helpful.
Well recommended to anyone who isn't too whiney! - have fun!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2005

Unfortunately for us my boyfriend and I had a very bad experience whilst staying at this hotel (hostel). We had money taken from our locked room whilst at breakfast. Staff say that the safes in the rooms are broken and don't work but our's mysteriously was opened when returning to our room. We gather that whoever took the money had a key to the room then deposited the cash into the locked safe (they are always locked for this reason, hence the story they don't work) so as not to be seen/caught with the cash on them when exiting our room. Then when you leave the hotel for the day as we did someone then comes back into your locked room and unlocks the safe with their code and takes the cash. Fortunately for us the safe was not relocked properly and we put 2 and 2 together knowing we had not been able to unlock and access the safe ourselves. When reported to the police they were very aware of this scenario. No surprise whatsoeva to them, however staff had told us that they've never heard of it happening before earlier that day! They also have 2 other properties that may be mentioned when you are poached on the street outside central station (we later found out that this is illegal in amsterdam) Do yourself a favour and stay away, even if it seems a bargain price at 50 euro per night, it cost us sooo much more!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brockovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

uk
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2005

Cheap and you get a free breakfast and free internet. Had a double room - really nice canal view. Room was small but clean. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Good value for money and excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caroline456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2005

This was the best place in A'dam to stay and for 25 euros a night the best value too! If you want to stay in a clinical impersonal (and expensive!) hotel this isn't it, but there are plenty of those...(did i mention expensive 80-160 euros per night) Anyways these people know why you came to A'dam in the first place so they do try to make you feel comfortable... Just remember your key and if you are travelling with someone else make sure you travel together or you might be locked out! (the doors are locked after 11 i think...) Thanx....Brent from Canada

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spacemanspliffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 August 2005

What a pleasant surprise to find such an affordable hotel with everything we needed, without having to ride the bus to get everywhere. It had cleanliness, free internet, free coffee, friendly helpful staff, good breakfasts, and character It is situated right on the Singel Canal and is walking distance from the train station and downtown. Since this is an old canal house, the beds are tiny and the stairs are steep. They were putting new tiles in the hallway bathroom shower while we were there. Yes, we did meet potsmoking people there, and I was nervous because I am over 50, but we felt very welcome. I would certainly go back.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#324 of 367 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#170 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,510 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#167 of 367 in Amsterdam
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#118 of 367 in Amsterdam
890 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#66 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,027 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#96 of 367 in Amsterdam
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Inn

Property: Tourist Inn
Address: Singel 69, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 262
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Amsterdam
Brian Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Brian Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing