We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tourist Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tourist Inn
Ranked #271 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
“Stay Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2006

This is why: great location (on the canal, 5min from CS), quiet surroundings, budget price, very friendly staff, tasty breakfast, free coffee and internet, clean rooms, comfortable beds, always hot shower and clean wc...I recommend!

Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    40
    31
    17
    31
See reviews for
5
31
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Province of Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2006

If you're on a tight budget Hotel Brian is definitly the place. For 25euro a night it is a bargain, since you get a central location in Amsterdam, a great view on the Singel canal, clean sheets and a clean shared bathroom, free breakfast, free coffee and tea all day, free internet. You can also use the kitchen to make your own food.

However, on the downside, someone stole our money while we were at breakfast, some 200euro, and as I can see here, it has happened before in this hostel. I would go back to hotel brian only if there was no other way to afford a better place, and I would take my money with me even to the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raniuk2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2006

I stayed at several hotels in Amsterdam before staying at the Hotel Brian and the hotel brian was my favorite. While the rooms weren't exactly the nicest looking, the sheets and bathrooms were clean, you got breakfast in the morning, and the people who stayed and worked there were fabulous, there was also a computer that you could use for free in the lobby. The price was also the best that we found while in Amsterdam. I definetly plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2006

Why? Because it is clean & affordable. Luxurious? No but perfect if you plan to spend most of your time trampling around the eccentric city. Rooms were very clean, staff were extremely friendly and cooked us breakfast among other things that were offered. We had a great view and it was conveniently located to everything in the city. I loved it. I do not ever stay in ------ motels & I was satisfied. It is worth the money and has character. Small, yes but I would stay again.

Stayed July 2001
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2006

Just got back from a very enjoyable 3 night stay at the Brian.

Great value budget accommodation...walkable to everything you would want to walk to.

The staff are all very knowledgeable and great fun to boot.

Recommended for those looking for cheap, friendly central accomm in the dam.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2006

Don't normally write reviews but I saw that this hotel had got a bit of a slating from some people so thought I'd better redress the balance.
YES the rooms ARE small, and YES the stairs ARE steep...but it's budget accomodation, in the heart of where you want to be in Amsterdam! It's walking distance from the station, two minutes from some of the best coffeeshops you're going to find and the staff are VERY welcoming and friendly. What more do you want???
If you're after luxury you pay 5 times as much and go elsewhere...there is no pretence at Hotel Brian, they offer cheap and clean accomodation for people who want an affordable trip to Amsterdam.
The guy running it when we were there kept us happily entertained by just being him - open, down to earth and with a pythonesque kind of humour...and very helpful.
Well recommended to anyone who isn't too whiney! - have fun!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2005

Unfortunately for us my boyfriend and I had a very bad experience whilst staying at this hotel (hostel). We had money taken from our locked room whilst at breakfast. Staff say that the safes in the rooms are broken and don't work but our's mysteriously was opened when returning to our room. We gather that whoever took the money had a key to the room then deposited the cash into the locked safe (they are always locked for this reason, hence the story they don't work) so as not to be seen/caught with the cash on them when exiting our room. Then when you leave the hotel for the day as we did someone then comes back into your locked room and unlocks the safe with their code and takes the cash. Fortunately for us the safe was not relocked properly and we put 2 and 2 together knowing we had not been able to unlock and access the safe ourselves. When reported to the police they were very aware of this scenario. No surprise whatsoeva to them, however staff had told us that they've never heard of it happening before earlier that day! They also have 2 other properties that may be mentioned when you are poached on the street outside central station (we later found out that this is illegal in amsterdam) Do yourself a favour and stay away, even if it seems a bargain price at 50 euro per night, it cost us sooo much more!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brockovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#161 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#109 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#180 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#219 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
City Hotel Amsterdam
City Hotel Amsterdam
#171 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Inn

Property: Tourist Inn
Address: Singel 69, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 262
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Amsterdam
Brian Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Brian Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing