We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stairs so many stairs”
Review of Hotel Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Washington
Ranked #267 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 21 March 2011

As others have stated the stairs are a bit crazy. Very steep, I'd imagine many a late night party goer has come a cropper on them. The guys that run the place were nice enough, although they did seem to have an awful lot of rules, that they pasted everywhere, the rules made me feel like I was in a hostel. The location isn't bad, the museums are near and the tram is handy. The room was OK it had a shared bathroom, a fact I wasn't aware of until I arrived. The towels I was provided with were tiny and raggedy. The bed was uncomfortable. The price was very good though.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wicorthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Washington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

Located 1 bus or 1 tram away from the airport or Central Station, the hotel is located walking distance from most of Amsterdam. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly, and the included breakfast was great.

The room was clean and the bed was fairly comfortable. It was small, but a typical size of European hotels. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a good price in a quiet part of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingcnuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This hotel is in a very good location, three minutes from the tram stop and in a quiet street. It is run by a nice family, who keep it very clean. The extra charge for credit cards was carefully explained at check-in, so you have every chance to get cash and avoid the charge. Others have commented on the steep stairs, which are normal in this part of Amsterdam. The breakfast was varied and plentiful. Our room was warm, and a fair size with a big window, everything worked.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Stayes at this hotel for 3 nights after reading the good reviews and we were not disapointed. We had reservated a room for 4 persons and got 2 double rooms in the basement. Very spacious and spotles clean. We also got the roon 2 hours prior to check in time!!. The breakfast was very good vith a selection of breads, eggs, cereal and yoghurts.
The neighbourhood har alao of nice restaurants. We tried and indian, an italian, and chinese. All very good.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankerstjerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed there for 5 nights and in general it was a good place to stay.
Location of the hotel was good. 5 mins walking distance to Museumplein and 3 mins walking distance to tram. Breakfast was OK with not too many options. General areas and rooms were clear enough.
We've had a balcony with the backyard view, which I suppose is a luxury that only a few rooms have.
They didn't request us to pay the fare in advance and they didn't add commission for credit card like it's stated in some of the previous reviews.

Some problems:
Walls were very thin (at least in our floor with 3 rooms) , that you can hear everything your neighbour does in the toilette and you could easily wake up in the middle of the night by a flush, and normally I don't wake up easily.
Stairs were really very steep and dangerous and we stayed in room 31, which was on the third floor, so
it was a real challenge to go up and down. The room was small compared to world standards.
The safe was locked when we arrived and we didn't bother to request to unlock it, since I wouldn't call it a real safe. It was so light, that you can carry it easily and put it into your bag.
Wireless level was 2 bars of 5 on the 3rd floor , so I didn't bother to use internet either.
There was no curtain in the shower.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burcin_Oryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed in Amsterdam for 2 nights on a girlfriends' trip through Europe. We flew in from London and took a train to Centraal Station. We weren't really sure how to use the tram so we got a cab driver to take us to the hotel.. which was 15 euros so it was a bit pricey, but it seemed like everyone spoke Dutch so it saved us a headache of trying to figure out where we were. Upon check in, we were given a room on the 3rd floor which we expected to be tiny (especially for three girls), but the triple room is actually quite spacious and the beds were comfy! The receptionist offered to take our suitcases up but since he was busy checking in others, we just dragged them up the steps ourselves... (remember to pack light if you're coming here because those steps are deadly!). We got there in time for dinner and they suggested an Argentinian steakhouse a couple blocks away... oh my god... that was the most delicious steak I have ever eaten! I can't remember the name of it but I'm sure they'll tell you. We had breakfast in the breakfast room/lobby in the morning and while it wasn't fancy or anything, the service was nice and it got us going for the day.

Maps of Amsterdam make it look so much larger than it actually is. We were able to walk into town and we were very close to Leidsplein and the museum district. I would recommend doing Mike's Bike Tours... great way to see Amsterdam and super fun! When we left, the receptionist brought our bags down for us and directed us on where to get the tram to the train station. Overall, I enjoyed our stay here. Hotel was quaint, and comfy and very affordable!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ennui80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Good service and friendly staff, low prices (compared to the average Amsterdam rates), room quite big and clean (again compared to the Amsterdam standards). The hotel is rather old, located in a typical Dutch house, with original stairs, which are really steep, so I would not recommend the hotel for people with problems of disability. But after all it is nice to spend a night in a historical building.
Location is also great, close to tram 5-16-24 and walking distance from museum district and city centre. Good breakfast but the breakfast room was not very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montinaviganti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#221 of 371 in Amsterdam
212 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#190 of 371 in Amsterdam
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#262 of 371 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
De Bedstee Hotel
De Bedstee Hotel
#189 of 371 in Amsterdam
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Washington

Address: Frans Van Mierisstraat 10, 1071 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £55 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing