We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will stay here again”
Review of Hotel Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Washington
Ranked #266 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a quiet, clean place to stay. It provides the basics: bed, bath and breakfast. The beds had soft cotton sheets (no manky polyester blends!), private bathrooms (lots of hot water, absorbent cotton towels), and a very generous breakfast.
The rooms are simple and small--who goes to Amsterdam to sit around in a hotel room?!--but for the addicted, each room does have a TV.
The place is near the Rijksmuseum, so hotel guests can avoid the noise of the area close to the train station.
I really want to return to The Netherlands, and when I do, I will stay at Hotel Washington.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oovaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2010

I LOVE this hotel! I've been home for two months now and I still think about the wonderful breakfast from this hotel. A very nice family runs this hotel and they personally serve you at breakfast. I stairs are steep but charming also. The warm colors on the bottom floors add historical significance. The colors on the top floor are not as appealing but still historically accurate. The rooms are quiet and clean and I can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSlice562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

For the price, you won't get much better in Amsterdam - room & bathroom spotless, good service, decent breakfast, wifi for a reasonable extra charge..... and best of all, this hotel is in a very quiet location just off museumplein.

There are several tram lines situated within a couple minutes walk of the hotel, as well as a direct bus service to/from the airport which is much quicker and more convenient than getting a tram to central station followed by a train to Schiphol.

The only caveat (which has been mentioned by other reviewers) are the very steep stairs - if you have a lot of luggage or are a little unsteady on your feet, you're better off staying elsewhere unless you can arrange for a ground floor room at the time of booking.

Otherwise, Hotel Washington is a splendid little hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George_Cantstanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Great friendly staff who go out of their way to make you feel welcome and provide plenty of information. Rooms adequate and fairly standard for Amsterdam. A little noisey at times due to the paper thin walls, but again, thats Amsterdam accomodation for you. Nice and close to a tram stop for easy access to the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This hotel is near the museum district, down a quiet street. Room was comfortable in terms of size and amenities. An in room safe was available. The hotel itself was also secure. Nice breakfast was included in the mornings, and they would even scramble up some eggs for you upon request. One caveat: this hotel has some significant stairs, so if you need a ground floor room, make sure you request that at the time of your reservation. We travel light, so climbing up to the 3rd floor was not a problem for us, but it might be for some folks (and there is no elevator). Staff was very helpful and pleasant. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessNthePea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Fantastic small quaint hotel very near to public transportation and the MuseumPlein. It was an 8 minute very easy walk from the bus stop (that I took from the airport) to the Hotel Washington. The location is very calm and quiet, but has easy access to all of the "touristy" areas. The hotel has bikes to rent on premises. I rented for 2 days for 20 euro. It elimintate the stress of renting near central station and getting it returned on time. The two guys that ran the hotel were very accomidating - looking up things on the internet for me, helping to carry my bag up the very steep stairs. Breakfast was included and had a great assortment. The only negative thing would be the very steep stairs.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citygirl00110024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

The hotel is in a quiet residential area so no late night noise. It's about 10 minutes walk away from the museum area and very close to an outdoor market. The tram to the city centre stops at the top of the street so convenient for everything. Inside the hotel is small and quaint but spotlessly clean. The breakfast wasn't anything special but more than adequate....you could help yourself to as much as you wanted with unlimited tea/coffee/juice available. We had the basement which was huge...two seperate rooms which were again spotless. Only downside to this was to get down to the room you had to use a very steep staircase (more like a ladder). There was a definite knack to getting up and down the staircase! The bathroom was luxurious, the bath was so deep and lots of hot water, plenty of towels too.
The staff were lovely especially the guy in the mornings. We arrived off the ferry very early and they were happy to look after our luggage even though we couldn't check in til early afternoon. They also looked after it on our final day which saved us a lot of messing around. The morning guy gave us very good advice about parking which saved us a lot of money. He also gave us ideas for restaurants in the area. He couldn't have been nicer. All in all a great place to stay that doesn't break the bank.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillipepper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#218 of 373 in Amsterdam
213 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
De Bedstee Boutique Capsules
De Bedstee Boutique Capsules
#348 of 373 in Amsterdam
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#187 of 373 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#170 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Washington

Address: Frans Van Mierisstraat 10, 1071 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £58 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing