We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best place to stay”
Review of Hotel Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Washington
Ranked #271 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed there for 5 nights and in general it was a good place to stay.
Location of the hotel was good. 5 mins walking distance to Museumplein and 3 mins walking distance to tram. Breakfast was OK with not too many options. General areas and rooms were clear enough.
We've had a balcony with the backyard view, which I suppose is a luxury that only a few rooms have.
They didn't request us to pay the fare in advance and they didn't add commission for credit card like it's stated in some of the previous reviews.

Some problems:
Walls were very thin (at least in our floor with 3 rooms) , that you can hear everything your neighbour does in the toilette and you could easily wake up in the middle of the night by a flush, and normally I don't wake up easily.
Stairs were really very steep and dangerous and we stayed in room 31, which was on the third floor, so
it was a real challenge to go up and down. The room was small compared to world standards.
The safe was locked when we arrived and we didn't bother to request to unlock it, since I wouldn't call it a real safe. It was so light, that you can carry it easily and put it into your bag.
Wireless level was 2 bars of 5 on the 3rd floor , so I didn't bother to use internet either.
There was no curtain in the shower.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burcin_Oryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed in Amsterdam for 2 nights on a girlfriends' trip through Europe. We flew in from London and took a train to Centraal Station. We weren't really sure how to use the tram so we got a cab driver to take us to the hotel.. which was 15 euros so it was a bit pricey, but it seemed like everyone spoke Dutch so it saved us a headache of trying to figure out where we were. Upon check in, we were given a room on the 3rd floor which we expected to be tiny (especially for three girls), but the triple room is actually quite spacious and the beds were comfy! The receptionist offered to take our suitcases up but since he was busy checking in others, we just dragged them up the steps ourselves... (remember to pack light if you're coming here because those steps are deadly!). We got there in time for dinner and they suggested an Argentinian steakhouse a couple blocks away... oh my god... that was the most delicious steak I have ever eaten! I can't remember the name of it but I'm sure they'll tell you. We had breakfast in the breakfast room/lobby in the morning and while it wasn't fancy or anything, the service was nice and it got us going for the day.

Maps of Amsterdam make it look so much larger than it actually is. We were able to walk into town and we were very close to Leidsplein and the museum district. I would recommend doing Mike's Bike Tours... great way to see Amsterdam and super fun! When we left, the receptionist brought our bags down for us and directed us on where to get the tram to the train station. Overall, I enjoyed our stay here. Hotel was quaint, and comfy and very affordable!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ennui80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Good service and friendly staff, low prices (compared to the average Amsterdam rates), room quite big and clean (again compared to the Amsterdam standards). The hotel is rather old, located in a typical Dutch house, with original stairs, which are really steep, so I would not recommend the hotel for people with problems of disability. But after all it is nice to spend a night in a historical building.
Location is also great, close to tram 5-16-24 and walking distance from museum district and city centre. Good breakfast but the breakfast room was not very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montinaviganti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Cozy family owned hotel in converted Amsterdam style home. Rooms or apartments with private baths on each floor. Size varies. We stayed in a double bedroom with a semi-private rooftop patio. It was connected to our neighbors window but they were friends traveling with us. Quiet residential neighborhood. Near Museumplein and tram stops. Breakfast room on main floor provided ample selection. Dutch style breakfast of breads, fruits, yogurts, plus eggs made to order.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildbirdseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Rooms are basic, all single beds, warm and extremely clean. We had two rooms (one for three adult kids and one for parents). Surprisingly quiet in the hotel, other than some street noise. Was surprised to see how many other's were actually staying at the hotel when we arrived at breakfast. The breakfast was great. pretty much everything you could want and the coffee was excellent. Owners are a family that really care that you are happy. Ask them for whatever you need and they will help ... be it directions, eggs your style for breakfast, airport pickup ... what ever. They will go the extra mile. Location is great for museums. Located on very quiet street only a block from the Tram that will take you to the city center. We were there in middle of a snow storm and it was just fine. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance (1-2 blocks) from hotel. Buy 24 hour tram tickets on the Tram or at the Central Station, 7 Euros ea. As everyone says, steps to get to rooms are steep, like climbing a ladder. But the owners will help you get up and down with your luggage if needed. Don't let that deter you from going here. Wireless internet was 5 Euros for the stay per room. For location, accomodations and price you can't do better.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Washington for a four-day visit to Amsterdam. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of the Museumsplein, and a stone's throw from the #16 or #24 tram line near the Ruysdaelstraat (sp?) stop. We had a room on the top floor, which was both good and bad - good in that we had a small balcony with a view over the buildings, and bad in that we had to lug our bags up several flights of *very* steep stairs (no lift!). Room, beds, breakfast and staff were all great, there are several restaurants and bars nearby, and we were only two tram stops from the street market on Albert Cuypstraat. Unfortunately we couldn't get wi-fi in our room, but it didn't turn out to be that big of a deal.

We ended up paying for our room in cash to avoid the (4%, I think) surcharge on credit card payments. Overall, however, a very nice place that I'd definitely stay at again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthwestGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Exceptional hotel, spotlessly clean, rooms large and comfortable, cost 30euro pnpp which is much less than others we were looking at, easy transport using the tram system, breakfast included everything - rolls, eggs (however you want them), jam, cheese, sliced meat, cereal, toast, coffee and tea, juices of all kinds, waffles, cake....
The owners go the extra mile - let me know when friend arrived, minded our bags before and after checkin/out, great wifi, advised re best time to go to Anne Frank's house to avoid queues and what to do when tram tickets expired 1 hour too early, supplied an international plug which was great for computer and iphone/pods, managed to work around my pin number not working so I could use my Australian credit card and offered to carry our luggage downstairs.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funfamilychess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#242 of 376 in Amsterdam
226 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#240 of 376 in Amsterdam
307 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Blue Square
#163 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,042 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#139 of 376 in Amsterdam
971 reviews
XO Hotels Blue Tower
#180 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Washington

Address: Frans Van Mierisstraat 10, 1071 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £56 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing