We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hostel ever!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst hostel ever!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Well first of all. When we arrived at the hostel we noticed a very disturbing pictures on floor 6 which we had to stay on. When we finally got to our room we notice there was a bad smell of egg. We also saw blood stains and other horrible stains on the bed sheets and mattress. These sheets were never changed and we stayed there for about 3 nights. There was empty glass bottles left on the balcony from the previous guests. The bathroom was disgusting and unhygienic. The food was Ok but it wasnt always cook properly and we received a bad service. The entertainment was ok but i wouldnt reccommend this hostel.

Room Tip: Choose room 606 or just dont go !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawholly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winstonmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Although we regret to hear your comments, we appreciate this very much so we can look into the things you mentioned and make sure we take action.
To obtain some more details on your experience we will now contact you personally.

All the best
The Winston Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    486
    146
    59
    46
See reviews for
19
256
212
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed in the hostel as part of a college trip, I found the rooms very basic - I'm guessing this is what most hostels are like, however the room was hygienically clean. Some rooms are very funky or freaky (as my some of my friends stayed in a room with a skull and freaky interior), my room was just very basic. The location is a very narrow long street (Wammostrat) which is close to central station and practically in the red light district. There is also a restaurant under the hostel which serves nice food and the night club next door is quite small however they had special offers on drinks including 5 drinks for 5 euros which was quite good. Overall I did enjoy my stay in Amsterdam I would to go back but stay elsewhere, but thats just me.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livibooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Recently stayed here with one of my mates. Ignore the negative reviews. Been to Amsterdam 4 times and its easily the best hostel I've stayed in.

Its located right next to the red light district and within walking distance of all the other attractions and night-life.

The staff were very, very friendly. The bar/club attached is very good and has offers on drinks throughout the day - a great place to start the night.

The rooms were very clean (maid service daily) and easy to get a good night sleep in - not sure why people have been complaining of noise, I didn't find it a problem.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Athey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed in April 2012. Could not fault the cleanliness of the place, it was in a great location and the bar was fun. It really was all we were looking for.
My only complaint was on the day of check out there had been a major train crash and no trains were going to airport. Though they could not help this, they could have told us. Luckily we gave ourselves over an hour to get to the airport, but if we had not we would have missed our flight. They should have told us when we checked out and I was disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayhelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I stayed here in April 2012 and I highly recommend it. Unbeatable location, very safe and secure as well. We had a private room and it was very nice and clean and spacious. Food downstairs is great!! Nothing but good things to say about this place!! I would advise wearing earplugs if you want any sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

This way my first trip to Amsterdam, so obviously my first trip to St'Christophers to. We came as a big group of rowdy Cornish lads, on arrival the check in staff where very friendly, explained everything to use, away we go.
The rooms where spot on for what we required, a bed,toliet & shower & not for getting the FREE continental breakfast.
The bar area was pretty cool, the only criticism I'd make here, is the drinks where abit pricey €5 a pint, but there do have a happy hour, so that's ok 2-4-1 promos & stuff.
Finally I guess the location, it is one street away from the red light district, so you really aint gonna get much more central than that. Especially when it comes to price.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Reckner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I first selected this hotel because the reviews on websites. I wasn't disappointed at all. The location is awesome, right in the middle of the RedLight District. The ambiance at the bar of the hostel is very nice and psychedelic(!). I was afraid about the noise in the dorms because of the bar not far away from them. But I was happy to hear that the noise was really well isolated! The price is also affordable and it was pretty clean as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#49 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Volkshotel
#42 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Property: St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to have a great time in Amsterdam, St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your place to be. When you stay at the St Christopher's not only are you in the most central location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi's bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can't go wrong. This is the perfect place to meet other travelers, save money, and party like a rock star. Of course there is also FREE Wi-Fi throughout the entire building. Why not come by and say "hi" to our awesome, multi-lingual team, consisting of friendly expats and locals of all ages? We are always happy to help, or just to hang out. We're sure you're going to love your time here in Amsterdam, and in our hostel, as much as we do! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing