We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed here with some friends traveling through Europe in April and loved it. Cheap, well run, good bar, nothing to complain about. Also a great location in the Red Light District, with great security.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank matthewkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    502
    149
    62
    46
See reviews for
20
266
217
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

Great location. Right in the heart of Amsterdam. Bunk beds were solid, not squeaky. The place provided towels, soap, shampoo, cups. Beds were comfortable. Place was clean. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

The only issue I had was that since the place is located near a bar (same floor as reception), it can get pretty loud at night. Staff offers free earplugs though for this very reason!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaszypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I went to Amsterdam with my college for 4 days in March 2012. Amsterdam the city is a great place to experience with many attractions especially museums. There are also many boat trips and you can hire bike. It was my first time in Amsterdam & in a hostel so I don't know what hostels are like but this one is quite ok. There are quite strange & sometimes disturbing pictures on the floors, especially floor 6. One room had a model of a skull. Our room on floor 6 had some stains on the bed, one small red one, a big yellow one with a bit of dirt on & the room smelt a bit wierd. The sheets & bedding were not changed at all while we were there. The bathroom was a bit unhygienic. There were bottles on the balcony that didn't get moved. I enjoyed the hostels food but not everyone did as it weren't always cooked well. Over all I didn't mind the hostel but probably would try somewhere else but that's just my opinion as I don't want to put you off it as they might have improved or be in the process of improving. But I think AMSTERDAM is a great place to visit for the experience for all types of visitors!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somewhere there
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We've been there for just one night, but it was easy to notice, there was a bad and totally strange energy inside of room #609. We are both really sensitive in case of energies and we both had this feeling. It wasn't because of the picture on the wall, we both thought it's a funny picture, it was something else creating this mood. It also seems that the word "service" is generally not a really familiar word in the netherlands. Especially in combination with the words "friendly" and "good" …

Room Tip: Avoid room #609
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank izaak-maniacovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Well first of all. When we arrived at the hostel we noticed a very disturbing pictures on floor 6 which we had to stay on. When we finally got to our room we notice there was a bad smell of egg. We also saw blood stains and other horrible stains on the bed sheets and mattress. These sheets were never changed and we stayed there for about 3 nights. There was empty glass bottles left on the balcony from the previous guests. The bathroom was disgusting and unhygienic. The food was Ok but it wasnt always cook properly and we received a bad service. The entertainment was ok but i wouldnt reccommend this hostel.

Room Tip: Choose room 606 or just dont go !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawholly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winstonmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Although we regret to hear your comments, we appreciate this very much so we can look into the things you mentioned and make sure we take action.
To obtain some more details on your experience we will now contact you personally.

All the best
The Winston Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed in the hostel as part of a college trip, I found the rooms very basic - I'm guessing this is what most hostels are like, however the room was hygienically clean. Some rooms are very funky or freaky (as my some of my friends stayed in a room with a skull and freaky interior), my room was just very basic. The location is a very narrow long street (Wammostrat) which is close to central station and practically in the red light district. There is also a restaurant under the hostel which serves nice food and the night club next door is quite small however they had special offers on drinks including 5 drinks for 5 euros which was quite good. Overall I did enjoy my stay in Amsterdam I would to go back but stay elsewhere, but thats just me.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livibooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Recently stayed here with one of my mates. Ignore the negative reviews. Been to Amsterdam 4 times and its easily the best hostel I've stayed in.

Its located right next to the red light district and within walking distance of all the other attractions and night-life.

The staff were very, very friendly. The bar/club attached is very good and has offers on drinks throughout the day - a great place to start the night.

The rooms were very clean (maid service daily) and easy to get a good night sleep in - not sure why people have been complaining of noise, I didn't find it a problem.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Athey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#61 of 368 in Amsterdam
552 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Volkshotel
#41 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Property: St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to have a great time in Amsterdam, St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your place to be. When you stay at the St Christopher's not only are you in the most central location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi's bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can't go wrong. This is the perfect place to meet other travelers, save money, and party like a rock star. Of course there is also FREE Wi-Fi throughout the entire building. Why not come by and say "hi" to our awesome, multi-lingual team, consisting of friendly expats and locals of all ages? We are always happy to help, or just to hang out. We're sure you're going to love your time here in Amsterdam, and in our hostel, as much as we do! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing