We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Best thing about this hostel was the location, you can walk to most of the sights and museums if you have a good pair of shoes. Female dorm with 8 beds was actually 2 rooms with 4 beds in each. Room where I stayed was nice and clean and I was lucky to share the room with girls who had quite similar plans for their visit than me. Staff was helpful and friendly and restaurant and bar were pleasant. Only downside was that noises from the bar were quite loud, but the problem is solved with earplugs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello,
We're glad to see you enjoyed your time in the girl's dorm. There are a few little extra features up there, which we know make a huge difference for our female travelers, and the additional privacy goes a long way too,
We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip as much as you did your time in Amsterdam,
Thanks for writing,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    485
    146
    59
    46
See reviews for
19
256
212
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I had my stag in Amsterdam. Couldn't have had a better time. The Winston is an excellent hostel. It's safe. Central. Prices are good. Food is great. Rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. Bottles 2 for the price before 9. Shorts 2 for the price of one between 9 and 12. It's my 3rd time there and I'm sure I'll stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hey,
Really pleased to read that you and the guys enjoyed your time with us,
We do our best to cater for groups as much as we do solo travelers too,
Thanks for writing and see you next time,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I was extremely happy with this hostel. I had an unusual situation but Ben was very helpful and I ended up keeping the room an extra 3 days. The bar/restaurant is modern and well equipped and the outdoor patio is great. Very close to Central Station and a straight shot right down to Dam Square. Couldn't have been better! Thanks!

Room Tip: The private rooms are WELL worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrr29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello,
Great that you the time to write to us,
We're pleased than Ben and the team were able to assist you during your time with us and we've already passed on your kind words to him directly,
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at the Windsor in a private ensuite room for two nights, and couldn't have had a better experience. The staff was beyond helpful. They were extremely nice and informative. The decor was really cool. Of the four hostels we stayed at during our trip, St. Christopher's at Winston Hotel had the most comfortable beds, by a long shot. The location is perfect as well - right at the edge of the red light district and a close walk to the train station.

If you stay at the hostel, there are food and drink discounts at the bar/restaurant downstairs, which is nice. The food is pretty good and the drinks are decently strong. The club is small, but a lot of fun.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hey there,
It makes our day to read reviews like yours about our staff. Thanks for writing and for all your kind words. The guys here love there jobs and we're glad that it shows. More importantly we're glad that they were able to help you during your stay with us and give the right information about the city,
Thanks again and travel safe,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed at this hostel for a long weekend in April with a mixed group of 10 friends celebrating a couple of birthdays! We had two 5 bed rooms on the sixth floor next door to each other. Rooms had two sets of bunk beds and a single bed in each along with an en-suite with your usual toilet, sink and shower. Rooms were really clean, had some cool funky artwork on the walls and lockers where you could safely keep along your belongings locked, so overall great room.

Did not manage to get up early enough on any of the days to try the free continental breakfast but the hostel has a full bar downstairs that does all your normal pub grub and does a good full English breakfast. Location is ideal with only being a 5 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station and right in the middle of the action for all the pubs, clubs, red light district etc.

Overall a great hostel and if your looking for a cheap, clean hostel in a great location then this is the place!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 606 & 607 which were both 5 beds rooms on the 6th floor with a shared balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJCrozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello again,
Thanks for leaving us such a great set of reviews,
We're pleased to see that our services, facilities and prices were such a good fit for you and your group's needs.
Hope you guys made the most the most of the adjoining balconies between your two rooms as well ; )
We trust your friends all enjoyed their birthdays too,
Thanks again,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Hostel is in an excellent location, just next to the Red Light District, 8/10 minutes walking to the central train station, 2 minutes to the Dam Square and in a walking distance to the most of touristic areas in Amsterdam.
The staff is very nice and the Hostel is very clean and well decorated.
It offers an amazing breakfast with all you need, inclusive fruits and eggs.
Definitely come back.
Just avoid the rooms at the end, because the internet is not very good there.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the end (rooms 7 and 8) because the internet is not very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zélia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hello there,
Nice of you to take the time to let us know about your time with us. And it's good that you bought up those little internet issues you were having. Coincidentally, our new Wi-Fi setup is mere weeks away from installation, which we believe will take our connection from good to great!
Great to see you found our hostel conveniently located as well. It's only a short crawl to the train station as you said, which means you can get the most out of your time in the city without worrying about getting lost or wasting time trekking around.
Take care, and thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la paz
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I booked the hotel for a weekend and I couldn't be more satisfied, everything was great, starting with the staff that was really friendly, the food was excellent!! and you get discount coupons for food, drinks,etc. The location is great just a few steps from the red light district and 5 min away from the Central Station. The rooms were also great, very clean. They cleaned the rooms everymorning and a girl from reception came once to check if everything was in order and asked me if everything was clean and if all the lights were working. I find that pretty awesome. They really care about the experience you get, The hostel has a great bar and beautiful garden, amazing music all day long. I will definitely come back to the hostel if I go to Amsterdam. Couldn't be happier with the service I got. And I would definitely recommend it to anyone visitng Amsterdam. Thanks once again for the great experience :D

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olgasaavedra77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
What a fantastic review!
Our team here are always extremely pleased to see that they've made a lasting impression on our guests. In really makes their day to know that they've contributed to somebody's great experience in Amsterdam.
Sure you must have shared a few beers with the guys in our Belushi's bar too, as you seemed to have made the most of our fantastic 2-for-1 drinks deals and discount food in our restaurant.
Make sure you give us a heads up next time you're in town and we'll be sure to make it worth your while ; )
Safe travels, and thanks again for your kind words,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#145 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#49 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Volkshotel
#42 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Property: St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to have a great time in Amsterdam, St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your place to be. When you stay at the St Christopher's not only are you in the most central location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi's bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can't go wrong. This is the perfect place to meet other travelers, save money, and party like a rock star. Of course there is also FREE Wi-Fi throughout the entire building. Why not come by and say "hi" to our awesome, multi-lingual team, consisting of friendly expats and locals of all ages? We are always happy to help, or just to hang out. We're sure you're going to love your time here in Amsterdam, and in our hostel, as much as we do! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing