We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel in Amsterdam :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We traveled here the end of February this year. Hostel was lovely and cosy. Our room was a double en suite, great price and big room! The bar and food served was also fab. Great service and craic from the staff too :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

I've stayed at the St Christopher's in Edinburgh and Amsterdam. Both have been wonderful. Especially the one in Amsterdam. The staff was informative and helpful. The food at Belushi's Bar is excellent. Location is wonderful. Not a long walk from the Amsterdam Central Station. My only complaint is the cost of the big lockers if your suit case doesn't fit in the lockers under the bed. Outside that the place is awesome.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my cousin we loved this place. You just have to walk 10 minutes from Central Station and nearby to many coffee shops/restaurants/Dam Square/Red Light District and else. They have also a nice bar / beer garden outside to chill out. They have also smoking area inside (separate) which is important for us as smokers. The staff are very friendly, breakfast included, good coffee in the morning and good beer at night. You don't have to spent time outside if it's too cold, just stay at their bar, beer price is fair.

We stayed at female dorm for 4 people, room is very clean, they provide also hair dryer and hair straightener. Bed is comfortable for us. They even have balcony for smokers on the second floor.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at this hotel and really recommend this for people who wants to travel to Amsterdam they should stay here. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Choose room with the balcony, it's not near the road and it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizzyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was a spacious room with private bathroom and a nice patio for a reasonable price. You are in the thick of downtown with loads of coffee shops and pubs / bars. The room was clean and the staff were friendly. All in all this place was great.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ambersimmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STCHostels, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review! We hope you'll decide to stay with us again next time you are in Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I liked this place a lot. It`s not only hostel, it`s bar and night club also. The atmosphere is very friendly, staff is nice.
I lived in a room for 8 people...quite a few...but in reality the room was spacious, bed was comfortable, shower and toilet are clean.
Location is also good. Hostel is nearby Dam Square, Red Light and Central station.
....So it`s everything I need for to name St Christopher's at Winston one of the best hostel in Amsterdam. Thank you guys, I`ll come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_Kushch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STCHostels, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review! It's great to read that you had such a good experience! We are sure looking forward to welcoming you back to our hostel again! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and my stay was absolutely amazing! The hotel is about 5 minutes from Centraal station and it was great to know that whenever I was at the station I wasn't too far from my home away from home.

Staff were friendly, rooms were clean and basic with underbed lockers so you can store your belongings away safely. I was in a 4 bed dorm with a group of three other travellers who were nice.

Breakfast was simple but filling with a great selection each morning, discounts on other meals at the hostel if you are a guest, free earplugs which I didn't need as I was staying in a back room.

It was on the 'strip' so there were lots of coffee shops and food joints if you wanted to get a bite to eat or smoke. I really liked knowing that it was central to everything so I never really got lost or was too far away from the hostel if I ever needed to pop back.

I WOULD DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN WITHOUT A DOUBT!

Room Tip: I would get a private ensuite next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omari N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STCHostels, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for the amazing review! Your experience will surely inspire other travelers! We hope to welcome you in our hostel again next time you are in Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is one of the most fun hostels in Amsterdam. The reception is practically a bar and if you happen to travel alone you can make friends and have your whole night already planned out before you even get the key to your room. The rooms are not very classy but hey, it's a hostel and it is clean. If you want to rest this might not be the best place for you but if you go to Amsterdam to party then this is the place for you. Its location is fantastic, close to Dam Square and to the train station. The hostel is situated on one of the most famous coffee shop strips in the city. As a woman that was travelling alone and I felt very safe here.

Room Tip: Pay for a private room if you want comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ady A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STCHostels, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review! We are happy you enjoyed the party side of our hostel and it's location! We do like to party! We respect the wishes for sleepy travellers as well though, we also provide free ear plugs in reception, in case it's needed. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's @ The Winston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#110 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,514 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,241 reviews
XO Hotels Blue Square
#163 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Hostelle
#36 of 241 in Amsterdam
268 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 241 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £29 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to have a great time in Amsterdam, St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your place to be. When you stay at the St Christopher’s not only are you in the most central location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi’s bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can’t go wrong. This is the perfect place to meet other travelers, save money, and party like a rock star. Of course there is also FREE Wi-Fi throughout the entire building. Why not come by and say "hi" to our awesome, multi-lingual team, consisting of friendly expats and locals of all ages? We are always happy to help, or just to hang out. We’re sure you’re going to love your time here in Amsterdam, and in our hostel, as much as we do! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing