We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay for a great time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great place to stay for a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The very first day we reached the hostel, we were greet by a very friendly staff. Gave us good advice and even allowed us to have breakfast there free.

Very patient and accommodating staffs.
Rooms are very very clean.
Awesome bar with great discounts all day.
Breakfast food was great for a hostel.
A lot of English speakers so very easy to communicate.


Overall, best experience and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Amsterdam.

Helpful?
1 Thank laffyette
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello,

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we'll be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff. Our guys love their jobs and it really makes their day to know that they're made a difference to somebody's visit, or just left a lasting impression on one of our guests : )

Thanks for leaving us such a great review, and enjoy the rest of your trip,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    485
    146
    59
    46
See reviews for
19
256
212
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hostel multiple times. It is my go-to hostel for weekend trips to Amsterdam based on location, and cleanliness. The hostel itself is great, it has a bar, restaurant and a smoking room. It's down the street from a great bakery and loads of other great foods. The rooms seem to all be different! But one thing that is consistent is that the beds are always clean. Some rooms have balconies attached to them which attach to other rooms so it's great for socializing. The location of the hostel makes it quite loud at night but they offer free ear plugs. Load up!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveamannda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hey there,

Really good of you to write to us.

It's always great for our team here at The Winston to see a familiar face. This place is a home away from home for a lot of our guys who are also travelers like yourself.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the many themes in our art hotel. All of our rooms are decorated by local designers and traveling artists and each room is painted uniquely different, which makes each visit as interesting as the last.

Cheers, and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here as part of a group of 5 males. We booked a 5-bed dorm and filled it ourselves for the weekend.

St. Christopher's had everything you would want in a hostel. The reception staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The highlight for us was the bar and it's staff. I decided not to go out one afternoon with my group and opted to stay in the bar for the day and the bar staff were fantastic company providing friendly chat and even had a few shots with me!

It's really central and close to the train station as well as all the other main sights and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hey mate,

Cheers for the review.

Great to read that you got stuck into our bar, and thanks for sticking around and sharing a drink with us. It's awesome to know that these things matter to you as much as they matter to us.

Hope you and the rest of the boys enjoyed your time with us. You're all welcome back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed in a shared dorm and it was really dark and the shower smelled funky. The restaurant and bar in the front desk are awesome. The breakfast that is included is a really good breakfast and the hamburger is delicious. The location is pretty good if you want to stay really close to the red light district.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hey there,

We really appreciate your feedback and we will be using your comments to develop and improve our services and facilities for the benefit our future guests.

It's great to see you made the most of our free breakfast buffet. We know just how important it is to have a full stomach before a busy day of sightseeing in the city, or even just if you're trying to kick that Amsterdam hangover ; )

We were a little concerned to read your comments about your shower though, and we hope this experience didn't too badly effect your time with us. We've traced your booking and we'll be investigating this room with our building and facilities manager to see what improvements can be made.

Thanks for you time, and all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Amsterdam is all about having fun, and this hostel delivers.

Location: it really does not get better than this if you are in Amsterdam to see the sights, and enjoy some time with friends. This is right in the heart of the Old City, and on the edge of the Red Light District. The area is amazingly beautiful and historic, and peppered with those slightly seedy elements that Amsterdam is so famous for. It is a crazy juxtaposition, and this hostel fits right into that.

Accommodations: The security here was really very good, and I never once felt like there was any risk to strange people wandering in off the street and into the hostel (definitely a risk in this area). The beds were comfortable, our room (private four person room) was very spacious, and the showers were hot (if not somewhat erratic, though this is typical for Europe). The hostel was clean, and while the room was nothing special in the looks department, it did the job, and it did it well. One note - if you are sensitive to noise, bring earplugs, and if you are really sensitive to noise, don't stay here, you will hate it - the club downstairs stays open until 4 am. But who goes to sleep until then in Amsterdam anyway??

The facility: breakfast is included in the morning and it's your standard Euro fare of coffee, juice, bread, cheese, and unidentifiable meat product. It's perfectly adequate. The bar in the evenings is extremely fun - we met a large number of people who were not staying there, did not know that the bar was in a hostel, and had just been told it had a great happy hour (true enough), and that it was fun (definitely).

Overall, this place is great, had an amazing time here, and would definitely go back. It's perfect if you are looking to have a great time with your friends in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hey,

Thanks for leaving us such a detailed review. We can learn a lot from your experiences with us and you've really left us with a lot of food for thought.

Great to see you made the most of having all the major attractions on your doorstep and we think that you hit the nail on the head when you called Amsterdam a "juxtaposition". We couldn't agree more : )

We are pleased to see that our room facilities did the job too. It's a shame you didn't end up in one of our more artistic rooms though. We're sure you would have been impressed. By the way, we do offer free earplugs at the reception for those of our guests who are particularly light sleepers.

Lastly, it's awesome that you met some cool locals and other backpackers in our bar. We have an eclectic crowd downstairs who make the visit just that little bit more interesting.

Thanks again,
Rock on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great value for money in great location!! Breakfast was amazing great for a getaway with friends. I would go back. Rooms very clean. Nice views. Loved Amsterdam. Didnt have to walk much, main attractions on the door step.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma14022014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know what you thought about your time with us.

We're pleased to read that you felt you got your money's worth at The Winston. We always do our best to go above and beyond your expectations and at the very least aim to remain competitively and fairly priced in what is unfortunately a very expensive city.

Either way, whats most important to us is that you had a great time.

Thanks again and we hope you enjoy the rest of your trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hostel was perfectly located for a couple of nights in Amsterdam - under 10 minutes walk from the train station and right in the middle of the red light district, just down from Dam Square. Room (I stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm) was clean with a comfortable bed, massive underbed storage locker (bring a padlock) and hot shower, even when I was the last of 8 people to get to it! Wasn't too noisy through the night, despite its central location. Breakfast (bread, cold meats, cheese, cereal, fruit) was really good considering it was included - certainly better than any other hostels I've stayed at! Lockers to store your stuff after you check out are only 4 euros for the day, which is much better than trying to drag your stuff round while you wait for a flight! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I go back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smithy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hey there,

Cheers for the review. Its important for us to know what is important to you and we're glad to see that we got it right ; )

Nice to know you appreciate our secure lockers. They are half the price on those in the central train station and just a few minutes away, and of course we are always happy to help - even after check-out.

Great feedback. Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#145 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#49 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Volkshotel
#42 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Property: St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to have a great time in Amsterdam, St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your place to be. When you stay at the St Christopher's not only are you in the most central location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi's bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can't go wrong. This is the perfect place to meet other travelers, save money, and party like a rock star. Of course there is also FREE Wi-Fi throughout the entire building. Why not come by and say "hi" to our awesome, multi-lingual team, consisting of friendly expats and locals of all ages? We are always happy to help, or just to hang out. We're sure you're going to love your time here in Amsterdam, and in our hostel, as much as we do! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing