We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good, cheap, well located hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Really good, cheap, well located hostel.”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Stayed here for 3 days in April and was really glad I picked this hostel, my travelling companion had stayed in another hostel in Amsterdam and she instantly said how much nicer this was than that. It was cheap, easy to book and the staff were friendly and helpful. Yes you have to share the rooms and sometimes people are noisy/have different sleeping patterns, and yes you have to share the showers and toilets but everything is clean and spacious and well laid out. Other reviewers seem to have forgotten this is a hostel not a hotel and the price reflects this.
Over all a really good value, nice place to stay in and I would stay in again.
I recommend taking your own travel towel (which you can safely hang up in the room and leave while out) and a padlock for your locker, both can be hired at the desk but for a price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    236
    140
    32
    22
See reviews for
17
59
173
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I advise everybody not to stay here. I could not sleep because of all the noise.
Every 30 seconds a door is closed in the hostel with such a noise and force, it sounds like a gun is fired. I counted this at 2 am when I was listening to this door slamming. It started again at 6 in the morning, I don't know why the staff doesn't fix this hughe problem.
Another problem is a little courtyard where people sit and talk and drink. This happens at night (when you want to sleep or very early in the morning). When guests talk outside the sound is amplified because of the 4 walls surrounding the courtyard. Not nice if you want to sleep!
The location of the hostel is fine but don't come here if you don't want to sleep

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_mosby_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

I stayed there in late March for three nights with a friend. The hostel offers complimentary breakfast and the bedding is also free-of-charge. The breakfast was simple, but completely acceptable for the price- toast, jam and also hot drinks (coffee or tea). The hostel was also quite clean and the washrooms were being cleaned regularly. There are lockers available and I think there was the option to buy a padlock at the reception, but it's probably better to take one with you. The location is excellent and the closest streetcar station/ bus station is a five minute walk away. There are free city maps available and you can also get a discount on a boat trip through Amsterdam's canals at the reception. The only thing to criticise are the prices for internet access- 1,50 Euros for a quarter of an hour's access and three euros for one hour. But there's always internet cafés, too.
Oh, and another thing- you are not allowed to cook your own meals in this hostel.
All in all, it's a good, low-budget hostel that I would recommend to anyone travelling to Amsterdam, who is not too keen on comfort, needs a clean place to sleep and would like to stay in the city center.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacara10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

I got really disoriented when I landed in Amsterdam, to say the least. After spending 3 nights in this Red Light Hotel where I woke up to a rat dancing on my pizza box, decided no more 60E a night. Found this place.

It was cheap on weekends for 4 or 6 person dorm and way higher on weekends. If you were smart, you'd stay during the week and go elsewhere on weekends.

Rooms were basic but clean and you got your own large bin that you could lock which was key. Some had bathrooms some had shared bathrooms, I moved to a few rooms during my 2 week stay which felt like a day.

What is lame is that the internet isn't free and it's expensive for wireless, rip off expensive. Best bet is to just hang in a coffee shop that has free wifi.

if I went back, I'd stay there during the week.

- Rob aka
http://stophavingaboringlife.com

Room Tip: Ask for a 4 person with ensuite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Nice Place (As a Hostel), Close to the central station around 5 mins walk close to the city center 10 mins (Dam Square), Nice accommodation although been in 20 beds dorm. great breakfast and very helpful receptionists.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

A group of 6 of us travelled over to Amsterdam (from UK) for a weekend. We left the accommodation to one of our freinds to sort out. We ended up in this place, and were dissapointed to find we were in a room/dorm of 16 beds.

After getting over the initial shock, we looked around and to be fair the place wasn't bad. It was clean, the bedding we were given was fresh and the bathroom area was also clean. Breakfast was suprisingly good as well.

As I say in the title of this, I wouldn't normally choose to stay in a hostel, but we stayed for 2 nights and there was no trouble at all.

I would recommend it as far as a hostel, but my personal preference would be to pay more money and have a room/bathroom to myself.

I won't stay here again, but I wouldn't put off those folk who are used to Hostels

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erictcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2010

It´s in a very good location. I booked a room shared with 16 people and no problem at all. The room was huge and I had some privacy. There were also a lot of showers, toilets so you didn´t have to wait for anything.
The breakfast was really really good for a Hostel, even much better than the breakfast in a good hotel. It had fresh juice, toasts, cerals, jam, ham, yogurt, coffee machine with a wide variety of coffees.
The bed was really comfortable and the sheets were clean. As a bad point: there was not internet for free and the prices of 15 min was 1,50.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kadoc10802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#13 of 226 in Amsterdam
1,214 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#8 of 226 in Amsterdam
785 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#9 of 226 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam city centre is famous for its numerous bars, canals, shops and museums. What could be more fun than having your home base in the heart of the city that never sleeps? And at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, you can meet travellers from all over the world. The moment you step outside, you’re bang in the middle of vibrant Amsterdam. Beside bars, restaurants and shops, you will also find theatres, cinemas and museums nearby. The flea market at Waterlooplein is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing