We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent, not spectacular” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Decent, not spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

My friend and I (28 year old females) traveled throughout Europe for two weeks and stayed in hostels in every location.
This hostel in Amsterdam landed in the exact middle of our rankings - not amazing, but not awful either.

The reception desk is very helpful with anything you may need. It's also very nice that the hostel is locked at all times (you must buzz to get in). In the lobby, you can pay to lock your belongings (20 cents for an hour), and outside your dorm, there are free lockers once you check in. Those are definite pros. The free wifi was also a great feature.

The cons - the bathrooms were almost always dirty, except right after they came and power washed them. Water was hot, so can't complain about the showers. But there was constantly a lot of hair and muck on the sinks and in the toilet areas.
Another big complaint is that there is no full-length mirror in the girls dorm OR the bathroom. Never got to see our outfits once dressed!

The rooms are ok - beds are pretty comfortable, but there are very few power outlets in the room, and we found a lot of the girls (in the all female dorm) to be pretty disrespectful and loud when coming in late or when packing up early in the morning. I understand it's impossible to be completely silent in a hostel situation, but we found bunkmates in other hostels around Europe to be much more considerate. Could have just been bad luck though, not the hostel's fault.

The laundry facilities are decent - not big, and not especially clean - but they were useful.

Location & proximity to the train station and the Red Light District is perfect. Not too close to be unsafe, but close enough to walk easily.

All in all, I wouldn't stay here again - but definitely would rather stay here than some of the scummy places I saw in the Red Light District.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmpaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    232
    137
    32
    21
See reviews for
17
58
168
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

This one wasn't the cleanest hostel but it was ok, it wasn't the best location, but it was ok, it wasn't the cheapest, but it was ok. All together an ok hostel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mindcrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Stayed here for 3 days in April and was really glad I picked this hostel, my travelling companion had stayed in another hostel in Amsterdam and she instantly said how much nicer this was than that. It was cheap, easy to book and the staff were friendly and helpful. Yes you have to share the rooms and sometimes people are noisy/have different sleeping patterns, and yes you have to share the showers and toilets but everything is clean and spacious and well laid out. Other reviewers seem to have forgotten this is a hostel not a hotel and the price reflects this.
Over all a really good value, nice place to stay in and I would stay in again.
I recommend taking your own travel towel (which you can safely hang up in the room and leave while out) and a padlock for your locker, both can be hired at the desk but for a price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

I advise everybody not to stay here. I could not sleep because of all the noise.
Every 30 seconds a door is closed in the hostel with such a noise and force, it sounds like a gun is fired. I counted this at 2 am when I was listening to this door slamming. It started again at 6 in the morning, I don't know why the staff doesn't fix this hughe problem.
Another problem is a little courtyard where people sit and talk and drink. This happens at night (when you want to sleep or very early in the morning). When guests talk outside the sound is amplified because of the 4 walls surrounding the courtyard. Not nice if you want to sleep!
The location of the hostel is fine but don't come here if you don't want to sleep

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_mosby_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

I stayed there in late March for three nights with a friend. The hostel offers complimentary breakfast and the bedding is also free-of-charge. The breakfast was simple, but completely acceptable for the price- toast, jam and also hot drinks (coffee or tea). The hostel was also quite clean and the washrooms were being cleaned regularly. There are lockers available and I think there was the option to buy a padlock at the reception, but it's probably better to take one with you. The location is excellent and the closest streetcar station/ bus station is a five minute walk away. There are free city maps available and you can also get a discount on a boat trip through Amsterdam's canals at the reception. The only thing to criticise are the prices for internet access- 1,50 Euros for a quarter of an hour's access and three euros for one hour. But there's always internet cafés, too.
Oh, and another thing- you are not allowed to cook your own meals in this hostel.
All in all, it's a good, low-budget hostel that I would recommend to anyone travelling to Amsterdam, who is not too keen on comfort, needs a clean place to sleep and would like to stay in the city center.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacara10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

I got really disoriented when I landed in Amsterdam, to say the least. After spending 3 nights in this Red Light Hotel where I woke up to a rat dancing on my pizza box, decided no more 60E a night. Found this place.

It was cheap on weekends for 4 or 6 person dorm and way higher on weekends. If you were smart, you'd stay during the week and go elsewhere on weekends.

Rooms were basic but clean and you got your own large bin that you could lock which was key. Some had bathrooms some had shared bathrooms, I moved to a few rooms during my 2 week stay which felt like a day.

What is lame is that the internet isn't free and it's expensive for wireless, rip off expensive. Best bet is to just hang in a coffee shop that has free wifi.

if I went back, I'd stay there during the week.

- Rob aka
http://stophavingaboringlife.com

Room Tip: Ask for a 4 person with ensuite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

Nice Place (As a Hostel), Close to the central station around 5 mins walk close to the city center 10 mins (Dam Square), Nice accommodation although been in 20 beds dorm. great breakfast and very helpful receptionists.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#13 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#8 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Generator Amsterdam
#9 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam city centre is famous for its numerous bars, canals, shops and museums. What could be more fun than having your home base in the heart of the city that never sleeps? And at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, you can meet travellers from all over the world. The moment you step outside, you’re bang in the middle of vibrant Amsterdam. Beside bars, restaurants and shops, you will also find theatres, cinemas and museums nearby. The flea market at Waterlooplein is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing