We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“alright for price but nothing more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“alright for price but nothing more”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

charged for all extras, only two plugs for 16 beds, toilets next to showers lots of them but floor always soaking and nowhere to put stuff down made everything very awkward. breakfast good, but ends at 9.30. location near red light district perfect if thats what ur after but def the most tacky/ touristy area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsplit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    242
    144
    34
    23
See reviews for
18
63
183
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This is difficult to review, but I shall start with Stayokay's virtues. It is very well situated near the red-light district but not in it, on a canal only blocks from a lovely little market square and very easy walk from Amsterdam Centraal (train station). The breakfast is nothing special but the room is big and spacious and overall the hostel is clean and accommodating. There is free wi-fi or cheap wi-fi on their computer terminals in the lobby, as well as lockers for hire where one can leave luggage. In addition there is a small TV room where my friend and I enjoyed a little rest and some wine before dinner.
The hostel staff are friendly and helpful. In fact I thought the guy on the overnight shift should be beatified for his patience in dealing with a horde of Americans who came in around midnight having booked too few beds for the night and expected him either to produce new beds or persuade another party to abandon some of theirs.
This brings me to our biggest complaint about this place, which is entirely beyond the control of its ownership and staff: the other people. From the moment we arrived we were surrounded by teenagers, mostly American (NB: we are Americans living in the UK) apparently on their first unsupervised holiday abroad, wearing sunglasses, bemoaning the daylight, and otherwise advertising their hangovers. One trio literally never left except to 'hit a cafe for a smoke' and get a takeaway. All of this would have been fine had they gone about it a bit more quietly, but we were woken repeatedly throughout the night by people who appeared to think their various types of inebriation were some kind of accomplishment (NB: we are postgraduate students and of the age when this kind of excess is regarded with some embarrassment, not as a mark of bravado). Perhaps this is recent and severe head injury, we might have really gotten off on or joined in with our fellow travelers' hijinx, but as it was we felt imprisoned in a nursery for the overprivileged.
A final note: with this kind of clientele especially, it is not sufficient to launder duvet covers and neglect the duvets themselves. Mine was stained with a palette of organic substances. I'm pretty earthy, but I subjected my hands to a vigorous washing after exchanging it with one on a yet-unclaimed bed (sorry, dude; early bird and so forth).

Room Tip: get a private room. these people are animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2011

As some of the other reviews said, it was OK. Better than some Amsterdam hostels, acceptable breakfast with a dining area overlooking the river. No lifts, exhausting when you're on the fourth floor!! Could be cleaner, but didn't feel dirty. Wifi not great, didn't reach the top floor. About 5/7 minutes walk from the Red Light District. As I said, average but not bad.

Room Tip: 20 man rooms noisier than the smaller ones (obv)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oly9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My friend and I (28 year old females) traveled throughout Europe for two weeks and stayed in hostels in every location.
This hostel in Amsterdam landed in the exact middle of our rankings - not amazing, but not awful either.

The reception desk is very helpful with anything you may need. It's also very nice that the hostel is locked at all times (you must buzz to get in). In the lobby, you can pay to lock your belongings (20 cents for an hour), and outside your dorm, there are free lockers once you check in. Those are definite pros. The free wifi was also a great feature.

The cons - the bathrooms were almost always dirty, except right after they came and power washed them. Water was hot, so can't complain about the showers. But there was constantly a lot of hair and muck on the sinks and in the toilet areas.
Another big complaint is that there is no full-length mirror in the girls dorm OR the bathroom. Never got to see our outfits once dressed!

The rooms are ok - beds are pretty comfortable, but there are very few power outlets in the room, and we found a lot of the girls (in the all female dorm) to be pretty disrespectful and loud when coming in late or when packing up early in the morning. I understand it's impossible to be completely silent in a hostel situation, but we found bunkmates in other hostels around Europe to be much more considerate. Could have just been bad luck though, not the hostel's fault.

The laundry facilities are decent - not big, and not especially clean - but they were useful.

Location & proximity to the train station and the Red Light District is perfect. Not too close to be unsafe, but close enough to walk easily.

All in all, I wouldn't stay here again - but definitely would rather stay here than some of the scummy places I saw in the Red Light District.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmpaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This one wasn't the cleanest hostel but it was ok, it wasn't the best location, but it was ok, it wasn't the cheapest, but it was ok. All together an ok hostel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mindcrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Stayed here for 3 days in April and was really glad I picked this hostel, my travelling companion had stayed in another hostel in Amsterdam and she instantly said how much nicer this was than that. It was cheap, easy to book and the staff were friendly and helpful. Yes you have to share the rooms and sometimes people are noisy/have different sleeping patterns, and yes you have to share the showers and toilets but everything is clean and spacious and well laid out. Other reviewers seem to have forgotten this is a hostel not a hotel and the price reflects this.
Over all a really good value, nice place to stay in and I would stay in again.
I recommend taking your own travel towel (which you can safely hang up in the room and leave while out) and a padlock for your locker, both can be hired at the desk but for a price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I advise everybody not to stay here. I could not sleep because of all the noise.
Every 30 seconds a door is closed in the hostel with such a noise and force, it sounds like a gun is fired. I counted this at 2 am when I was listening to this door slamming. It started again at 6 in the morning, I don't know why the staff doesn't fix this hughe problem.
Another problem is a little courtyard where people sit and talk and drink. This happens at night (when you want to sleep or very early in the morning). When guests talk outside the sound is amplified because of the 4 walls surrounding the courtyard. Not nice if you want to sleep!
The location of the hostel is fine but don't come here if you don't want to sleep

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_mosby_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#13 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#8 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#11 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam city centre is famous for its numerous bars, canals, shops and museums. What could be more fun than having your home base in the heart of the city that never sleeps? And at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, you can meet travellers from all over the world. The moment you step outside, you’re bang in the middle of vibrant Amsterdam. Beside bars, restaurants and shops, you will also find theatres, cinemas and museums nearby. The flea market at Waterlooplein is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing