We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This hostel is right in the centre of Amsterdam and everything is in walking distance ! The hostel is very clean ! the staff members are very helpful and their english is top notch ! Lots of things to choose from their buffet ! Will definitely come back again !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimmo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your amazing review and ratings. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We do our very best to get our guests the best facilities so we are glad to hear you appreciated it! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
There are newer reviews for Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Located in the heart of the city, this hostel is well-placed for lots of activity. The breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. The facilities felt a bit cramped, but perhaps that was because it was so very popular with its guests. The placement along the canal was one of its charms. It was a wet night for our stay, but the potential for an enjoyable stroll along the canals is there.

Room Tip: Dorm rooms with fewer beds make for better sleep!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wy'east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your amazing review and ratings! We are so happy to hear you liked our breakfast. This is one of our best features, along with our amazing location along the canal. Hopefully you'll be able to go on a walk next time you visit Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stay Ok was good. The front desk girls were lovely, the lobby & lung area at the front was good, internet available too & wi-fi. AT 2 private lounge is at the back of the hostel. Laundry facility's however the dryer wasn't very good. The rooms housed the most people i have experienced ( 20 ) but it was actually fine. Beds & bedding good. Bathrooms were a good set up but 1 downfall with the place is that the bathrooms weren't kept clean enough. They really need to be cleaned twice a day. Location as far as i was concerned was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your great review and ratings! We are happy to hear you liked your stay at our hostel! We are sorry the bathrooms we not clean enough. We will definitely look into this as they should be cleaned twice a day indeed. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Spot on for location. Couldn't be better. Right on a canal, just down the road and round the corner from the red light district.

Dorm room was nice enough. Bunk beds, proper hostel but was fine. Shared bathroom, but yeah, no problems there either, was clean and accessible enough.
Got a great deal with the room, there was about 10 of us going, and I think it was only about £40 for 2 nights.

Definitely stay here if you're on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MattTWhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I was there for only one night, i can't find anything really bad. The bathrooms were big and clean, the rooms also. At night is quiet. The breakfast is not awesome but is ok! And the staff is friendly!
The building was adapted so the organization of the hostel may seem a little strange but it's in the middle of the city and that is really the most awesome thing! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

the only good part here was breakfast ... as soon as u go to first floor there is this weird smell in corriders more in dorms ....bathrooms are really bad all drain in each other so if someone is there in neighbouring stall it floods all over ...loos were horrible ..also lockers are outside dorm its a real pain if want smthin frm bags...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rahul_ashwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear you liked our breakfast so much. The lockers are outside the rooms so that using them will not wake people up late at night or early in the morning. We are sorry about the showers and the smell. They are cleaned twice a day, but I'm sure we could have done something about it at the time. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Good location, you really get an Amsterdam feel in this hostel, right on the canals. The bathrooms at times were a bit horrific, broken tissue clinging to the bottom of basins, and vomit all over a toilet in the morning, not too nice to see. WiFi was very patchy, I understand you admit in the conditions that is isn't always perfect, but in 2013, if I have to go to McDonalds to get responsive WiFi, I'm not staying again. Also, no bar in hostel, not very social. Next time I'm in Amsterdam, I'm going to stay at Stayokay Vondelpark, it looks like a better option, but just not as well located.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yesforauthentic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear,

Thank you for your response! Great that you enjoyed our location! All our bathrooms and toilets are being cleaned twice a day (morning and evening). We have free wifi available in our lobby, tv room and breakfast room. Stayokay Vondelpark is also a great hostel, right next to the museumplein and leidseplein.

Kind Regards, Anna from Stayokay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 238 in Amsterdam
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#97 of 238 in Amsterdam
450 reviews
ClinkNOORD
#6 of 238 in Amsterdam
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 238 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £31 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam city centre is famous for its numerous bars, canals, shops and museums. What could be more fun than having your home base in the heart of the city that never sleeps? And at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, you can meet travellers from all over the world. The moment you step outside, you’re bang in the middle of vibrant Amsterdam. Beside bars, restaurants and shops, you will also find theatres, cinemas and museums nearby. The flea market at Waterlooplein is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing