We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hostel cost me 15 per night for 2 weeknights and 36.50 for the friday night. Breakfast was included which was really nice, loads of choices of bread with cheese, ham, jam, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, tea, coffee and juices. When I got to the hostel I was so pleased with how clean it was. You make your own bed, which is something to appreciate. I was in a room of 16 which when your sharing a room with strangers its probably less awkward to be with more than less. It was on the top floor, wifi wasn't great up there but was perfect in the bar area, tv room and reception area. Not much was going on in the hostel itself, but the location is so perfect theres not much reason to stick around. Its right near dam square but the street itself is quite peaceful and on a canal. Perfect smoking benches outside. Would definately recommend it, if you are comfortable with hostels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rach0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your great review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you liked our breakfast and location! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    249
    149
    37
    25
See reviews for
20
64
196
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed only one night because it started off on a Monday night at 14 euro a night, and then jumped to 20 euro on Tuesday night which seemed illogical to me.

The actual room was nice, clean sheets and breakfast (inc in price) was really nice. Got a good nights sleep, and location was super close to the heart of Amsterdam.

Other guests were friendly enough but there wasn't much atmosphere in the small downstairs common room, and the staff were a bit cold towards me, but not rude or anything just not overly friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oatbake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you liked our location, breakfast and our rooms. We use a flexible price system, which means that the price fluctuate based on availability. Therefore, it is a bit cheaper on quiet days than on busy days. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

While hostels normally are not given star ratings this one deserves at least three for comfort, cleanliness, breakfast, and staff. As a first-time experience to the hostel the staff were very helpful, courteous, and most important very pleasant to work with. The rooms were comfortable and more than adequate in size. The bed was comfortable. All aspects of the hostel were clean and well kept. Breakfast was substantial and healthy with good coffee to start the day. Easy to get to by tram from the Central Station with convenient tram access to other parts of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAsharky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you so much for your great review and ratings. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your kind words about the hostel and the facilities we offer. We hope to welcome you again some other time! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

You couldn't get a better location - right between the red light and party districts, just three tram stops (or an easy walk) from Centraal Station. Right among the action yet off the main road on a canal, just perfect!
LOVE the concept of big lockers outside of the actual dorm rooms, cuts down on the amount of noise made by travellers arriving late/checking out early. Be sure to bring a padlock/combo lock.
*Downside - very limited number of power outlets in the dorm rooms, BUT there are ample plugs in the reception/chill out area to make use of. And staff will happily take your device behind the counter to charge for you, so you don't have to hang around.
*When I stayed there was no operating bar or space to just hang out other than a TV room that was rarely open, however I was told the bar in the breakfast area would be reopening from the very next week. Nice!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffee_bean85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thanks you for your great review and ratings. We are glad to hear you liked you stay with us. The bar just opened last week, and is a perfect place to chill or drink some beers! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganja, Azerbaijan
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

It is really cheap, clean, easy approchable, perfect location, good equipment and much more. They have very friendly personel and nice breakfast. Free WiFi, storage maps etc. Very close to the Centraal station and Dam Square. You can get more info about the hostel and some travel tips on following travel blog http://itravel-with-my-backpack.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GulnurVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thanks for you great review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back soon! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

If you are looking for a clean and comfortable hostel right next to the main attractions of Amsterdam, book yourself a bed at this awesome hostel. I was traveling alone, first time in the city and very apprehensive about the language, and about surviving the experience in general! The hostel is a backpacker's delight, with clean beds (I had a bed in a 10 girl dorm), huge lockers (bring your own locks) and super clean toilets and washrooms. Plus breakfast is on the house and quite decent. The staff are very good, and have information about everything that is going on in the city plus book tickets etc. The place is right next to the red-light district which is safe at any point of the day or night as long as you are sensible and don't go asking for trouble. It is also walking distance from the Centraal Station, Dam Square, Museumplein, and the Heineken brewery. A great hostel at a great value. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bhardwajhimangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your amazing review and ratings! We are very happy to read that you loved your stay with us. Thank you so much for all the kind words and recommendation. Have a safe trip! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazan, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

good hotel, cheap place, nice and clean rooms. we shared the room with some people all over the world who came to visit the capital of this nice country :)
you have to walk a bit through the coridor when you want to take a shower.
we arrived early, as check in time is 12 o'clock had to leave our baggage in their lockers. they are cheap and it's safe. when we were checking out we bought post cards to send to friends and put it in mail box which is situated right there.
friendly staff and good location. when you go out you are already standing on one of the streets of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thanks for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and like our facilities. We are very proud as well to be located on the canals in the very middle of Amsterdam. We are happy to hear you loved that as well. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
#30 of 229 in Amsterdam
459 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#13 of 229 in Amsterdam
1,244 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Bulldog Hotel
The Bulldog Hotel
#14 of 229 in Amsterdam
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam city centre is famous for its numerous bars, canals, shops and museums. What could be more fun than having your home base in the heart of the city that never sleeps? And at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, you can meet travellers from all over the world. The moment you step outside, you’re bang in the middle of vibrant Amsterdam. Beside bars, restaurants and shops, you will also find theatres, cinemas and museums nearby. The flea market at Waterlooplein is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing