We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vijaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Vijaya
Ranked #311 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in room one. Window in room was smashed and was fixed with selo tape! Viwe of smoking area in court yard out of our window. 2sets of very steep steps to get to room. Room smelt of damp. Room freezing cold and very noisy due to smashed window and also there is a church at the back that rings its bells 4 times an hour. Hardly slept and could not wait to leave this hotel. Only positive was a good central location.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rachael71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    149
    243
    75
    117
See reviews for
56
125
89
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Dirty,smelly(very very smelly),rude personel,very very steep escalators and if you ask for a ground room it is full of smell and humidity!i would not recommend anybody to stay in this hotel unless for a one night stand!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alionaladki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I spent one HELL of a night here with American friends who had booked it, because it was relatively close to the train station and they had to leave early the next morning. Little did we know what to expect. It was a nightmare in every sense of the word.
Let met tell you this first, anyone who gives this more than 1 o (1 star rating) must either have been hired by this hotel to write that or must have been completely drunk or stoned.
I can find absolutely nothing positive to say about this "hotel" . After having stayed there I even contacted the municipality of Amsterdam and i wanted to file a complaint and wanted them to investigate "hotels" like this. They answered me they knew places like this exist and felt sorry people had to endure this, but that their priority was on closing down illegal bed & breakfast places, which has been the case, they closed dozens and dozens of those since last Summer.
OK, the reception. The anti-social guy behind the reception desk was not interested in new guest and guests wanting to leave. he kept on caling his girlfriend and other people he knew. After about 20 minutes he finally gave in to complaints from both us and the guests wanting to leave and spared a few seconds to either give us a piece of paper to sign and swiftly gave us our key. It is the most rude behaviour I have ever had from someone working at a "hotel". I really think you can not mention this dump a hotel.
The "room". We had booked a double room with 4 beds. As I and my partner arrived first we could check it. It was so unbelievably small, that for 2 people it would be too small already. You had to move one thing to get to another, there was1 bunk bed and 2 small beds, absolutely no room to move around, so you entered the bathroom/toilet cell getting out of your bed. Everything was damp, dirty, it smelled, it looked ugly. There was no fresh air, so it is essential to have the cheap, old & noisy small fan on, put on a chair. It was either that or be completely drained in sweat. Very old and broken windows, if opened you experienced a racket of noise non-stop, especially at night. We went out and returned back shortly before we picked up our American guests, they signed in, left their luggage and were as shocked as we were about the appalling quality of this dump. And they travel all over the world. So we went out for dinner and drinks and arrived back after midnight.
Sleeping. Not possible, it was like a sauna, the small fan did not help, it was noisy, the beds could not be called beds, your backs will hurt tremendously. None of the 4 us slept even 1 minute. It was like hell, torture. Best thing was to lie still and wait for the alarm clock to go off. Glad we did. then showering caused a problem, or even using the bathroom cell for a pee or poo. No airco whatsoever. When we left we opened the window facing the canal and bridge just to give the next customer a bit of fresh air when entering the "room".
Checking out, this time the anti-social guy of the day before was assisted by the Asian hotel-owner who was as rude as his employee. We asked where we could have breakfast, but he like his employee was only busy making phone calls to his relatives and friends. He saw that guests either wanted to leave, hand in their keys etc. After some time convincing we wanted breakfast he just pointed his finger to a part of the reception room, stuffed with dozens of bags and some tables and chairs. We managed to get something. after a lot of difficulty even managed to squeeze an answer out of him to let him tell where we coukd use the downstairs lavatory. Checked out. Free at last.
This site has a rating system of 1 to 5 stars, it should have a negavive rating as well, a minus one. Then this one would get -5, minus 5.
I am a very friendly person. I just want to warn anyone, PLEASE DON'T STAY HERE. It is a disgrace. You will be a wreck the next day. People at this hotel are the most unfriendly and anti-social. Oh yes, another funny thing, they also have an adjacent restaurant, haha. I wonder if they serve fresh or canned cockroaches there.

Room Tip: I doubt whether this hotel has a single good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blondbearnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Do not go here! This hotel claim to be a 2 star but they should be shut down. Me and my boyfriend are a young couple, were not expecting luxury but this hotel is disgusting. Initially were given room 23 to stay 2 nights. The shower and toilet weren't even attached to our rooms. We had to walk across the corridor and opposite another room where we had our "private" wet room. Our tv did not work, nor did our radiator or our wifi as the signal was not strong enough. There were stains up our walls and on the bed sheets and the shower steam from our wet room was constantly setting off the smoke alarm. After our 1st night we complained first thing and was allocated room 3. Was told to pack up immediately because there were guests on their way for this room however they said they would just give them our old room which would be fine so I'm assuming they would've of cleaned our room 23 for the arrival of the new quests. Room 3 even worse. Bigger but still very unclean. Bed sheets dirty as if somebody had already slept in them. We stripped the sheets to inspect the mattresses and there were hairs all over them. Again, tv not working. This room was classed as a double but had 2 twin beds pushed together. My boyfriend at this point complained and tried to get some money back however they refused and just simply got somebody to come in and change the beds and clean our room while we stood and watched. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I've seen a few comments about bed bugs too!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bethany s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I had 3 nights break in this hotel. The room was very clean and smell good. Towels changed every day. Toilet in the room very clean and there was a shower gel and shampoo displayed in the shower even a air fresher we had in the toilet. Also we had a pack of 4 tissue rolls in the wardrobe and 2 glasses to drink something in the room. Our tv didn't work at all. The message in the screen was "no signal". Very good breakfast "ham, salami, 2 kinds of cheese, 2 kinds of bread, eggs, cold/hot milk, hot coffe, fresh juice, 2 kinds of jam, nuttela and butter". Also hotel provides many convenience products that you can buy if you need as umbrellas, food, drink etc... Hotel people were friendly. If you go out you have to leave the room key at reception. Also guest visitors are not allowed to go to the room. Wi fi work fine. Matresses are very poorly. Need a change. Room looks old but is fine if you don t spend too much time on it :-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel is within spitting distance of everywhere.If your fit, you will not need a lot for transportation about the town. The hotel is 5 walk minutes from Amsterdam Central Station.

The staff are very helpful. The property has some great views, but the the rooms are very small, the property is dated and decor and fittings are old. But the rooms are clean & the linen is fresh.

Its not on a par with budget chains, but its strength is its location, the red light district is close, too close for families perhaps .

Room Tip: If your going to Amsterdam for a day and you want to be close to center, then its perfect. But its n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJellyFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#245 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#299 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#251 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#232 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#280 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vijaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vijaya

Property: Hotel Vijaya
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 44, 1012 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vijaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vijaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vijaya Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing