We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get what you pay for” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vijaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Vijaya
Ranked #311 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get what you pay for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

First of all we orderd a quad room with single beds, we got a double with bunkbeds. Although we didnt mind as the room we stayed in (32) was spacious and overlooking the canal. Its a maze to get to your room, especially when we had been drinking. The hotel staff where alright, although they did knock a few times telling us to be quiet. The breckfast was bogstandard except the toaster wernt working. The location of the hotel is ideal as its only 2 min walks to everywhere. Its very noisy in this hotel which i dont mind, untill 7 oclock in tge morning when cafe trinity gets the power jet wash out and clean there windows. We used it as an excuse to wake and bake!! The staff were friendly, had great english knowledge, the room was clean, the beds comfortable. I will be booking to stay in this hotel again when we are next over in june. Like i said you get what you pay for

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabellafitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    149
    241
    75
    117
See reviews for
56
125
88
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

10 - 15 walk from the train station.
No lifts/elevators in this hotel so pack lightly! Many different staircases so remember where your room is - I got lost a few times looking for my room. The room overlooking the canal. Small room with a comfy bed and small portable TV. The shower was opposite the room - water pressure was abysmal - just a trickle of cold water - so showering was a challenge. As dusk comes you'll see all the red lights slowly turn on - POW - you find you're in the middle of the Amsterdam's famous Red Light district. Bugger.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarroYip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

It is quite ridiculous that you have shell out so much for such a disgusting property. Well, I am not just uttering out of any vengeance, but just trying to better advice my fellow travellers. Consider carefully the pointers below before you choose to stay here:
- The rooms were super cramped, I really mean it when I say that (even my worst of hostel stays will be shamed in comparison)
- The beds had bed bugs (yes you heard me correct) and there are high chances that you will carry the scratches well past your vacation days
- A non-existent breakfast (and no, I was not expecting any luxury item here, but even my least of expectations were not met)
- Grumpy and non-caring reception staff. I could pardon all of the above if only the staff were bit more smiling and cared to do better, but instead I got rude and uncaring snub all the time
- Bathroom has no separation between shower area and basin, so expect to carry over the water all over in your room
- The furniture (whatever little was there) were super dirty and unclean and used tissues were littered here and there within the wardrobe. We just didn't dare to park our clothes anywhere.

You will find plenty of other properties at that price, or at least now that you know what to eliminate, opt for another at that price (I am sure that will still be better).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyjit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We took the large room. a 5th bed was added - we couldn't sleep on as iron bar was stuck in my back so I put the mattress on the floor. The toilets are not clean. The hotel seats on the red light district were you can find all the "coffee shops" and Sex shops.
The showers were dirty and some facilities are broken,
The picture in the website is misleading.

Room Tip: Do not take any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlomi_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location, close to the train station and close to the Red Light District. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. That said the rooms are a challenge. My room was up a very long and very steep and narrow set of stairs, approximately 20 -25 stairs. The staff carried my suitcase up but could not help get it down. It is precarious and very scary to go up and down those stairs. There is o room for error. The room was old, outdated and we had a view of trash cans. At night the guests are loud and you can hear everything here. I would not recommend this hotel. Luckily I was there for just one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail3207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Good things: Very good location, 24 hour front desk.

Bad things: Some rude staff, The cleaning staff screams very loud in the corridors, Dirty hotel facilities, Fleas in the room, Very old bed, innerspring mattress. You wake up feeling the springs in your lungs, Very old and bad pillows, The shower doesn't have the cubicle for the water, so all the toilet floor get wet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#244 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#299 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#253 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#232 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Hotel De Mallemoolen
#281 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vijaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vijaya

Property: Hotel Vijaya
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 44, 1012 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vijaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vijaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vijaya Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing