We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De Munck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel De Munck
Ranked #240 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
“Thanks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Hotel is very nice, good location, but the blocked on my card money (hotel's guarantee) is not unlocked yet (20 days gone)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    85
    64
    14
    12
See reviews for
30
41
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

It´s a little run-down, seeing as this hotel is almost packed solid nonstop. It´s cheap and it´s in the city centre. What more do you want in Amsterdam, you´re not spending a lot of time in your hotel room. If you plan to, choose a different hotel, spend the extra 30 bucks.

I had a single with shared bathroom-shower. At least I had my own sink.
The room was cleanish but it was really worn down. It did have a wall-mounted flat-screen tv though, 12inch. The toilet didn´t flush well but that´s common in old houses in Amsterdam. Also, the walls are a bit flimsy, I could tell the couple next door was probably having some weird argument as she kept agreeing with him louder and louder ;)

Breakfast was minimal but decent. Assorted condiments and some cheese/ham/salami.

I would stay again. It´s cheap by Amsterdam standards and it´s located near the Amstel rivier, just outside the Prinsengracht, so it has a pretty decent location.
Don´t stay there if you´re expecting to have a top-notch hotel.

Room Tip: Go high for a possible view, the rooms facing the back look out against normal homes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Basic hotel for budget travellers in Amsterdam but excellent choice. Very clean, we had a double with private facilities for 4 nights, they changed the towels 3 times whilst we were there. Breakfast was a good choice although a bit busy at peak times! The hotel is in a fantastic area, very chic neighbourhood with lovely shops, coffee houses (not shops!), restaurants etc. Only about 10-15 minutes walk into the centre of Amsterdam. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manda_and_Gaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is my first time to write a review in Trip Advisor, and I must say Hotel de Munck did a good job in leading me to do so. I chose Hotel de Munck for its nice location, and while I saw some not-so-good reviews in Trip Advisor, I decided to take a chance and booked it for an overnight trip in Amsterdam. I must share that if you care at all about good and reliable service, you may want to consider looking at AirB&B, or other options around the area that may provide you with better accommodation at the same price. They booked me for two nights when I asked for one, and upon arrival, they refused to let me just pay for one. Arriving on the weekend of a marathon where all other accommodation were booked, I had to ask them if I could at least have a discount for the second night which I wasn't using, and while they agreed on a 50% discount, I still was left feeling gyped by people who won't own up to their mistakes, and are really just interested in making money. So if you don't have a good sense of humor, and just want a relaxing weekend, I suggest you to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: It's okay to stay a bit far, Amsterdam is quite well connected
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CheshireCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

If you are looking for a clean place to simply rest your head at nighttime and don't plan to spend a lot of time in the room, this hotel is a good option. It's reasonably close to the entertainment options in Central Amsterstam, i.e. a 10-15 minute walk to Dam Square and surrounded by lots of shops and restaurants. The biggest pro is definitely the location if you don't mind some healthy walking or biking to get around, which you'd have to do anyway. The customer service is good, the staff were nice and helpful. The free breakfast was much appreciated as well.

The condition of the room and the lobby area has room for improvement. When we walked into the rather shabby lobby which doubles as the eating area, there was an unpleasant smell and it was certainly not what we expected the lobby to look like. Our room was located in the building next to the lobby and there is a set of very steep and narrow stairs to climb to get into the building. The room itself was very basic and small, no frills at all, but that was to be expected. Reasonably clean except some mildew in the bathroom. It would have been nice if the TV worked better, it was all scrambled.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the lower floors during the hotter months because you will need to sleep with your wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

This is a good hotel in a location that allows easy acess to trams and reasonable walk to many landmarks. It is not fancy but clean. The price was not cheap but probably good value in comparison to other options. The back patio should be cleaned up to provide an additional comfortable area for guests.

Room Tip: Negotiate a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andiLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

My wife and I chose Hotel de Munck because it was the only place in the city that had a room for us, and so we were slightly concerned about what we would get. Fortunately, it turned out to be an amazingly sweet, decent little place for the low rate. Service was friendly and cleanliness was excellent. The included breakfast was humble and basic but perfectly good. Free wifi was thankfully there and very handy (but not advertised on the website).

It is directly across the street from a small park, one of the only parks in the city. An excellent coffee shop (Two For Joy) next door, and a grocery store in the same block are great conveniences. The location within the city overall is great: still in central Amsterdam, just far enough from the centre to be a bit quieter, especially at night, but still extremely close to major attractions. When we saw other hotels we’d tried to book, we thought, “Phew, glad we didn’t end up there: too urban and noisy!”

We had some minor quibbles, but all things that are just part of staying in a cheaper hotel in the heart of Amsterdam: for instance, noise from guests coming and going on creaky and noisy old doors was a bit hard to sleep through at times. And the park across the street feels just a little dodgy for a timid tourist after dark, with some local youth often hanging out and talking noisily, particularly favouring a small area directly in front of the hotel: a minor concern, but a bit unfortunate. And the free wifi, although it was great to have anything at all, was quite unreliable in the rooms: too far from a single router in the lobby, I think.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigCloits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#151 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#246 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#145 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht Hotel
#197 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#263 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#235 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Munck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Munck

Property: Hotel De Munck
Address: Achtergracht 3, 1017 WL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Munck 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel De Munck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Munck Hotel
De Munck Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing