We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel”
Review of Owl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Owl Hotel
Ranked #130 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We have stayed at the Owl on previous trips to Amsterdam and it is in a very good location. One can walk all over Amsterdam from here. Very nice rooms, recently upgraded. Good breakfast buffet. Front desk staff are so helpful and friendly. Close to the Leidesplein and museums.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

The hotel is situated in a quite respectable area, although very close to the vibrant Amsterdam center. After all those wandering through the city center, we became aware that it is not so easy to find a hotel with a combination of such merits. Probably, the hotel needs some renovation, as the interior looks almost the same, as it used to be, when I stayed here in 1990. Also the leaky windows need to be repaired somehow; we were freezing in the room, when the temperature came down to 8-10 degrees this May, until the heating was turned on. At the same time the breakfast room looked renovated and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was good enough. The hotel staff was very helpful and polite and did their best to meet our requests. Wifi worked properly all over the hotel. It is also worth mentioning that among all the hotels Own was the only one, offering the entire room price for a stay with no hidden surplus payments, like city tax, cost of breakfast, etc., which facilitated the financial planning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Owl Hotel in early May for 3 nights.
It's easy to get to from the airport on the bus and is in a great spot for a city break - we walked everywhere easily.
All the hotel staff were really friendly and helpful at recommending good local places to eat.
Our room was small, but comfortable and clean.

I would recommend and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigglesnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This place is great! I stayed here for 4 days as I moved to Amsterdam. The wifi is over priced but you can get free wifi at Bagels and Beans Cafe close to the hotel. Alternately you can always go to Starbucks close to Leidsplein. There is also a computer that you can use for free.

The breakfast buffet is great.

The front desk staff is very helpful and look out for you. From helping with public transportation to tips for finding an apartment. I would come back here to stay if I didn't already live in Amsterdam!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank WorldTravelingDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Our first trip to Amsterdam and we chose an excellent base, (Thanks to my fellow contributors)

Hotel's in the city are expensive even by London standards and to be fair, Owl is also pricey but the positives more than made up for this. The welcome was warm and this theme continued throught out our stay. The staff (family) could not be more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Their local knowledge was very helpful and much appreciated. The location was very convenient, as a guide you could walk to the central station, thru the centre of town, in 35 minutes. The ever present trams render this unnecessary but you get the idea. Like most old European cities, Amsterdam is made for walking.

The room was clean. comfortable and quiet. Not large or luxurioulsy appointed but this is Europe. TV with cable channels and free wifi in the rooms. Breakfast was perfectly adequate if not expansive. One small comment, freshly made coffee in lieu of the machine would be a nice touch. There is a nice outdoor area to enjoy a cool beer after a busy day exploring.

The newly opened Rijksmusuem is barely a 5 minute walk and the Vondelpark no more than a 3 minute stroll. The busy Leidesplein is just over the nearest bridge with bars, resaurants ect.

I would recommend the hotel with confidence, particularly if like most of us, you are on a budget. A great location and friendly, helpful staff.

If you have not visited Amsterdam yet, just one recommendation, go soon. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: It is a quiet location so no problems there. We were on the top floor, this is a small lift. The sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank middleageoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

So friendly, clean, good location. Get the 167 bus from Schipol to Leidsplein and it's a five minute walk - no need to spend a fortune on taxi or train! Free internet and lots of helpful advice about getting around the city. Recommend the Amsterdam pass - I saved over 55 euros!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We arrived to a very friendly welcome,which continued throughout our stay. You really know you are in a family run hotel with a lot of repeat visitors. Location peaceful, but within walking distance of all the main attractions, the newly reopened Rijksmuseum being five minutes away. Rooms are cosy and comfortable but without over the top luxury, ideal for a short city break. We enjoyed the healthy breakfast choices and leisurely buffet arrangement. We did not use the bar, but it looked a good place to relax after a day of sightseeing. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonzorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#127 of 372 in Amsterdam
903 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,368 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#80 of 372 in Amsterdam
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#81 of 372 in Amsterdam
958 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#170 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Hotel

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £72 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Owl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing