We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay at Owl”
Review of Owl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Owl Hotel
Ranked #130 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay at Owl”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just back from a lovely long weekend in Amsterdam for my husband's 65th birthday. This was our second stay at Owl Hotel. The location is perfect and the new owners are just lovely. We were pleased to have the chance to speak to Pieter who has recently retired from the hotel. Let's hope he has a lovely long and happy retirement!

We would always recommend this hotel as it is so central for all amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    337
    84
    21
    9
See reviews for
109
239
90
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Spent 4 nights here. Good value for money. The hotel is in a very nice area and close to the centre of the city with easy access to transport, restaurants and places of interest. The hotel was clean, the continental breakfast more than adequate and the staff exceptional. Michelle deserves a special mention as she went out of her way to assist in any way she could.

The only thing I did not like was the cat ! Not this cat particularly but I do not like cats at all. However, I suppose the hotel being called The Owl I should have expected a pussy car. Apart from that everything was good and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

My grandmother lost a personal belonging (with her name and number on) at the railway station in Switzerland and a couple on their way to Amsterdam found it. The couple stayed at the Owl Hotel in Amsterdam and called my grandmother from there. The Owl Hotel was so kind and sent it back from Netherlands to Switzerland. My grandmother got so happy. That I call great service! To help people that don't even stay in your hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in Owl Hotel for 3 nights in December 2013. Good choice for budget accommodation. Very neat hotel, continental breakfast included in rate. Free WIFI. Comfortable beds. Conveniently near bus stop - we took bus 197 from and to the airport at only E4 per single ticket. Near Leidseplein with lots of restaurants to choose from. Can recommend Ranchas steakhouse on the square - best ribs ever!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hermadw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Owl Hotel is tucked away on a quiet street in Amsterdam. It is walking distance to the museums, the shopping district and the canals. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very nice, with comfortable beds and a medium-sized bathroom. Everything worked, and the water was hot. The breakfast (included) was much more than the usual "Continental breakfast" in US hotels -- almost a restaurant, with many delicious choices of hot and cold meals. The price was good -- a good value all around!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cmarie1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Owl is a decent little hotel tucked back on a quiet street. The staff was extremely friendly and overall, the place was clean and well maintained. The rooms are a little dated but nothing that would prevent me from recommending it. The breakfast was good. Better than what is found in most US hotels as a "free" breakfast.

The front desk was always helpful with directions and suggestions for getting there. There is a KLM shuttle that will drop you off there from the Airport. I suspect you could jump on the Marriott shuttle too as that property is in front of this one.

We had easy access to the tram and were easy walking distance to great restaurants and food options.

My only complaint is the wifi only connects you for a few minutes at a time so you have to constantly re-authenticate to it. Annoying but not a disastrous.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The Owl Hotel is located behind the Marriot Hotel facing Leidseplein, near the entry of Vondelpark. It is 3 minutes by walk to leidseplein and tram. The staff is Friendly. The Breakfast is poor, the Rooms are old, the bed is clean but carpet, curtains are old but the price is cheap and the location is excellent.
Especially it will be a Good choice when prices are up due to fairs, congress and special days in Amsterdam.
As a frequent visitor of Amsterdam, I can recommend this Hotel to stay in the city when you will not need to spend time in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajandomundial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#120 of 368 in Amsterdam
857 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#69 of 368 in Amsterdam
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#84 of 368 in Amsterdam
931 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#117 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,044 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#138 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Hotel

Property: Owl Hotel
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Owl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing