We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic and clean”
Review of Owl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Owl Hotel
Ranked #132 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2010

This hotel is in a good location and yet away from noise. It is a small, basic hotel and we have stayed in it several times and can not find fault with anything.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank barbie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2010

In a great location just off the Leidseplein,this is a great hotel for a sightseeing stay in Amsterdam.The very friendly & helpful reception staff are the first plus.The room was another.Clean,bright & big enough with comfortable furniture,i had no problems with noise even though my room was located at the front of the hotel,directly over the street.Tv was located out of harms way,high on the wall at the foot of the bed.No minibar or coffee/tea making facilities though & the room temperature was a little bit on the cool side.Bathroom was a decent size with a great pressure shower,hairdryer etc but there could have been another towel or two.Breakfast was good with plenty of choice & the reception area was a great place to chill with comfortable sofas looking out into the hotel garden & the small hotel bar located adjacent.The buzzer controlled front doors added a sense of safety & security to the hotel.
Location wise the hotel was in a perfect place.Less than 5 minutes walk to Leidseplein,about 10 minutes to Jordaan,a little over 15 minutes to Ann Frank Huis & 20+ minutes to Dam square & Madame Tussauds.Vondelpark was about 5 minutes walk,Rijksmuseum less than 10 minutes & the Heineken brewery about 15 minutes walk away.On the only occasion that we didn't walk,we used the watertaxi from Leidseplein to Centraal station,a great relaxed way to see the city.
Close by bars included the excellent Bourbon Street Blues Club,The Hard Rock Cafe & Irish pubs,The Aran,Murphy's & The Hoopman,none of which were anything special but all of them were in good locations to use as meeting points.Just off the Leidseplein,we tried the Sette Bello Italian pizza restaurant on one night.After waiting for more than 45 minutes for our pizzas to arrive,atleast they tasted fairly good but the one memory that i take from the place was the absolute stench from the upstairs toilets.If you do find yourself in that restaurant,use somewhere else's toilets,they really were that foul.
& will we be back to the Owl Hotel?
We've already booked for next march.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Gaildorfblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Great, hotel, great location, great staff. The room was perfect, large and clean. Breakfast was plentiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful in directing us, and also arranging taxi's etc. The location is great near plenty of bars and restaurants, and also walking distance to all major attractions. Recommended!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissTigerFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

My daughter and I stayed at the Owl Hotel for two nights in February 2010. It was very easy to get to from the airport; we took bus 197 to Leidseplein, which is in the center of Amsterdam, and walked to the hotel from there - it was five minutes away. We also took the bus back to the airport when we left. When we arrived at the hotel, the very friendly owner (Peter) checked us in and gave us advice about where to go to for dinner (The Pancake Bakery near the Ann Frank House - it was terrific).

The room was small, which isn't unusual for a European hotel, but it was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast had many choices and there was a machine that made hot drinks.

The hotel is very near the museum area and great shopping. We walked every where, but there are a few trams that stop at the Leidesplan, so we could have taken the tram.

I recommend this hotel highly for your next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LikesToTravel333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Very impressed with this little hotel. Great location, very friendly/helpful staff, nice continental breakfast, very clean. Small, but for the price, fantastic value. I would stay again in a second.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramblingman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my partner. Chose the hotel due to previous TA reviews. Was not disappointed. The hotel is pretty basic but for the price it offers good value and a short walk to the museums and Leidseplein from where it is then a 10 minute walk to most places of interest in the City.

Breakfast is fine if you don't want a fry up ( being a veggie no problem). Toast, cheese, cold meats, cereal, fruit, yoghurt etc. Coffee is excellent.

No negatives to report. Will stay there again on a return trip.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

This hotel is exactly what you want when visiting Amsterdam. It sits in the heart of the city and is within walking distance of many of the city's great attractions. The accomodations are nice and the staff are very helpful.

Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
Thank jrasberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#128 of 372 in Amsterdam
902 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,368 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#79 of 372 in Amsterdam
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#81 of 372 in Amsterdam
958 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#169 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Hotel

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £73 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Owl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing